We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Buffet - Great price”

Ming Moon Restaurant
Ranked #236 of 2,251 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quality Buffet - Great price”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Was down on business in Birmingham staying in the Chinese Quarter. I asked the hotel to recommend a chinese buffet nearby & I wasn't disappointed. I've been to a few chinese buffets that the food had been left out so long it was dry but the food at the Ming Moon was fresh. They even have an area where you have a choice of raw meats, seafood & you can give it to a chef who will cook it in front of you with your choice of vegetables & sauces. I really recommend this.
I only had one slight complaint, they have a couple of rooms for private partys & I was put in a table where kareoke was blaring out. If I return which I will if I'm ever in Birmingham again then I would request a table away from the party rooms. Only a minor gripe as on the who0le a great meal at a great price. Worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EKCol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    325
    139
    77
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Swoon at the Ming Moon”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

From the moment you walk up the stairs at the entrance, you can tell you're in for a great experience! The staff were great, welcoming, polite and really on the ball.
We went there for a family birthday, 8 adults 4 children on a Sunday afternoon and expected a usual buffet.But this was fantastic! Such an array of food to suit all tastes, especially the vegetarians and picky children. Starters,soups, main courses, pancakes, sauces (and even fish& chips!) always topped up and hot.
Then there were the desserts that were not only beautiful to look at, they tasted pretty good too. Drinks were not over priced as you sometimes experience at different buffet style restaurants and again there was a good variety to choose from.
Think we all ate far too much! Great atmosphere, a good diversity of people and really relaxed. Definately going back, fell in love with the place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shawsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Vast choice, good quality, excellent value...”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Buffet with huge choice. Good quality food. Including prawn, chicken breast, tender beef. Spoilt for choice really. All hot and empty dishes replaced quickly.

Only downside was that is was very crowded (not surprising really given value and quality). Noisy and lots of children (but it was early evening when we ate).

Not the place for a romantic dinner for two, but fantastic if you are hungry and like plenty of choice.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Eat everything you could want & not worry about the bill!”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is an eat as much as you like buffet with unbleievable choice of starters, mains & desserts they even have a help yourself icecream machine. House wine is £13.95 a bottle so that too won't break the bank.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Food, Reasonable - Loud Music”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We visited here for a family birthday during the easter bank holiday weekend.
There was a large selection of food, as well as desserts- with an ice-cream machine and chocolate fountain.
The food was very nice and staff were friendly. The buffet was reasonable at £12.99 per person.
The only problem though, was that we were sitting by a wall and you could hear music from the venue nextdoor- loud banging music which seemed to have the same beat. The music of the restaurant itself is very loud- which is perhaps to try & drown out the sound from the room nextdoor - so it is very hard to have a cobversation with members of family.
Apart from this, the restraunt is very nice though and I would return - but just sit over the other side of the restaurant

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SammieLouXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ming Moon Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Ming Moon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing