We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Buffet Selection”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Peachy Keens

Peachy Keens
Ranked #636 of 2,198 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Poor Buffet Selection”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Despite pleasant service food selection on the buffet was poor and I did not think it was good value for money. The Indian food in particular was not tasty at all. My husband was ill afterwards but he is slightly delicate when it comes to hot food. I think Jimmy Spices in Solihull is better value and the food was better although tables seem a bit more cramped there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DurbanGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    75
    57
    32
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“xmas party 2010,2011,2012,2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

lots of different food to choose from,great bar and an upstairs room if you fancy entertament or a boogie late into the night,super value for money with great staff and a excellent manager in Vijay,see you guys soon

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Private Function Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I hired the private function room for my husband's surprise party.
The newsagents just up the road decorated the room for me at a reasonable cost.(Vijay the manager at the venue recommended them). The room looked fantastic.
The music was provided by Rob the DJ and he done a brilliant job at getting the crowd going. (He came recommended also by Vijay)
Vijay arranged a hot buffet with a selection of English, Indian and Chinese food. Everyone commented on how good the food was.
The bar staff were brilliant, no one had to wait very long.
I can highly recommend the function room for a party. It. was a fabulous night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanitaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Been to the NEC for a trade show, wanted something other than hotel food for dinner asked an Indian family we have known for years where they eat when they stay, they said Peachy Keens for a buffet. So got a taxi there it was Sunday early evening. It was packed mainly families ranging from babies to very senior citizens. We were asked if first visit which it was shown to a table everything explained. Wine ordered and of we go to find the food. The selection is amazing plus they will cook to order. I like to try anything but stuck to an Indian theme, but every nationality seemed to be their. Everything was hot, spicy, the sauces all tasted different (often they use the same sauce for loads of similar dishes but not here), the naan bread was prepared and cooked in front of you very quickly. Dirty plates were promptly removed, fresh cutlery laid promptly. Tables were quickly cleared when people left, properly cleaned, hygiene is very high here. Went to the till to pay they knew which table we were the bill correct and was everything o.k which apart from eating to much it was 2 very happy new customers. Under £30 for all you can eat and a good bottle of wine, cant beat it. The only reason for 4 stars not 5 is it is noisy, due to no carpet and table linen but you cant expect that for the price, they have to clean the tables quickly so table linen cant be used, same with the floor. Don't go there if you want fine a ambience. Will be going again next year when at the NEC.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“44 happy customers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had 44 family members ranging from 5 months to 75 years and all with different food tastes. Peachy Keens was the answer! Vijay was wonderful in arranging an area for us all and everyone enjoyed the choices on offer. The food was hot and fresh and covered all our likes. The staff were friendly and cleared up after messy kids and adults alike very quickly but not intrusivley. Thank you Vijay from us all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peachy Keens also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Peachy Keens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing