We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing room and amazing bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #32 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“amazing room and amazing bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

For the bank holiday weekend, we stayed at this hotel as it was our friend's wedding that was taking place there. As a result we got the room for £90 including breakfast. When we arrived at reception and started checking in, the receptionist informed us that they had no rooms avaliable yet, and she didnt know how long it would take. We explained that we had to get ready for the wedding and she said we could use the gym facilities! We were extremely dissappointed as we had rang in the morning to ask if the room would be ready.
Around 40 mins later we got the keys to our room, and lets just say we were very impressed. The kingsize bed was sumptuous and extremely comfortable. There was tea/coffee facilites with biscuits, minibar, two full length mirrors, hairdryer, chairs and table. The bathroom was big, nice powerful shower and essentials provided for.
The breakfast was very good, they included the standard english, inc cereal, also salmon, bagels, mixed fruit, muffins etc.
The grounds itself were nice and peaceful and very romantic, i would deffinitely come back here again

  • Liked — the room quality, the bed, the food, the location
  • Disliked — there was no air con but they provided fans
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank qtwita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    483
    215
    101
    60
See reviews for
210
320
17
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2007

We stayed at this hotel at the end of June 2007 and had a lovely experience. The hotel was a bit tricky to find but we were thrilled when we did eventually arrive. The grounds and golf course were well looked after, the staff helpful and polite. We were impressed with the breakfast which offered everything you might want in a morning and more. My seven year old was very impressed with the fresh strawberries with dipping sauce and chocolate chips!!! We ate in the bar (both nights we were there) which offered a variety of meals and we had no complaints at all. The rooms were clean and comfortable, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank gavwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smethwick
Level Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2007

I stopped on 18th August as part of a pamper day I'd booked for my wife.
Whilst the room and hotel itself was fine the noise factor was dreadful. We had next room neighbours from hell who had a child like Damien from the Omen!! Why we, as a couple, were placed in a room next to loud people who were really audible is beyond me. It was an adjacent room usually reserved for same families etc!

I've written a letter to the hotel manager but don't envisage a response. It appears the sort of hotel that is fine unless there is something wrong!

Also meals were expensive for what you got!

Overall I came back more stressful which is surely not what a pamper night is about?

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Elvis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2007

We held our wedding at the Forest of Arden. The place should not be part of the Marrott chain. The service we received was truly shocking. A number of simple requests were not followed through, then we were made to feel like it was our fault. having spent £1000's with them, then Manager has never once spoke to us. In short, a very stressful and frustrating experience.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonioMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

If you are tempted to stay here because of the Marriott connection - forget it. This is quite easily the worst Marriott we have ever stayed at. Very impressive grounds but inside is dire. Two tatty bars which attract noisy and ill behaved louts, no lounge, and staff who contradict each other. On our first night we were kept awake by fighting, swearing, and thumping noises from the room above. We complained to the night staff, but it went on until we threatened to call the police directly at 0415. We had to chase up an explanation all of the next day. All we were told was that it was a corporate group who gathered in one room and got out of control. On another night, seated by the window overlooking the golf course, we had the heavy blinds pulled, and opened six times during our meal as different groups complained about the sun or lack of it . As said, no lounge and nowhere to relax without the incessant shouting and swearing. Even a coffee had to be taken in the bar with no comfortable seating. The food was mediocre. Yet, as mentioned by a previous reviewer, the place was always packed which does indeed pose say something about the amenities in the area.

  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing