We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best stay on this occasion - disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #30 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not the best stay on this occasion - disappointing”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here , which was a birthday treat for my wife with a full day planned following our stay.
Check in was fine and the room was clean and acceptable .
We had a pleasant evening with freinds retired to bed early as we had a full day ahead , trying to sleep was a nightmare with the constant baseline of a thumping music / Disco in the bar directly above . This continued and then noise of other guests moving around till gone 3am disrupted us.
I cannot understand the concept of putting what is classed as 5 star accommodation on a floor below a night club / disco bar type floor and then being surprised by complaints from customers who have paid for a nights stay, having looked forward to this for such a long time to be let down was so
disappointing , we were not told of events going on or the likelihood of disrupted sleep - to the credit of the management this was acknowledged as a failure on their part. Had we been told prior to booking we would have selected a quieter location or a non public party venue.
The hotel IS well situated , IS clean and IS value for money if you get a nights sleep , which , lets be honest is why you stop over at a hotel !,
We do hope to return and give the hotel the opportunity to deliver the standard they promise , and you can be sure I will review them again with an honest account.
My advice is check for planned events /party's before you book. Hopefully you will be properly informed.
Breakfast was Ok but not the best we have had in this star of hotel .
Spa set up is strange whereby as a hotel guest you are sent upstairs to the external entrance to get a towel and locker having walked past the spa itself as you are already in the zone as a guest of the hotel - more thought needed here.
Indigo - we accept your challenge of a return stay so prove your worth.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 221964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing a correspondence to exist in between us and for your review, we are truly disappointed we have got it wrong for you but we are eager to make it up to you and show you all that everyone is raving about on TripAdvisor. We truly strive to make your experience magical.

Please feel free to contact us anytime with any request, we are here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    299
    143
    67
    42
See reviews for
48
487
15
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Very friendly reception staff and extremely helpful. The staff we encountered who maintain the rooms etc were all very cheerful and polite. It's a great location and with the restaurant above its perfect for a night away, especially when it's raining. The only thing is, whilst the rooms are exceptionally clean the curtain glass walling at night looks very dusty and previous occupants of the room have written messages to that effect on the dirty glass. Small gripe but needs addressing as this effects a number of rooms due to their design. It's a great hotel and always our first choice to stay in Birmingham. Thank you Hotel Indigo.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob21Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us and for your feedback, it will help us improve the service we deliver. We truly believe in the feedback sent by our guests.

Please don’t forget to explore our neighbourhood next time you stay, it is something amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Hasn't Birmingham changed in the last ten years, and for the better.
And one of the best places to see how much it has changed is from this hotel. With the bedrooms on the 23 and 24 floor of the Cube, and amazing building in itself, the views across the city are simply stunning. On the top floor (25) is the restaurant and bars - none cheap but worth it just for the panorama. It's particularly stunning on a clear night.
In typical Hotel Indigo style, the colours are bright, with different rooms themed in different vibrant colours; the beds excellent, a complimentary mini-bar and very modern bathroom.
Staff couldn't have been better, both at reception and on the 25 floor.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0manmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am very happy to read you had a great stay with us; it is what we aim for. I’m glad to read you’ve noticed how much our city has changed. Just like Birmingham, we are constantly improving and letting ourselves grow.

Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I booked the Hotel Indigo Birmingham for a night away for my boyfriends birthday & it was definitely the right choice. We used the Club & Spa facilities throughout the day & I'd booked several treatments for us both all of which were delivered on time. We ate at the Canal Side Lounge during the day & at the Marco Pierre Steakhouse for the evening & both were absolutely amazing with incredible views. The food was fabulous & all the staff at the hotel are very professional, friendly & more than happy to go out of their way to help you. The location of the hotel is perfect. You've got everything you need within the hotel itself, bars, resturants, shops etc. so you don't even need to venture outside, but the busy & lively nightlife of Broad Street is only a 5 - 10 minute walk down the canal. The hotel arranged for a cake & champagne to be delivered to our room for my boyfriends birthday & the rooms are kept very tidy. The bathroom & in particular the shower is very impressive & the bed is possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Definitely a worthwile visit & a most enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted you had such a good time in Birmingham and at our hotel! Before your next visit don’t forget to check out our Online Podcast for more details on what’s happening in Birmingham. Simply Google HIBPodcast or Dare To Listen!

Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel is a great location and the decor and rooms are very good. funky layouts and boutique style and colours that work really well. We stayed a friday night in dec and there were a couple of parties in the sky bar so it was busy in the bar and restaurant. The hotel is great and views are excellent. I would have given it a 5/5 but the staff in the restaurant and bar area are not helpful and I would go as far to say they are ignorant (not all the staff just the ones outside the lift) not just to us but also to some other customers. The hotel is on the 23rd to 25th floor so the lifts are a constraint on a busy nights. Its a good hotel nice location, reception are nice but stick to the rules....breakfast was really tasty but the service again was not as good. The staff need to be as good as the hotel physicals assets and then it will be a 5/5. I would not let a few staff put you off.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am very happy to hear you made the most out of our hotel. I am disappointed you did not find some of our staff accommodating, please rest assured this is not what we are about. Every guest is particularly important as every guest is different: we understand this.

Please do come back soon so we can show you how much we have grown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

On my first visit to Hotel Indigo Birmingham I planned to propose to my girlfriend. It boasts fantastic views as the bedrooms were
Situated on floor 23 and 24 to my knowledge. Top floor; the 25th floor, holds the greatest panoramic views of Birmingham and its canals from either night or day, as you dine or drink at the Marco Pierre White Restaurant you can see those. It is also only around 10 minutes walk to the town centre and a short walk down the canal towards broadstreet. Appart from the cost of the room I personally thought It was a bit of an anticlimax once walking into the room, as the room was not to my expectations. I may have over hyped it, but other than that the view made up for all. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, as it was the perfect choice for this occasion and me and my now fiancée will be returning to this great place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxrgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am absolutely thrilled to read you described your experience as fantastic. We are very happy we have succeeded in our mission and our only endeavour is to keep delivering a great guest experience.

Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay with excellent views of Birmingham. Quirky decoration throughout the hotel. Staff very friendly, however the bouncers at the ground floor is quite intimidating and not very friendly. Bed very comfortable.

The bathroom was not particularly clean, but towels were fantastic.

The guests rooms are on the 23rd and 24th floors. One has to wait quite some time to get to the room for the lift, and then share it with guests of the club on the 25th floor. Going down can be extremely time consuming as the lift was often full when it go to our floor on its way down. Perhaps have priority for hotel guests or a dedicated lift?

Breakfast was great! Looking forward to my return in March.

If it was not for the waiting times for the lift (and bouncers) and bathroom, would definitely been 5 stars.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mw_dewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for giving us the chance to learn from our mistakes. We strive to deliver not just good customer service but great customer service and our focus is entirely on your experience.

I sincerely hope we will manage to wow you next time you stay. I am looking forward to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,925 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
911 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#17 of 117 in Birmingham
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
2,229 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,390 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#37 of 117 in Birmingham
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Property: Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing