We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second visit to this "Contempary" boutique hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Our second visit to this "Contempary" boutique hotel!!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We first visited this hotel just four days after it first opened in December 2011, so what has changed over the past two years?? Firstly the check in was a lot smoother and we were in possession of our room key within five minutes! This time we booked an Executive room for a comparison with our prior stay, and I have to say I really do not like wooden floors in the bedroom, it just feels cold and noisy!! Our room on floor 24 overlooked the central courtyard (so no real view of the Birmingham skyline) it was minimalistic with furniture and fittings and only had a shower cubicle (no Bath) As I am a Platinum Priority Member and use the IHG group for up to 90 stays per year, I have to admit I really don't get what Hotel Indigo are trying to Offer?? My choice would be to use the Birmingham Crowne Plaza Hotel every time, as their Executive rooms are more comfortable, cosier (with carpets) and overall far cheaper in price!! Sorry Hotel Indigo but I will not be returning for a THIRD visit!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kebuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you have returned to our hotel. I am disappointed you did not like our overall look, we strive to stand out with quirky designs and innovative customer service. Hotel Indigo is renowned for our rainfall showers and we like creating a compact space that our guests can relax in when they are not exploring our neighbourhood. We also offer full access to the Club and Spa facilities (Spa, Fitness and Workout room, pool, saunas, steam rooms) and complimentary mini fridge and WiFi are included as well.

Throughout the IHG Chain we can offer a great variety of hotels and facilities and I am very happy to read you enjoy our fellow IHG Hotel Crown Plaza. We sincerely hope you visit us again as you will always be welcomed with Platinum priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    296
    139
    67
    40
See reviews for
48
479
15
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked 2 rooms paid £109 for King Executive with breakfast per room. Location is the best if you want to go round Mailbox, Brindley Place and Broad Street. £18 for overnight parking in the Hotel. Staying in this Hotel gives you access to Marco Pierre White restaurant and champagne bar which is amazing. Breakfast was 10 out of 10. We've stayed in the Mailbox, Raddison, Hyatt previously and must say Hotel Indigo is the best.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareandCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted your stay was a success - that is our sole aim. Thank you for your review and we hope you will come back to explore more of our neighbourhood. Please don’t forget your bathing suit and enjoy the free access to the Club and Spa facilities.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed at Hotel Indigo for two nights in December and was really impressed. The rooms are very comfortable and well decorated with a fantastic view of the Birmingham skyline. The dining room and bar are beautiful offering panoramic views of the city. I found the food a little disappointing, breakfast was quite dry and I ordered room service which was quite unimpressive, this was a bit of a surprise considering the calibre of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am very happy you enjoyed the fantastic view of our neighbourhood. I am disappointed to read we did not manage to wow you with our breakfast and room service, I would really like to discuss this further should you be so kind as to get in touch!

I hope to hear from you soon, I am looking forward to improving our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here in December just before Xmas hotel has great location in mailbox but feels somewhat odd as reception on the 7th floor, rooms on the 23rd and 24th and restaurant on the 25th and spa on 5th and 6th. The lifts and there are only 2 need operating with room card which can be tricky if you are not quick enough and end up going up and down. The spa is nice and relaxing particularly as it is in centre of Birmingham and room v clean if a little small but very modern decor. The restaurant has an amazing view and is the most spectacular part of hotel. We only went for breakfast which was very good lovely choice and freshly cooked. However if it had not been included I would have not had had it as it was very expensive at £19 for a small English. All in all would recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your valuable feedback, it will help us grow and exceed your expectations every time you stay. We are very fortunate to have guests that enable us to learn from our mistakes and improve where needed.

We hope you enjoyed the view and our neighbourhood. See you in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Almost everything was perfect about our stay - we had a nice friendly welcome and as we arrived before check-in time our bags were held for us until we returned in the evening. The location is really nice and you truly are only a few steps away from restaurants and bars, and when the Mailbox fully reopens in 2015 I imagine it will only be better.

We didn't try the MPW Steakhouse for Dinner but Breakfast was excellent, although we are glad that we pre-paid for breakfast at £12 each rather than paying the menu prices. The setting and atmosphere was incredible and unlike anything else in Birmingham, and we wouldn't hesitate to return. The Club and Spa is the best I've seen offered at any hotel I have been to ever, without doubt the best at any IHG property in the UK. The hydrotherapy style pool (included with your stay) is perfect for relaxing after a busy day.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable and it was great as a family to be able to secure interconnecting rooms. Floor to ceiling windows and nice bathroom as well. Free snacks in the fridge were a nice touch, and although it says 'free mini-bar' in some places just note that alcohol isn't included.

Only small point that I noticed - it would have been nice for somebody to offer to take the bags to our room or already taken them as we came back quite late. A fantastic stay though and my new hotel of choice in Birmingham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view (facing the outside of the building, not the interior courtyard).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted to read you had an excellent stay at our Hotel. When you return, please request that we place your luggage in the room, it would be our pleasure. We are constantly here for our guests and our inspired service allows us to create your dream hotel.

Please come and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed at Hotel Indigo for 1 night last sunday and loved it!! Great location, fantastic rooms, fantastic staff!! The rooms are spacious, clean, fun, and have a real cosy feel to them. The staff were outstanding... serving you to every need and also willing to help! I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay for business or pleasure. The location is the best in Birmingham, opposite the Mailbox. The views from the hotel are without doubt the best in Birmingham looking over the whole city. Breakfast was superb and dinner at the Marco Pierre Whire Resturant just one floor above my room was even better!!!!! A must if staying in Birmingham, a great hotel hub that is accesible and well worth staying. 5 Stars!! :)

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room you will get fantastic views of all of Birmingham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted to read you had a great stay with us. It is very important for us to make your stay memorable and we are always here to assist you and make your stay flawless.

I am happy to read you enjoyed our great views of Birmingham and should you wish to come back, you are always welcome at Hotel Indigo Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here , which was a birthday treat for my wife with a full day planned following our stay.
Check in was fine and the room was clean and acceptable .
We had a pleasant evening with freinds retired to bed early as we had a full day ahead , trying to sleep was a nightmare with the constant baseline of a thumping music / Disco in the bar directly above . This continued and then noise of other guests moving around till gone 3am disrupted us.
I cannot understand the concept of putting what is classed as 5 star accommodation on a floor below a night club / disco bar type floor and then being surprised by complaints from customers who have paid for a nights stay, having looked forward to this for such a long time to be let down was so
disappointing , we were not told of events going on or the likelihood of disrupted sleep - to the credit of the management this was acknowledged as a failure on their part. Had we been told prior to booking we would have selected a quieter location or a non public party venue.
The hotel IS well situated , IS clean and IS value for money if you get a nights sleep , which , lets be honest is why you stop over at a hotel !,
We do hope to return and give the hotel the opportunity to deliver the standard they promise , and you can be sure I will review them again with an honest account.
My advice is check for planned events /party's before you book. Hopefully you will be properly informed.
Breakfast was Ok but not the best we have had in this star of hotel .
Spa set up is strange whereby as a hotel guest you are sent upstairs to the external entrance to get a towel and locker having walked past the spa itself as you are already in the zone as a guest of the hotel - more thought needed here.
Indigo - we accept your challenge of a return stay so prove your worth.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 221964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing a correspondence to exist in between us and for your review, we are truly disappointed we have got it wrong for you but we are eager to make it up to you and show you all that everyone is raving about on TripAdvisor. We truly strive to make your experience magical.

Please feel free to contact us anytime with any request, we are here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#17 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#38 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Property: Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing