We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horrible treatment”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I visited the 23rd floor bar with several friends on the afternoon of Sat May 4th. The view of the city is superb and the atmosphere seemed pleasant enough.

Towards the end of the afternoon one of our friends, a lone female, had to leave to catch the train home to London. I and another of my friends offered to walk her to the station.

On returning to the hotel the door staff refused to allow us back in as they said that the bar was full. I explained that we had escorted our friend to the station for her own safety in a strange city and that our empty seats were waiting upstairs along with our friends, but they continued to refuse us entry. When I tried to reason with the doorman that this refusal was very unfair he informed me that that what I needed to understand was that he just didn’t care. I asked for the name of the doorman and to see his badge but he told me that he wouldn’t let me have either.

In the end I had to phone my friends and they all had to finish their drinks and leave. Fortunately we were able to continue our evening at a bar without such an unpleasant attitude.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobatKingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear RobatKingsbury
Thank you for the feedback you have left on Tripadvisor.
I am sincerely sorry that your were not allowed back into the premses due to us already being full to capacity.
However I will discuss your comments with my Security team and express the importance of being the face at the front of my property and how we handle these situations.
Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    293
    135
    65
    40
See reviews for
47
473
15
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london Uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lovely hotel , great area near canal and the mailbox
Quiet , fabulous check in staff !!!!! Soopa lovely
Great bed ! Duvet and soopa soopa clean, and I'm very fussy about the mattress cover in hotels ! This cover was very good and thick and covered the entire mattress ! Very very important ! Never stay in a hotel without one !!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't forget to use the spa ! I was gutted I didn't bring my spa stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraineuk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Lorraineuk62
Thank you for the positive review.
I am really pleased that your overall experience was fabulous and especially the check-in staff, I will pass your comments on to them personally.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend with friends. Upon arrival reception staff were very friendly and informative. We had booked executive rooms, but they were a lot smaller than expected and whilst the bed was comfy, it wasn't a King. The room and shower room (no bath) were very clean, the shower was brilliant. The parking experience is a real novelty and worth the £18 for overnight parking as you know that it's secure and not going to get someone opening their door onto it. Location is perfect right next to the bars, restaurants and shopping at the Mailbox. One negative, we ordered an ice bucket and 4 champagne glasses, but they never arrived, we ended up drinking champagne out of the water glasses, not quite the same! the Champagne Bar on the 25th Floor is over priced and full of pretentious people, great view, but you are better off going to the bars in the Mailbox. Breakfast was average, nothing to shout about. If we were to stay here again, it would purely be for the parking and location.

Room Tip: we were on the 23rd floor and didn't experience any noise problems even though the hotel was ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btheset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Btheset
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent visit to our Hotel.
I am pleased that you found the employees to be both friendly and informative and that the overall stay was positive.
It is disappointing however that the Champagne Glasses were not delivered to you on request and that you thought the rooms were smaller than expected.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lovely Hotel, great Bar and Restaurant great location, fantastic views. Our issue was we ended up in a room next to a cleaning/storage room and woke by possibly the worlds loudest cleaners with the moving furniture and what sounded like a bottle bank. Shame it really distracted from what would have been a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unfitguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Unfitguy
Thannyou for the feedback regarding your recent visit to Hotel Indigo.
I am sincerely sorry that your stay was marred by the Housekeeping team and the noise they made in the morning.
I would like to assure you that this has been addressed with them and the Manager who will be more aware for next time.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and once again my sincere apologies.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel with courteous staff. The beds are comfortable but don't expect too much from the free mini bar. A couple of bottles of water, few soft drinks and two snacks is all you get.

The parking at £18 is a bit pricey but worth it to see your car descend in its own into the depths of the building.
Overall a nice hotel I would use again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Andyr72
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent visit to our Hotel.
I am pleased that you found the overall experience nice and the staff were all very courteous.
The parking is always a talking points due to the nature of it and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

If you are looking for the best hotel in the town, then Hotel Indigo Birmingham can be the best option. It is a superb hotel where you can experience luxury in true sense. Rooms are elegantly designed, very clean and very beautiful. Quality and choice of fabric used in the rooms was excellent. Balcony was not too big, but view of the city from this place was awesome. Washroom had all the luxurious products. I stayed here for one week, a few months ago and wish I could have extended it longer. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Francesca T
Thank you for the positive review regarding your recent visit to our Hotel.
I am really pleased that everything about your stay was 'Simply WOW' and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here for one night with my partner on Friday 26th April. The hotel is centrally located & is within easy walking distance of the Bull Ring shops, restaurants & bars. Check in was quick, efficient and staff were very extremely friendly and helpful. The car parking is unique but is easy and straightforward! The hotel is spotless as was our room. The views from the room were panoramic. There was complimentary tea, coffee, water, pop and snacks. Lots of plug sockets, cold fridge, powerful hair dryer & shower , free wi fi and safe in the room. Bed & pillows were very comfy. The champagne lounge and champagne bar also have panoramic views & there is a lovely outside terrace. The champagne bar seems to be a little quieter than the main bar area. Breakfast was impeccably served and was of high quality. We will definitely recommend the indigo & will certainly stay here again. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Book a table at the Marco Pierre White restaurant in advance to avoid disappointment. The champagn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear L K
Thank you for such wonderful feedback about your visit.
I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and you also had the opportunity to visit the Champagne Bar, a great view.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Mark Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,813 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,159 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
896 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#16 of 118 in Birmingham
210 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Property: Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing