We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a balcony room on Bank Holiday Saturday.
The staff on the reception desk were really friendly and helpful.
Our room was on the 23rd floor. Lovely and spacious and clean. The green decor was right up our street. The view was really cool.
The bathroom was spotles and with a rainfall shower.
Aveda products to use. Great.
The complientary mini bar and free sweets was an absolute touch.
We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    294
    135
    65
    40
See reviews for
47
474
15
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

As a Platinum Member of Holiday Inn I fancied a change. The Crown Plaza around the corner in Birmingham is excellent, this boutique hotel is not. Potentially very noisy with a night club above your head and rooms that try to be modern, but I was disturbed that they were clean, but not that clean! Staff very helpful and the position is excellent. Suggest the owners go visit Mal Maison and see how it is really done

Room Tip: Ensure the room is not directly below the restaurant on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulC2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanna N, Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear PaulC,

Thanks for your review. Very sorry to hear we didn't live up to your expectations. We do take our guest's feedback very serious and look to improve people's experience here at Hotel Indigo. But I would like to think you would consider coming back in the future and have a more enjoyable stay, if you would like to do so please contact myself directly by emailing suzanna.naughton@hotelindigobirmingham.com.

Kindest Regards
Suzanna Naughton
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

First time at an Indigo, but a seasoned priorty club member, so I know what the ICH group has to offer.

Polite, efficient, girl on reception, but the room quality and decor (we stayed on the 23 floor) were no better than a modern holiday inn express. Complimentry mini bar consisted of two cans of fizzy drink and a water! Good views, but a souless hotel and certainly not boutique.

Dont bother staying for the Spa either, it is a drab and dingy place at the bottom of the building. water scum around the tiles in the tiny pool, no steam in the steam room and just generally shabby - not acceptable for a relatively new establishment.

As for the MPW restaurant, read the seperate reviews, they are true! Have a drink and dine else where. Service and food is poor, and overcharging seems prevelant. So if you do eat, dont be shy about knocking the service chargs off the bill.

As for the Cube itself, it is a victim of our times; three floors of empty retail units makes for a depressing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Stay at the Crownplaza instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanna N, Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Mark,

Looks like we have quite a few things we need to address, firstly I have passed your comments onto the Club & Spa and Marco Pierre White restaurant.
Our rooms at Hotel Indigo are designed to be bright and funky which are not always to everyone's taste. The complimentary items in the mini fridge is something not everywhere offers and we think it is a nice touch. If you would like to stay with us again in the future please do not hesitate to contact myself directly suzanna.naughton@hotelindigobirmingham.com.

Kindest Regards
Suzanna Naughton
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hotel is one of the best i stayed in Birmingham. All the time whenever its 4 am or 10 pm The staff treat you with a smile and all very Polite. Last week when i last stayed their had to go london at .07.30 at 06.30 i go to Restaurant to see if i can grab a bite before i catch my train and staff wide smile as allways no problem sir follow me. Suzanna is the one of the most sweatest person on earth i have meet. So maybe Mohammid got the Hup.with her. As for value for monney its worth it. You get the service, Quality and Calmness.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIGUEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanna N, Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Miguel,

Thank you for your review on your recent stays with us at Hotel Indigo. We are always happy to see you back in Birmingham and welcome you to our Hotel.

Looking forward to see you in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Suzanna Naughon
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Wanted a nice play to stay in Birmingham for a night out with my wife. I looked around and found Hotel Indigo to be very well priced at Just over £110 for a double room for the night. Then I looked at some reviews and thought twice ! ! Decided to give it a try (despite the reviews) as its a good position, right in the middle of the Mailbox and looks great. Was pleasantly surprised, the rooms we fine the views amazing and the service great. There was use of a free mini bar that had 2 bottles of lager , 2 white wine,2 red wine, four water and 2 coke - not bad ! And best of all we were guaranteed a table a Marco Pierre Whites restaurant as we were guests ! This is impossible to book unless you are 3/4 weeks in advance. The food there was 7/10 - £25 for a steak, chips onion rings - which isn't bad ! and the service we got was great. Again the view over this city was amazing, but for a tip make sure you eat when its dark outside as the city looks much better lit up at night that in the clear light of day !. All in all found the hotel great value and would happily recommend. Oh yes - Great underground car park for £18 where you park in a cage that disappears into the abyss !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanna N, Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Happy Phil,

Thanks for your review. Very happy to read you and your wife had an enjoyable stay with us and made the most of the hotel facilities.

The car park is great and seems to be a right boys toy. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Suzanna Naughton
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

i went to stay at this hotel with my partner on 19 of august 2012 in the morning the 20 of august without any warning there was a fire alarm drill at 9:00am we were called and all told to evacuate the hotel as we did we was not told where we was going or to dress up warm etc we came downstairs and we all had to leave the building in the blistering cold and pouring rain. We were told to all waited for 30 mins and no one knew what was going on we had to go round the corner following a fire warden if there was any disabled people it would have been awful to have been waiting in the rain for 30 mins there was no communication with the front of the house manager suzanna naughton she was rude and did not care i asked for a refund and she said she cant as it is hotel policy they are not allowed to give refunds this hotel needs to sort out there managers by giving them the right training i would not recommend this hotel to any one the air con in the room does not work properly if you call reception on the night no one is there to take your call stay away from this hotel not customer friendly.

Room Tip: stay at the raddisn or the hyatt or crown plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mohammid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanna N, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Mohammad,

I'm sorry you had a disappointing stay with us on Sunday Night, regarding one of your points with the Fire Evacuation that really is out of our hands, it is unfortunate it happened on such a miserable morning.
I felt we came to an agreement in which you were happy with in regards to compensating you for your stay on Monday night. It goes without saying if you would like to return please contact me directly and I will ensure your stay will be a more satisfactory one.

Kindest Regards
Suzanna Naughton
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Hotel Indigo is in a great location, next to some good bars and restaurants and only a few mins walk from the Bull Ring. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful and didn't mind having to explain the car parking instructions at least three times. Our room was nice and modern but some of the furnishings looked a bit cheap,the table lamp shade and the cups looked like they had been bought from every things a pound,but every thing was very clean. The lay-out is a bit odd for a hotel. There are several floors between the reception and the room floors, 16 in fact, and then another floor between them and the hotel bar. The views from the bar are great, you can seer over most of the city, but the price of the drinks reflect this. Over all both myself and my husband had an enjoyable stay. I'm not sure if l would stay at this hotel again but only because there are so many good hotels in Birmingham.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#16 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#37 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Property: Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing