We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing value great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Fantastic hotel with spa and good breakfast had a lovely stay. Staff very helpful. Very good value for money. Stayed at an other hotel in Birmingham and was not a patch on this one. The pool is small be adequate, steam room two saunas

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richwasp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanna N, Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Richard_Austen,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.
Happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that you forund our staff friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Suzanna Naughton
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    292
    131
    65
    38
See reviews for
46
466
15
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed one night and spent a few hours visiting the Jewellry Quarter, canals, etc. The hotel is well located and certainly unusual. Parking a car costs £18 for a 24 hour period, but it's quite fun to see it go down into the bowels of the building in a box, etc. The rooms are not particularly large or lavishly equipped, but clean and all you need for a day or two. The "boutique" styling is mainly the use of a lot of orange paint, which is OK, though you wouldn't decorate your bedroom at home that colour! We used the gym and pool which are OK. We tried to book the PMW restaurant but they couldn't offer us a good slot so we ended up at Le Truc, which was excellent. Likewise we gave the £14 continental breakfast a miss and went just outside to Cote on the quay, where the breakfast was very good and half the price. The reception and staff were very friendly and helpful, and we'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickSidmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanna N, Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Nick Sidmonth,

Thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. Very happy you enjoyed it and found our staff helpful and friendly.

Hopefully next time you come and stay you can contact me in advance and I can book a table for you In our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse suzanna.naughton@hotelindigobirmingham.com.

Kindest Regards
Suzanna Naughton
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed here for our new year..... also booked a group meal with friends at the Marco Pierre White restaurant which was also a let down. I will start firstly with the hotel. On arrival we were told there was no parking for our car after calling earlier in the day to confirm parking facilities. Room was clean and nicely decorated but with a tiny window which overlooked the back of beyond certaily not the view i was expecting after reading the write up especially as we had booked an executive suite. when we had finished our celebrations we went back to our room to relax before bed and have a relaxing cup of tea, to find out we had one mug!!! the night porter arrived with another 3 cups and promptly barged past me in my night dress to plonk it on the table at the other end of the room. ' not really what one should do considering we were half naked!!!' When i mentioned we had only 2 teabags he once again returned and barged past me to deliver a handfull of teabags on our table. My partner was so embarressed.
The Meal.... well a beautiful setting and tastefully decorated. Waitress was helpful and pleasant but firstly had to wait an hour for our drinks. Canapes or should i say canape arrived half an hour after that. Sorbet was not served and when i meantioned it the the waitress we were given it before out pudding!!! Im sure Marco would agree thats not why one has sorbet between courses!!! the meal overhall taste wise was fantastic shame it took from 8pm to 11:45 to eat. The music broke down as well which was a bit of a let down as it just cut out half why through a song. No apology was made and we were all left wondering what had happened. Overall not the best experience for a hotel & restaurant of such standing. What a shame

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Cynde C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Room a little premier inn ish! Bed a little small, but clean and views were great. Staff very welcoming, Indigo bar amazing! Certainly not worth paying the full rack rate, but £88 a night is a fair for this hoteal. Would visit again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lyngh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanna N, Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Lyngh,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.
Glad you enjoyed our facilities.
Should you wish to stay with us in the future please do not hesitate to contact me suzanna.naughton@hotelindigobirmingham.com and I will be happy to allocate you a larger room.

Kind Regards
Suzanna Naughton
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Spent one night in indigo over xmas week,we must of had the best room in hotel it was superb.Also had a large balcony to ouselves.Ate in the restaurant in the evening which was also perfect.Hotel was very quiet on this night which is prob.why we were allocated a room like that

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rotty113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanna N, Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Rotty113,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.
Very happy you liked the hotel and enjoyed your large Balcony room.

Should you wish to stay with us in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be happy to allocate you a room with a Balcony again..with hopefully some good weather for you to enjoy!! suzanna.naughton@hotelindigobirmingham.com

Kindest Regards
Suzanna Naughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We live near Birmingham and regularly treat ourselves to a night in town (usually Malmaison or Hotel du Vin), this time we thought we'd try the new Hotel Indigo in the cube. Let's start with the positives: amazing views of Brum, nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good choice of eateries (Indigo Bar, Champagne Bar and Marco Pierre White).
Now the cons: IT ISN'T FINISHED PROPERLY! It smacks of a hotel that ran out of money in the final stages of design and decoration - cheap furnishings, places that need an extra lick of paint, cheap, flimsy tables in the bar etc. Such a shame as it really is so close to being a top class hotel - we still had a great night but will probably stick to Malmaison next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanna N, Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear Claire N,


Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at Hotel Indigo.
Very happy to see you enjoyed the fantastic views, the great atmosphere and found our staff very friendly.
Shame our furnishings wasn't to your taste.
Hopefully we will get to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Suzanna Naughton
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed last night for a trip in Birmingham. Lovely reception staff and the Spa was lovely with great facilities in the changing rooms. Room was spacious with a range of complimentary drinks. There's not much more you could ask for for the price.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wils87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanna N, Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear Wils87,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at Hotel Indigo.
Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We do indeed have a lovely reception team that are an asset to us at Hotel Indigo and I make sure I acknowledge their hard work.

Should you wish to return to us in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly suzanna.naughton@hotelindigobirmingham.com .

Kindest Regards
Suzanna Naughton
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#15 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Property: Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing