We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel but wireless rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Room was nice, convenient for NEC, staff friendly and foodvwas okay. I would normally rate a hotel like this 3-4 star so why the 1 star?

Wireless rip off! £15.00 for wireless in this day and age is a joke. Okay you can buy an hour for £6.00 but what use is that when you are trying to conduct business

Sorry folks but in this day and age and especially for what the room rates are 15 quid is disgusting. I have instructed my staff not to use this place again.

Pathetic

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Paul-Stocksbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul K, Front Office Manager at Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your time to share feedback on your visit.

I would like to take this opportunity to update you that we have complimentary internet access in all our public areas including lobby and restaurants. We acknowledge that we currently charge internet in our bedrooms similar to other Marriott Hotels, this is to ensure that we can continue to provide safe and fast internet to all our guests.

I am sorry that you were not happy with this charge. Your feedback is important to us and I would like to thank you once again.

Yours sincerely,

Atul Kankrej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for a business conference and was surprised when I had to pay for a connection to the hotel WIFi. In this day and age you can can get free WIFI in coffee shops and even budget hotels. It did not ring true with the excellent customer service provided by the staff and as a business guest I need to stay in touch with my business and would expect to be able to do this in this standard of hotel. It would certainly influence me when choosing this hotel for an event again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Me and my father had a very enjoyable one night stay, which included 2 rounds of golf, dinner, and breakfast. comfortable and quiet room, friendly and professional staff, great service and excellent food and wine. No sure about the prices for drinks though. I have seen cheaper at The Ritz , London! I Would most definitely stay again but would I choose the same package? No! The Aylesford course really was disappointing, I cant say I enjoyed the layout at all and seems to be crammed in as a money making venture if im honest. The Arden course however was a different matter,it was brilliant! A nice front nine followed by a very very good back nine. If it was made a little longer in parts I could see the European Tour coming back here but until then I don't think they have a chance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a most excellent weekend at this great hotel. Informal gathering for over 150 on Friday, with food and formal dinner for over 220 on Saturday in great marquee. Golf for over 40 on one of the great courses. Every detail was thought of, staff were superb and the whole weekend has left all attendees with a feeling of tremendous satisfaction. It is hard to imagine any aspect that could have been improved upon and we shall return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed one night as we were attending a function at the hotel. The room was fine, very comfortable bed, plentiful supplies of coffee etc., good quality toiletries in the large bathroom. All fairly standard and what you would expect from any similar hotel, but what made this one special was the quality of the staff. The moment we opened the car door to unload we were met by the charming Phil who was extremely helpful. He took our bags and showed my husband to the best parking space while I checked in - then brought him back in a buggy, showed us to our room and pointed out all the amenities. Reception staff were also very welcoming, efficient and helpful in providing something I'd forgotten. The same level of service carried on all evening at dinner - special thanks to Olivia who looked after us so well, always with a happy smile. Breakfast was an excellent spread, plenty of variety and again great service from friendly and attentive staff.
Only one downside - a high charge for Wi-Fi, so we didn't bother. So many hotels now include this and maybe one day the Marriott might catch up with the trend.
Please pass our thanks and compliments to Phil, Olivia and indeed to all your staff - they are a credit to you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shireen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had one night here as a birthday present. Lovely setting but bad weather stopped us from exploring the beautiful grounds. Staff very pleasant on arrival and in the spa. Pool was warm and also very clean.
Room was warm, clean, quiet and comfortable. Evening meal was good and Rebecca our waitress was very helpful, informative and made my birthday seem even more special. A really lovely evening.
Excellent service throughout the stay. Would reccommend a stay here and hope to return again myself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had a very enjoyable one night stay. Comfortable and very quiet room, friendly and professional staff, and excellent food and wine. Would definitely stay again. Only issue was trying to find the hotel as my SatNav didn't like the post code!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMT_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
919 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £70 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing