We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great City hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Durham
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great City hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed one night whilst on business. The hotel is modern and well equipped.

The rooms are on the 23rd and 24th floors with panoramic views whilst the restaurant and bar are on the 25th.

I did not use the gym/spa but a colleague said that despite being small it contains all one would want with good machines.

First class breakfast with a view - oh the bar at night is definitely worth a visit - only criticism is the slow check in and check out. staff are friendly and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hexaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TINA K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
We our delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will have more time to experience our fantastic Club and Spa facilities.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    293
    135
    65
    40
See reviews for
47
473
15
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed here for my wifes birthday as we wanted a central birmingham lcation to do some shopping and have anice evening meal. This is a new hotel and we were very imprssed with the standard, location and service from the staff. The automated parking is worth using and amazing t watch you car disapear into the bowls fth earth with no human interaction. Room was very modern but had all the comforts you would need (we had a king bed exec room). We chose to eat int he hotel restaurant which is a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and the food and service here we both of the highest order.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Well appointed room, clean, not too big, not too small, bathroom with large rain shower and quality amenities, large towels and bathrobes. Free beer chocolate and soft drinks at mini bar. Free fast wifi. Excellent restaurant with impressive views of B'ham skyline. Fantastic staff throughout, very professional made the stay smooth and trouble free. Good job!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zach006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TINA K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
It was great to read your review following your recent stay with us, we our all very passionate and excited about our new brand of hotel and pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Ok where do i start. Firstly i booked this hotel for a one night stay to celebrate my girlfriends birthday. Weeks in advance i also booked a table online to dine at MPV and emailed the hotel direct to arrange to have flowers, chocolates and champagne in my room on arrival. Four days before arrival i received a voice-mail from the restaurant to say due to a private function they could no longer honor my table reservation so i had to make alternative arrangements. Not ideal a couple of days before arrival. Anyhow Tina at the hotel was fantastic. She included my earlier request complimentary. A great touch and something that i wasn't expecting.

Carpark - We decided to drive rather than catch the train and i am glad we did. When you pull up to the hotel there is a little parking bay. You will need to register you car with reception first and they give you a fob for the barrier and some instructions. The Cube features the UK’s largest stacking system as well as the country’s first palletless transport technology.state-of-the-art, fully automated underground car park. When you check out you will be given the key fob again and you will simply scan in their pass at the transfer garage for their vehicle to be safely returned. The system will even turn the car round, ready for you to exit the car park.

Check - In: Check in experience was seamless and easy. Maria who checked us in was very knowledgeable and polite and most of all genuine. As it is a small boutique hotel with only 50 or so rooms i think this is very important.

Rooms - Plush bedding, spa-style bathrooms, hard surface flooring and Plasma TV mounted to the wall. You also have floor to ceiling windows and the views were fantastic. Once we did turn the TV on though we could only manage to get ITV2. As we were not intending on staying in the room that long we decided against calling down to reception to report this problem.

All in all we had a fantastic overnight stay and we would recommend this hotel to anyone. On our next stay we will be trying out MPW even though there are plenty more restaurants to choose from at the Mailbox which is conveniently located next door.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TINA K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
We were all delighted to read your review especially Maria who is a very valued team member and as you quite righly pointed out very genuine which is so important to our Indigo brand.
We hope to see you again in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me if you require any further help or information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Went to the opening night party for Marco Pierre White and when we returned last Sunday I felt like the party was still going on ! Check in is at 2pm so I spent a great couple of hours with the complimentary Sunday papers and a couple of glasses of Chenin Blanc, watching Birmingham from the roof top bar/grill (MPW) 25 floors up. Quite stunning views...don't sit too close if you suffer from vertigo ! The Cube building is like Marmite ...you either love it or hate it. Hotel Indigo is a perfect fit though, the rooms are everything you would expect from a brand new up-market boutique hotel. It's so new they don't have any luggage trolleys yet ! But thanks to Tina the front house manager, who came up in the super fast lift to the 23rd floor to give me a hand. Parking is free ,in the state of art computerised "box" system where your car vanishes underground ,without you doing much, except press a series of fobs and buttons. Spooky !
Not to be recommended after a liquid night out.
All in all, an excellent couple of days.......Birmingham is really becoming a really great city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEarl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

As a regular visitor to Birmingham I have stayed in most of the decent hotels but in order to get a table at Marco Pierre Whites new steak house we chose the idigo, all I can say is thank goodness they have the restaurant attached or they would be bust in a week! Rooms looked like they were designed by Ikea and the quality was about the same. The walls are paper thin, the staff are sweet but incompetent. OK they have only been open 2 months but you don't expect to go to a cocktail bar and have to tell the barman what to put in the cocktail! MPW the food was great and worth a visit but not at the expense of a hotel room I would recommend the Hyatt instead its only across the road.

We did visit the SPA, its tiny but the staff were helpful, they gym equipment was decent but the gym itself is a bit budget. Its a real shame the whole cube complex had potential but then again so do most 13 year olds and this place has comparable sophistication levels - you live and learn, will definitely be reverting to the competition and eating at Simpsons next time!

Room Tip: If you want quiet comfort try the sister hotel Crowne Plaza on Broad street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TINA K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
We are sorry you did'nt enjoy our hotel experience. Hotel Indigo is a boutique style brand, vibrant , curious and original.
Our Gym is equiped with the most renowned and up to date equipment from technogym. We have four studios, including Milano and urban space rooms, a hydro pool, jacuzzi, two sauna's , a steam room, a salt room. The spa has a floatation bath, ten treatment rooms offering the latest treatments. A Laurent Perrier champagne nail bar. It also has its members and guests only lounge bar.
We are a unique brand that is not comparable to other variations.
We do respect your comments and do take all feedback seriously. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Second visit to this lovely hotel. Nice relaxing break, beautiful modern rooms, good beds, lovely welcoming reception from Suzanne at reception.

Rooms are very modern, flat screen tv, modern power shower. Marco bar and restaurant are superb. Always busy, nice selection of drinks and cocktails.

Our friends loved it and we look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,816 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#16 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Property: Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing