We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

Great place to relax and great surrounding away from hustle of the city.
Rooms are spacious and good.
Service is great

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank harrynaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    494
    223
    103
    62
See reviews for
227
333
17
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

This is a very good standard Marriott hotel, but I would only recommend this hotel is you're golfing as everything is directed towards the golf trade, and there is very little to do in the hotel or close-by if you are not golfing. The hotel is also very much focused towards the corporate trade - there was busy conferences during each day of our stay, with crowds congregating outside reception for cigarette breaks, and drunken guests (cue banging doors) arriving back to their hotel rooms at 2/3/4am in the morning - this generally didn't foster a relaxing atmosphere.

On the plus side, the hotel is located in a good position if visiting Birmingham, Coventry (or Warwick Uni), Stratford upon Avon, or Warwick. Obviously, having a car is a necessity given the countryside location. The rooms have been refurnished to a high standard and the beds are very comfy, but there was a number of silly problems: no shower hose in the bathroom, only five TV channels (no CNN etc), fire doors throughout the corridors are noisy during the night, some rooms are very far away from the reception and bar area, and at least half the rooms face inwards or over the big car park, while 'golf views' or countryside views are limited (whoever designed this hotel's layout needs to be fired!). Breakfast was very good, and service (including room service) was very attentive and fast.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londontraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

Stayed at the Forest of Arden for a golf package Sunday/Monday March 22nd/23rd. The hotel was lovely. Filled with many families celebrating Mother's day, the restaurant and Hotel staff were extremely attentive and courteous. Had a wonderful lunch in the Zest Bar/restaurant, before playing the first 18 holes of the 2 days. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and looked out onto one of the courses. The evening meal was a choice of either the buffet, various roast meats, salads, vegetables, cheese, which all looked a bit tired, or the a la carte (£25 each on the golf deal, you pay the extra above that). Had a fabulous steak cooked to perfection and husband's duck was very good. Wine very reasonable and some good choices available. Rejected the a la carte pudding and opted for buffet cheese. Wrong choice. But overall very favourable experience, as was breakfast, the next day. Large selection of cold and hot plates, the scrambled eggs looked decidely over egged, but with an egg station attendant ready to cook omelette or fried to your liking,they could be ignored. Fresh coffee, tea and juice, DIY toast, but in convivial surroundings, linen tablecloths and helpful staff.

Overall the hotel was a very positive experience. I just wish I could say the same about the golf. we didn't play the Championship course, we played the Aylesford Course and were sadly disappointed. the course was tatty, unkempt and stupidly we didn't realise how close it was to the motorway. The majority of the holes are played parallel to the sound of trucks roaring by. We were disappointed. I assume serious golfers would play the Arden and therefore not be bothered by the noise, as the Championship course does not follow the motorway. I would hope as well, that the green and tees fair better than those on the Aylesford.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

We arrived at the Marriott on the Thursday evening tired after a long day with two young children in tow to find our booking for three nights through Superbreaks had not been received by the hotel (Another story if you want to look up Superbreaks; I would never book through them again!)

The receptionist was excellent and having contacted Superbreaks on my mobile she was more than willing to get us booked in to our room, despite I think this may have caused them an issue for Saturday night bookings.

Our room was smart and well decorated and furnished and two double beds. Mini bar and all the bits and pieces you would expect in a good Hotel.

We had three excellent night stays at the hotel using the pool in the evenings which the kids loved. Travelling around from this location was so easy just five minutes bacck onto the M42.

The staff at all times were very attentive and helpful and the kids loved the breakfast each morning and despite the dining room being really busy especially Saturday and Sunday morning. The staff were excellent very polite and attentive and nothing was too much trouble especially for the children too.

There is work going on at the moment creating a new bar are and this reflects in a smaller bar area only being available which gets very crowded but I am sure once the alterations are complete this will only enhance further what is an excellent Hotel. My thanks to the staff for a great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones7438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

Booked the Winter Golf Package mid December & took the break over the Valentines weekend. First impressions were impacted by the refurbishment work on-going in the reception & surrounding areas, but I am sure once complete it will look really good. Our bedroom was lovely although a fair walk from the Reception. The room was spacious, well lit & clean; the bed was huge, comfortable & warm. However, the bathroom floor was absolutely freezing to stand on which was a bit disappointing! The swimming pool, sauna & steam room were of a decent size & enjoyable to use. Although we never used it the gym looked to be pretty well equipped too. The Zest bar/cafe had a decent atmosphere & the choice and quality of snacks was good. We ate in the Broadwater Restaurant on our first night & the food & service was really excellent. On the 2nd night we ended up in one of the suites having a buffet meal (to accommodate those on the Valentines Package) which we did not enjoy at all. Three of us played golf over the weekend & thoroughly enjoyed it. The courses had just recovered from the recent heavy snowfall & although it was very wet under foot the greens were in excellent condition. The Arden course was definitely our favourite despite losing too many balls in the various water hazards! It was wonderful walking to our first tee & seeing it surrounded by deer. Again due to the refurbishment temporary measures were in place for the pro shop & facilities (such as shoe cleaning) were very limited. We were not fully aware of the refurbishment activities when we booked or arrived there and as such were a wee bit disappointed. However the friendliness & competence of the staff along with the Broadwater restaurant and two dry days of golf still made it a very worthwhile trip. We did raise our issues with the management team and ultimately were satisfied with how they handled them & the subsequent resolutions proposed.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jingsabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

I booked a room at the Marriott Forest of Arden as a valentines getaway, 2 weeks prior to valentines day.
Opting for the romance package, I received a 3-course (with later turned out to be a 5-course) meal and late checkout, plus breakfast. Overall cost of £170.

The hotel itself is set in lovely surroundings, the Forest of Arden golf club is a prominent feature of the hotel.
The main building quite rustic, interior is what you would expect of a resort marriott.
There was much building work going on during our stay making the main reception and lobby quite cluttered, but this was understandable. One thing to note was no building work to be heard during the whole time of our stay, although this may be down to it being the weekend.

The hotel was reportedly recently refurbished which showed as the interior was very well maintained. even public toilets were immaculate.

Room was large, bright and contained all conveniences. Bathroom was immaculate, shower very good.
TV could have been better, channels 1-5, some radio and sky sports, but TV is very low on the agenda when having a break from it all.
Room service was very quick and staff member was very courteous.

Restaurant 'The Broadwater' I believe was excellent. Set valentines day menu was excellent offering 5 excellent courses, with a free glass of champagne for each diner.

'Zest' restaurant and bar was great, although unclear as to whether table-service was offered, first day we ordered and paid at the bar, second day we were waited on.

Pool and facilities again were excellent, quiet and free to use for guests.

Breakfast was excellent, we arrived 5 minutes before breakfast closed and were seated no problem, and also asked if we were finished with the breakfast bar once it was time to close.

Overall an excellent and enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Modern Design, Comfortable Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Rather Overpriced
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

This hotel is being renovated which is good but beware of wet paint and drilling and banging, not what you want to hear when having breakfast.

Also ask for room close to reception else you could have a long walk.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from builders
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WelltravelledEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Genting Hotel
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing