We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Ranked #80 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dark Room!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The reception staff were on two ends of the spectrum, quiet and timid through to brash and bolshy. Neither you'd expect to be working on a hotel reception!
My room was dark, with a number of lights not working. It felt like living in a cave for the evening.
The room was clean and a nice temperature, with plenty of spare towels.
Breakfast was good (continental).
Free wi-fi a bonus.
It wasn't terrible, but I'd try another hotel before this one if I'm in the area again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Natsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, responded to this review, 8 February 2015
Dear Natsy83,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the clean room, enough supply of towels, good breakfast and complimentary WIFI connection. It is regrettable to hear that you experience was dampen because of the service you received at the front office. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations in this area. Your comments will help us improve our service and offer a great experience for our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    55
    39
    21
    16
See reviews for
31
32
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My mother and I stayed at CB Inn in November and December 2013, and were like part of the family with the staff. Claire the manager really made us welcome and because my dad was in Heartlands Hospital we had access to a special NHS rate which made a big difference. The rooms were clean and quite modern with comfortable beds and great showers plus normal additions. The continental breakfast was good and plentiful, whilst the bar kept us going in the evening. There is a pub next door which served reasonable food and drinks at a low cost. There is a bus stop across the road that goes to Heartlands. Very conventient for Motorways and i had no road noise even though it was close to the junction. There was also great walks nearby around Castle Bromwich Hall area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Good location straight off the M6, literally right next to the motorway but with very little noise in the rooms. Loads of free parking on site.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Small, plain bar in reception area which is manned by the reception staff. Never had any food here so can't comment but the drink was fine.

£20 for a taxi into Birmingham so a little out of town and £18 from New Street station. Much closer to the airport though and would be a good place to stay if flying from BHX.

Overall this place is clean, modern and serves its purpose. Nothing particularly special but not too much to complain about either.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank northernglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Duncurin was in Birmingham, visiting students and friends and it therefore made sense to stay over. I must say it was wonderful to be in Castle Bromwich: for the place has a great buzz about it and of course one still feels the presence of the Spitfire factory from all those years ago. The CBI is an excellent choice at first glimpse, it's clean, well appointed, the staff are friendly and of course it is wonderful value. It is also a fairly central location and as such should be on the list of automatic choices.
Unfortunately our experience was marred by two things. First, we got there pretty late it must have been past 10pm only to discover that the pop up sink thingy had lost its little lever, so it meant that the sink would not drain. Mercifully I am sure Mrs Duncurin must have been a plumber in a previous life and was able to furtle under the sink for a few moments and managed to find the little connecting rod thingy which caused the waste to pop up and the sink to start draining.
Second was the smell of smoke in our room. If it had been earlier we would have asked for a change of room. I don't think smokers are aware of how sensitive the non-smokers noses and lungs are to the after-effects of cigarette smoke. I opened the window in order to admit some fresh air but this was only partially successful and of course as the CBI is right on busy Chester Road it remains very busy until right into the small hours. Of course each room has a smoke alarm but I suspect one or more of the previous incumbents in our room was able to bypass the sensitivity of such detectors, but sadly not that of the human nose.
This is a shame because the place does deserve a higher rating and I appreciate in many ways it's out of the immediate control of the staff - what people get up to behind their locked door. The following morning I asked my wife how she felt and she reported that she felt "like a smoked kipper" and this, though a shame, has to be one of our defining memories.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here during a visit to the NEC but it is a £20 taxi ride away. Not sure exactly what market the hotel was built to capture as there appeared to be not a lot nearby except for the Jaguar Assembly plant. The rooms were adequate but not particularly clean and the hotel could do with an upgrade. Breakfast was continental there was nothing warm except toast but it was reasonably priced and good value.

Room Tip: All rooms seem similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoshortplanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Used the hotel for parking before the holiday and a one night stay on our return. Very efficient and friendly check in on both occasions. very easy access - only 200yards off the M6. No restaurant, though there is a restaurant in the complex, which we did not use. Complimentary continental breakfast. No frills, but very clean, and comfortable beds. If I fly from Birmingham International again, I will probably use them again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silversurfer1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed last night ready for a trip to the NEC today.
Literally just next to the M6.
Had booked a room on the quiet side of the hotel and on the ground floor as we have an old dog.
Receptionist was very friendly and polite upon our arrival.
The room was clean, a good size and modern, although we found the bed a bit soft and bouncy!
The pub next door - one minute walk - served good food and wine - not expensive.
Will definitely stay there again on future trips to Birmingham / NEC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel. We did and we heard no road noise during the night. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Address: 1200 Chester Road | Junction 5, M6, Birmingham B35 7AF, England (Formerly Castle Bromwich Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, comfortable hotel offers guests great value just off the M6 and within easy reach of Birmingham city centre. The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, is situated just 25 minutes from the heart of the city and 8 miles from Birmingham International Airport. Other nearby venues include the NEC Arena and popular family destinations such as Cadbury World, Drayton Manor and Sealife Centre. The hotel features 110 guest rooms, all well-equipped to offer you a most comfortable stay. All rooms feature en-suite bathrooms, free Wi-Fi and digital TV among other amenities. Guests can relax in the hotel's 24 hour lounge bar, enjoying the laid-back atmosphere, a refreshing drink or tasty snack. A Express Start breakfast is served each morning in the Great Room. Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich has a well-appointed meeting room which can host up to 25 delegates. The hotel's skilled team will assist you in planning and hosting your next corporate occasion. Complimentary parking is provided in the hotel's on-site car park. The hotel's friendly team are available 24 hours a day at reception and look forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Bromwich Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing