We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full service leisure hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #30 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Full service leisure hotel”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I really liked this place! I'm a fan of Marriott - I like the fact that they have successfully raised the bar for UK hotels and set a high standard that you can depend on.

The hotel is rural, but still well located for lots of great places in the region, such as Warwick, Coventry, Birmingham and the beautiful town of Leamington Spa. The approach to the hotel is a long driveway through the bucolic landscape and very well manicured grounds. Security is clearly a priority, with signs telling you of CCTV and grounds patrol. A gated entrance leads to a slightly confusing car park area, which is divided between hotel guests and golf club members. This is indicative of the hotels split personality - a big 4 star hotel on the one hand, and a local golf and country club on the other. The weekend I stayed was a very busy one, with country club members and wedding guests vying for priority, especially in the car park, which was very full. However we pulled up to reception, left the car and check in was quick, and very courteous. In fact the lady who checked us in could not have been more helpful or friendly. An excellent first impression. We had made some quite specific room requests - we wanted an upgraded room, but smoking, which isn't available, but we were given an excellent, big, twin double bedded room which was upgraded with bathrobes, slippers, water etc.

The rooms are very nice, large, with Marriott's excellent beds, nice bathrooms (but no seperate shower despite what the Marriott website says) etc. But - the security is not up to standard. We were on the ground floor, and for the time we stayed, the emergency exits were constantly open - not locked, but actually open, with doors opened wide. This meant that access to the guest areas was TOTAL. No key card entry, no checking of who was coming in or out of the hotel, no having to go through reception to enter the hotel. This made the in room safe an absolute necessity.

Be aware there is NO AIRCON in the rooms. This was in no way a problem as it was a cool August weekend, but over 25 degrees and this would have really annoyed me and made a good nights sleep a questionable reality.

But the hotel staff are brilliant. Nothing is too much trouble, from check in, to the bar, to the restaurant. On the weekend we stayed, there were 3 big weddings going on, but at no time were the facilities overwhelmed. We had brilliant massages in the excellent Cedarwood spa which are very good value.

Overall, really good and we will return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    524
    238
    111
    69
See reviews for
258
354
18
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
625 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We visited here to play the main Arden course and got a bit of a good deal. 18 holes, bacon roll and cofee, driving range voucher and a £10 lunch voucher all for £76 which is good given that it is a previous European tour venue. The course was a great test, the greens although hollow tyned were smooth and very quick. 17 and 18 make a great finish the other holes aren't too dusty either. Worth a trip.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed here from the Friday to the Tuesday. Really nice hotel, made use of the pool and the tennis courts the kids thought this was great. The room we had was really nice. We stayed for bed and breakfast and the food was fab. On a night we sat in Zest the sports bar and had a meal, we where really impressed with the food prices as it can be quite expensive to eat on an evening but the prices were really reasonable and they do a kids menu also. We visited Drayton Manor, Warwick Castle, Strattford upon Avon and Cadburys World and we would recommend all of them. Overall a really nice hotel in an ideal location for attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillyb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Nice hotel, rather nice (but quiet) restaurant.
I plan to come back and enjoy the golf.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhavekost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed at the Marriot Forest of Arden for 3 nights asa part of a short break in the summer. After reading mixed reviews we were unsure but still went for it and I must say we were pleased. As soon as we arrived we were assisted and everyone was so pleasant. The indoor pool was great nad golf was great too. The rooms were modern and reasonable sized. They has all the things you expected from a Marriot. The rooms were cleaned daily and everything was refreshed. The Zest Bar was something informal and casual yet tasty. The Oak Bar and Grill is where breakfast was served and was more a fine dining place to eat for lunch and dinner. Overall we were pleased with everything and enjoyed our stay at the Marriot Forest of Arden. We also found the young lady called Nadine at reception very helpful and who made sure that all our needs were catered. However the only downside was as we were at the far end of the corridor the walk to the lif and to reception was very long, longer than we expected although it wasn't to bad.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylannathwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Once again this hotel has been lovely. Great room , lovely good value food and very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We have just spent 1 night at this hotel and would definately recommend it for short breaks. Location a good choice, with Warwick, Stratford upon Avon and Leamington Spa all close by. First impressions on arriving were pleasant even though it was raining, long sweeping driveway, deerpark, flowers blooming. Lots of spaces in the car park and a nice walk up to reception. We arrived early so the room wasn't quite ready. Reception was not busy, even with three wedding receptions on and they were helpful checking us in and offered to look after our bags whilst we had lunch in the 'Zest' restaurant and watched the football. Bags were taken to our room, which was spacious with a large comfy bed, decent bathroom and all the usual extras. My only complaints really (if I am being fussy) are that I paid extra for a view of the golf course but this was more of trees and I would have liked more luxurious toileteries in the bathroom.

My boyfriend had a couple of golf lessons I'd booked as a present, the golf shop staff were efficient and teachers at the academy professional. I used the swimming pool and sauna whilst he had a golf lesson. A few people in the pool so not great for swimming lengths but a nice way to spend a sunday morning. We decided to get breakfast delivered to the room as a treat, lots of choice on the menu and everything we asked for arrived on time. We did find that the car park got busy with all the weddiing guests and golfers but we always managed to find a space. Checking out was easy, no extra costs we didn't expect. Overall, I would visit this hotel again for a short break in the midlands.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tognir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
901 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing