We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great trip, hotel offered everything we needed, great location. Felt we wanted to mention exceptional service from Hayley in the restaurant, she was present at every meal, was always really helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Also Alana from Front Desk (with a little help from the kitchen) for going above & beyond in solving our 'Bread dilemma' . Thanks again for great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIchols_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul K, Front Office Manager at Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay.

I am delighted to read your positive comments and we will ensure that we will recognise our team member who has demonstrated great customer service qualities.

Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with an excellent hotel experience and we will be eager to welcome you back in near future.Yours sincerely,

Atul Kankrej
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    502
    228
    107
    64
See reviews for
232
338
17
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had a disappointing stay recently. This was entirely down to the room I was assigned. Room 124 on ground floor just off reception, designed for people with mobility issues which in itself is not a problem. However it does come with unfortunate consequences. Main issues was that the hotel door was immediate opposite the reception area and was accessed by an automatic door. This meant any guests going to/from reception made a huge noise as the door opened and closed. This made sleep impossible.

I've stayed before and this is normally ok but avoid a ground floor room at your peril!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul K, Front Office Manager at Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for providing us feedback on your stay.

I am happy to read that you have stayed prior with us and did not face any issues though I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience you faced on your recent visit.

I can assure you that your feedback will help us to ensure we can provide problem free stay to our guests in future.

Please accept my apologies once again and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Atul kankrej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A lovely hotel in an easily accessible venue, with superbe golf facilities. This hotel is very easy to reach from teh southern M1 and M6, yet within minutes you are in beautiful countryside surrounding this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having enjoyed the standards of Marriott hotels around the world I recently arrived at the Forest of Arden hotel with high expectations. These were sadly unmet as I encountered poor service levels, indifferent staff which included clearing away breakfast items before finishing, corridors left dirty, lack of observation of health and safety rules and even management indifference.
The final straw was to receive a very bland email from management with 'cut and paste' paragraphs in response to some genuine concerns. I won't say it has destroyed my faith in Marriott but it has certainly shaken it severely.

Room Tip: Get a room on the right side of the square or you have to walk miles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul K, Front Office Manager at Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback from your stay.

Your have highlighted that your experience was not satisfactory and we understand your disappointment. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have faced and we would like to assure you that your feedback would greatly help us in addressing these shortcomings and achieving guest satisfaction.

We hope that we can have an opportunity to once again welcome you back.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Atul Kankrej
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great facilities and nothing was too much trouble for any of the Team. Meals were great and there was something on offer for everyone. Although I was here at a company conference I would make sure if I was in the area to use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pheonix1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I rarely review hotels while I'm still staying in them.

However I'm going to break that rule for the first-class rip-off joint that is Marriott's Forest of Arden hotel.

Like most of my hotel stays, this has been booked by a client for whom I'm working. I'm staging a conference for them just down the road.

I checked into this modern palace at around 5:30 PM on a Sunday afternoon. The check-in girl was really pleasant and found my booking very quickly. While we were pre-charging my card to the level of £100, which I later found out will probably hardly buy a jug of water, I asked about Internet. I was told that Internet access in common parts is free. Wait for it! In your room, should you want to do that extraordinary thing and not work in a corridor, or reception, but work at a desk provided in your bedroom, Internet Internet access is 6 pounds per hour. My room is a two-day camel trek from the "common parts"

There is no other term for this but rip off. Get you into the hotel and fleece you time. It's appalling and has entirely tainted my stay. I was offered a Marriott hotel loyalty card, but if it is a standard policy in Marriott hotels, then I certainly won't be staying in one again.

Add to this the £4.50 tray charge for someone to get off their backside and bring room service to your door and Mariott know that off is the direction in which they can go.

Room Tip: Choose a good room.....in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAFOA, Manager at Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were not happy about the charge for the internet in the bedrooms, this is to ensure that we can continue to provide safe and fast internet to all our guests. We however have complimentary internet access in all our public areas including lobby and restaurants which is similar to other Marriott Hotels.

Your feedback is important to us and I would like to thank you once again.

Yours sincerely,

Ankur Ahuja
Director of Rooms Operations, Forest of Arden, a Marriott Hotel and Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Business & pleasure served by some first class customer service. I booked this venue at the last moment, my purpose was a late afternoon/early evening business review, a dinner and a round of goldf the next day. Nothing dissapointed:

Price for dinner B&B was very good. the standard of the room was very high, dinner (although included) had an extensive and varied menu to choose from, breakfast was the standard hot & cold buffet of the usual standard. The stand out point for me was the customer service. Each interaction was a pleasure and always delivered with a warm smile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAFOA, Manager at Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you very much for your compliments regarding our hotel and service. I am very pleased to know you enjoyed the stay with us.

I have passed your comments to our team and would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Ankur Ahuja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing