We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bright, Airy, LOUD, but certainly not a Boutique Hotel...!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bright, Airy, LOUD, but certainly not a Boutique Hotel...!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed overnight at Hotel Indigo @ The Cube, Birmingham, UK last weekend (30/06/12) check in was fine & staff very polite.
We got to our room & it was extremely Bright Orange....But we settled in & unpacked. The Room is a Great size & had STUNNING views of Birmingham as we were on the 24th floor. The storage for your toiletries is very poor in the bathroom & a lady will never be able to do her make up in there as it is also Bright Orange & doesn't help at all when trying to do your make up!!
In the fridge, there was complimentary drinks & nibbles....a can of lemonade, diet coke, a bottle of water still & sparkling, a pack of crisps & a half eaten kit kat!!!
Under the most softest bed in the world...which did not suit me I'm afraid, was a VERY dusty floor & a cigarette butt....!!!
The floors in the bedroom are wooden (effect) not bad if the people above or beside you don't stomp around or walk in heels....but they did...VERY NOISY!!! & as the Marco Pierre Restaurant was above us, i think we were below the kitchen as it sounded like somebody was walking around with a trolley most of the night...a lot of rumbling!!
It is a Great location for shopping, & night life. Give it a go!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bexappeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    294
    136
    66
    40
See reviews for
48
474
15
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Before I start as we are suckers for great customer service i must say the say the staff were fantastic and only have praise to say about them! Unfortunately that's where it ends, the designers have tried to make this place cool and funky by making it super minimalistic with bright colours but it's just made it cold and doesn't have the ambiance and atmosphere of similarly priced hotels, the whole stay we just felt like there was a huge ' something missing '. The rooms are so bare and stark, they seem to have spashed bright colours here and there and thought that will do, Wooden floors are a big no no for me in hotels, yet again fails to feel anywhat cosy at all. I really dont rate it any higher than a premier inn but premier inn prices leave you satisfied on value for product. I do feel like I'm being harsh and would it of cost £50-£60 I would of left somewhat satisfied but at £130+ a night I just felt they had had me over a barrel, when told we had a complementary mini bar in the room we were over the moon, until we peaked inside, come on guys I could of found more goodies down the side of a chair! It was a nice touch just add a little more than a coke and a kitkat. As we did I think a lot of people will stay just because the cube is a new development and to see what its all about but I'm sorry to say i dont think there will be much repeat buisness, and I don't give it very long until the prices are drastically slashed! On a positive note the spa was great, really enjoyed a relaxing day and the message my fiancé had was 'fab' ! Will be saving money and enjoying a better experience at our usual the Hyatt on our next night out!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel-Westwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHG Care at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Samuel-Westwood,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed back in April whilst visiting the MPW restaurant (which was fab!). Having seen the Cube being built for quite a while we were keen to try out the new Indigo.

I booked on-line with advance payment for a balcony room, upon arrival we were checked in and given the key. We shot up in the super fast lift only to discover we'd been given a standard room, certainly no balcony. I had my confirmation and the guy on reception apologised and said he did not know how the error had happened. We were really disapointed, but as they only have about 4 of these types of room and they were all taken they said there was nothing they could do.

They sent us up a free bottle of wine & refunded the difference between the two types of room ( oh and they knocked the parking charge off the bill) but nevertheless it left us with a feeling of disapointment. It wasnt about getting something free we just wanted what we had booked and advance paid for. Its worrying how this can happen and having stayed at various Crowne Plaza's before (and always booked online) ive never had this happen before.

Anyway the room itself was OK, not all that big, and decorated very modern. Its quite stark so not cosy, but the main wow factor is the view from so high up and the floor to ceiling windows - not for the faint hearted! There was a free mini-bar which seems like a nice touch but there was barely anything in it. The bathroom was really nice, new & clean but its worth noting that all the rooms are shower only - no bath. Nice toiletries but very small and not very generous with them!

Car park is very cool, automated as others have mentioned.

Although we were disapointed with the booking mix up, i think its worth staying here once just to experience the views and the car park ! Certainly if eating at MPW its ideal . But i do think you need to be sure to get a good deal, the rooms are not worth some of the prices ive seen but the prices do fluctuate. Dont do the advance payment like i did especially if booking a superior room, be sure you have it before they take your money.

Personally now ive tried it i wouldnt go back, ive had the experience and going forward i'll stay at Hotel du vin which i think is in another league sevice wise and for the quality & size of rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andycat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Andycat17,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding the view from your room, the bathroom and toiletries.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the booking confusion. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Only one night here as part of a conference. I was given a room with a balcony. Absoultely fantastic views of Birmingham and into the center of the cuble building.

Room Tip: Get a balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Ok, would be the best way to describe this hotel! Admittedly we do stay in nice hotels so maybe our standards are too high but we went to this hotel for my husbands birthday and were just a little bit disappointed. We booked a spa break and an extra night, I say booked but booking was a nightmare. You can't book a spa break online so rang to book, firstly told couldn't book until I had first rang the spa to book the treatment that came with the break, when I asked if they had rooms first was told to ring for treatment first, couldn't put me through had to make separate phone call. Hooping there would be a room available after booking my treatment I did this and rang back. The fact that i e=wanted to book an extra night threw the receptionist into complete confusion! She said she would need to work out how to book it and would ring me back! She did 20 mins later, after a 15 minute phone call she finally understood, I think, but gave me a more expensive price than the advertised one when I told her this she said it was because I was ringing to book and not doing it online, although you cant book it online?!! She said she would ring me back. I didn't get a call back so rang back myself to be told by a different receptionist that she hadn't bothered to do it?!

This receptionist was also confused by my request?! I finally got it booked, and for the right price, they said they would send email confirmation, they didn't.

We decided not to ring again, it was too painful so we just turned up. The (same) girls on receptionist were much more pleasant in person but it was obvious they didn't really know what they were doing, maybe not their fault, maybe lack of training, not sure? More problems awaited as we don't use credit cards, they said we couldn't book in with debit cards, we have stayed all over the world, including credit card capital of the world, America, without problems tried to explain that they could do pre authorisation for however much they needed to on debit card but couldn't understand. With other guests checking in this was rather embarassing, we got checked in but told couldn't use movies etc.

Room was ok, trendy in an IKEA way, not really boutique. Generally clean, few handprints on wardrobe and headprint on windows, but as a holiday let cleaner years ago I know how hard it can be to get rooms really clean in a short time and how easy it is to miss something like that from the wrong angle. Toiletries didnt get re-stocked on second day and with very long hair I had used all conditioner. Also for some reason there was a strong smell of stale cigarette smoke that seemed to come through a/c unit? Just lack of attention to detail really.

Bar and champagne bar well worth a visit, atmosphere and view amazing!Couldn't get into Marco Pierre White booked up until October so worth remembering if going for that reason! Plenty of places to eat in mailbox but more chain like restaurants, not fine dining. Breakfast not up too much, choice of continental or hot from menu but again just ok as was the service. Again staff nice but not well trained, confusion over who was bring tea asking about cooked food etc.

Spa nice, but again lack of attention to detail and bit grubby. Tissues (used) left in changing room cubicle even though cleaner was there the whole time cleaning?! Therapist didn't turn up to show us into couple treatment room so another therapist used their initiative to show us in but we were left waiting about 40 mins. Actual treatment amazing, can def recommend Rasul.

Overall if this hotel was priced similar to Holiday Inn, Premier etc you would know what to expect, as it is slightly overpriced for what it is. I know previous replies are that they are different and quirky but we stayed at Montpellier Chapter Cheltenham which is four star and more quirky but they have nailed everything with impeccable service, food and surroundings.

Room Tip: Feature rooms may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Nina S,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Hotel Indigo around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations regarding our hotel staff service. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have reviewed Marco Pierre Whites excuse of a restaurant but I just wanted to let others know that the Hotel despite obviously having a few teething problems is very stylish, well equipped and brilliantly located. The attached spa and gym is well equipped and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rm 2435 spectacular views with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

A great experience and a lovely time. We went for our anniversary w/e and were treated exceptionally well. We were upgraded to a superb refreshing new room, that had spectacular views. We had a fabulous meal in the MPW restaurant in the evening and again, had great views over Birmingham. The only gripe really was the service & breakfast the following morning. Despite this, people were always very smiley and helpful. Great stay and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberleynun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#16 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#37 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Property: Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing