We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$144
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bloc Hotel Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$115
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$100
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
US$208
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$143
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$61
US$59
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$180
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$119
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,577)
Filter reviews
1,579 results
Traveller rating
532
580
264
126
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
580
264
126
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszest bargolf breakleisure facilitiesleisure clubmain restaurantsauna and steam roomtwo double bedsbirmingham airportweekend breakbuffet stylefollowing morningsaturday nightspaweddingchampionshipconferencenec
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,515 - 1,520 of 1,579 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We arrived at the Marriott on the Thursday evening tired after a long day with two young children in tow to find our booking for three nights through Superbreaks had not been received by the hotel (Another story if you want to look up Superbreaks; I would never book through them again!)

The receptionist was excellent and having contacted Superbreaks on my mobile she was more than willing to get us booked in to our room, despite I think this may have caused them an issue for Saturday night bookings.

Our room was smart and well decorated and furnished and two double beds. Mini bar and all the bits and pieces you would expect in a good Hotel.

We had three excellent night stays at the hotel using the pool in the evenings which the kids loved. Travelling around from this location was so easy just five minutes bacck onto the M42.

The staff at all times were very attentive and helpful and the kids loved the breakfast each morning and despite the dining room being really busy especially Saturday and Sunday morning. The staff were excellent very polite and attentive and nothing was too much trouble especially for the children too.

There is work going on at the moment creating a new bar are and this reflects in a smaller bar area only being available which gets very crowded but I am sure once the alterations are complete this will only enhance further what is an excellent Hotel. My thanks to the staff for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones7438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Booked the Winter Golf Package mid December & took the break over the Valentines weekend. First impressions were impacted by the refurbishment work on-going in the reception & surrounding areas, but I am sure once complete it will look really good. Our bedroom was lovely although a fair walk from the Reception. The room was spacious, well lit & clean; the bed was huge, comfortable & warm. However, the bathroom floor was absolutely freezing to stand on which was a bit disappointing! The swimming pool, sauna & steam room were of a decent size & enjoyable to use. Although we never used it the gym looked to be pretty well equipped too. The Zest bar/cafe had a decent atmosphere & the choice and quality of snacks was good. We ate in the Broadwater Restaurant on our first night & the food & service was really excellent. On the 2nd night we ended up in one of the suites having a buffet meal (to accommodate those on the Valentines Package) which we did not enjoy at all. Three of us played golf over the weekend & thoroughly enjoyed it. The courses had just recovered from the recent heavy snowfall & although it was very wet under foot the greens were in excellent condition. The Arden course was definitely our favourite despite losing too many balls in the various water hazards! It was wonderful walking to our first tee & seeing it surrounded by deer. Again due to the refurbishment temporary measures were in place for the pro shop & facilities (such as shoe cleaning) were very limited. We were not fully aware of the refurbishment activities when we booked or arrived there and as such were a wee bit disappointed. However the friendliness & competence of the staff along with the Broadwater restaurant and two dry days of golf still made it a very worthwhile trip. We did raise our issues with the management team and ultimately were satisfied with how they handled them & the subsequent resolutions proposed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jingsabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

I booked a room at the Marriott Forest of Arden as a valentines getaway, 2 weeks prior to valentines day.
Opting for the romance package, I received a 3-course (with later turned out to be a 5-course) meal and late checkout, plus breakfast. Overall cost of £170.

The hotel itself is set in lovely surroundings, the Forest of Arden golf club is a prominent feature of the hotel.
The main building quite rustic, interior is what you would expect of a resort marriott.
There was much building work going on during our stay making the main reception and lobby quite cluttered, but this was understandable. One thing to note was no building work to be heard during the whole time of our stay, although this may be down to it being the weekend.

The hotel was reportedly recently refurbished which showed as the interior was very well maintained. even public toilets were immaculate.

Room was large, bright and contained all conveniences. Bathroom was immaculate, shower very good.
TV could have been better, channels 1-5, some radio and sky sports, but TV is very low on the agenda when having a break from it all.
Room service was very quick and staff member was very courteous.

Restaurant 'The Broadwater' I believe was excellent. Set valentines day menu was excellent offering 5 excellent courses, with a free glass of champagne for each diner.

'Zest' restaurant and bar was great, although unclear as to whether table-service was offered, first day we ordered and paid at the bar, second day we were waited on.

Pool and facilities again were excellent, quiet and free to use for guests.

Breakfast was excellent, we arrived 5 minutes before breakfast closed and were seated no problem, and also asked if we were finished with the breakfast bar once it was time to close.

Overall an excellent and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

This hotel is being renovated which is good but beware of wet paint and drilling and banging, not what you want to hear when having breakfast.

Also ask for room close to reception else you could have a long walk.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WelltravelledEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We used the hotel for our wedding venue and stayed for two nights all together.
The rooms were beautiful - large and luxurious.
Food was very good too, particularly in the Broadwater Restaurant.
Service was top notch and could not be faulted.
The pool and spa area were also great and very child friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyGol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews