We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I know there are quite a few positive reviews on here but I have stayed in far better hotels than this one in the price category. Any Travelodge is better than this hotel. Everything is dated in the rooms and in need of desperate upgrading. The bathroom suites are dated and the carpets are thread bare and in need of replacing. There is a horrible musky smell in the rooms. the beds are really uncomfortable due to them being so old and slept in so many times. Reception staff were helpful and the breakfast was really good which persuaded me to give it a 2/5 instead of 1/5. I would'nt stay here again because for the money I can find a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy K, General Manager at Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Richard, thank you for posting your review. I am really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of updating the hotel, we have put brand new carpets in the corridors as well as reception and the restaurant. Bathrooms are being refurbished and it will all look much better when the project is complete. Glad to hear that the staff were polite and service was good. Thank you for mentioning the quality of our breakfast as well. Kind regards, Lucy K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked a room here through Booking.com £45 for the night , not bad considering Robbie Williams was on at the NEC.
Check in was fast and the staff very polite and helpful. There is plenty of parking at the rear of the hotel.
The room (137) was basic and situated at the rear of the hotel overlooking the platforms at Acocks Green Station.
the fact that the room was overlooking the platform meant it was quite noisy with the trains.
Double bed, tea and coffee facilities, shower and bath.
The corridors leading the the rooms are a bit dated and could probably do with a good clean,
I noticed that on one of the window sills in the corridor was a coffee mug which had cobwebs on it between the mug and the window, it was later removed by a cleaner but the coffee stain was left behind.?
I am not expecting a 5 star standard for £45 but these things are basic.
Also the fire door at the end of the corridor looked a bit suspect, the break glass bolt to open lock was not in tact .

I have only mentioned these few flaws hoping the hotel management will see it and address the problems, it would not put me off staying again if going to the NEC or City Centre.



This is a good hotel for a 1 night stop though, ideally situated next to the train station, 3 stops to Moor street (city Centre) then a short walk to New street for a train to Birmingham international,

Room Tip: Avoid 137 if you want to sleep. Noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a fantastic place. We chose this venue because a few people had recommended it. The staff were welcoming and went our there way to be helpful and polite. The Buffet was fabulous, fresh food was replenished regularly. We have had so many text and messages from family and friends expressing how wonderful the wake was. Thank you for helping us make our Dads funeral
a special day .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy K, General Manager at Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jayne, it is great to hear that the day went well and your guests have enjoyed the service as well as the food provided for the function. We hope that we have met all your expectations and would like to thank you for choosing our venue and for the brilliant review! Kind regards, Lucy K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Dropped lucky and got a double room through booking.com on a managers special.
Hotel is a good size and first impression was good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was perfect for my 4 night stay and have to say spotlessly clean and fresh. couldn't find fault at all. Would stay again if my budget allowed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy K, General Manager at Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Sir, thank you so much for the positive review! We are all very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Quality Hotel and look forward to welcoming you here again when you are next in the area. Kind regards, Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Attended a wedding reception here on Saturday night, the room looked lovely great service from the bar staff, £3.00 a pint !!!, the buffett food was excellent.

Nice evening, would recommend for a party

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy K, General Manager at Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Sarah, all the team and I are happy to hear that you were impressed with our service throughout the event. We are very pleased that you would recommend us to others and hope to see you here again in the near future! Kind regards, Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here while visiting the NEC Lovely hotel nice welcoming atmosphere. Staff friendly and polite a great team. Was able to get taxi direct to NEC and catch the train back. Will stay again next year.
Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nreid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy K, General Manager at Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for the feedback following your stay with us at the Quality Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our service and location and look forward to welcoming you here again next year! Kind regards, Lucy K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a change from usual place
and was lovely
quick check in, friendly staff
nice big room which was clean big bathroom clean
bed sooo comfy had fantastic sleep
We would stay again
mrs and mrs lee

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colletteandnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy K, General Manager at Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest, I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Quality Hotel Birmingham Airport/NEC. Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope you will come and visit us again in the near future. Kind regards, Lucy K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon
0.4 mi away
Best Western Westley Hotel
Best Western Westley Hotel
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC

Address: 49 Sherbourne Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 6DX, England (Formerly Bridge House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £45 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel offers a clean, cosy and affordable accommodation. We are located just 6 min away on the train from Birmingham city centre and less than 15 min drive (under 5 miles) from the NEC and the Airport. All our rooms include FREE Secure Car Parking, FREE Tea/coffee and FREE Wi- Fi for each of our valuable guests. The hotel has a 24-hour reception and each of our comfortable rooms has a private bathroom with either a shower or a bath, a TV, work desk, tea/coffee making facilities and high speed wireless internet connection. The Pillars Restaurant is open for dinner Monday-Friday between 18:30 - 21:30 and alternative Saturdays. The hotel bar is stocked with variety of beers and a good wine list. Acocks Green Train Station is located less than a minute walk from us with the famous Bullring Shopping Centre just 3 train stops away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing