We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Ranked #79 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for 1 night, bed was extremely soft, window couldn't be opened and their wasn't any AC, didn't get a wink of sleep due to the heat. Ok location for Birmingham but cant think of why I would return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank AGD1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Dear AGD1982,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked the location of the hotel. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It sounds like we were not able deliver an outstanding stay because of the lack of air conditioning unit. Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here overnight prior to collecting one of my clients who lives Ten Minutes away for meetings in London the next day.
I had been past the hotel lots of times but not really taken much notice of it, until i booked to stay through Laterooms.com How wrong i was to ignore this brilliant hotel !!
From the service received at reception both checking in and out to parking the car in the ample car park, i could not fault the place, okay it still retains some of it's Holiday Inn Express identity, but it works and that's all you want at a good price, The continental breakfast offers a range of good options and will keep you going to mid-morning /lunchtime.

I will definatly stay here again for either business or leisure, well done to all the staff who keep the hotel looking clean and tidy and offer excellent customer service. SOME OF THE BIGGER HOTEL CHAINS COULD LEARN SOME LESSONS HERE !!

Room Tip: Whichever room you choose you will either hear traffic or aircraft noise with the window open !! Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We needed, at short notice, a place to stay in or near Castle Bromwich. The Castle Bromwich Inn served our purpose extremely well.
Friendly and helpful reception staff; a clean and functional room on the second floor; and a satisfactory 'continental' breakfast on a 'do it yourself' basis, provided just what we needed.
Although very near to main roads, we were not kept awake.
I can thoroughly recommend this hotel if business or family commitments take you to Birmingham and you need a place to rest your head.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillandJanUpavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This place would be perfect for one nighters after a show at the NEC. Good value for money, clean and a good size room, bed was a little soft and my daughter slept on a sofa bed. It is also very close to the fort shopping centre so you can get a good breakfast for £5 at Frankie and Benny's. We will use again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Urbanbeachclothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stopped overnight 5th april 14 got to hotel about 18.00 checked in on way to room there was 2 adults 2 children daughter in front points on to floor at empty beer cans on floor got to room adequate not big only 2 coat hangers and 2 sets of towels for the four of us the sofa bed had such a dip in it that the hotel had put extra pillows under the covers to make it level beds we not comfy next morning get up to find the shower was freezing cold to find the boiler had broken nice to be told night before walls so thin had to knock on wall because could hear tv next room glad to get away to be honest

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnandmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2015

Dear donnandmike1,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the cold shower. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to address any issues that may come up. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 day here for a business conference close by. The rooms were fit for purpose and can't really find fault except for a very soft bed - which was more like a bouncy castle but it not ruin overall satisfaction. What I can definitely find fault in is the depressed staff behind the desk. We all have bad days but this team must have had a bad week. Also the express breakfast was lacking. Attempted it once and after 'off' milk in my cereal and Luke warm coffee I bought fruit and yoghurt for the remainder of the week.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2015

Dear Stephanie2317,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. It is regrettable that you were let down by the bed condition, front office services and limited breakfast choices. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The reception staff were on two ends of the spectrum, quiet and timid through to brash and bolshy. Neither you'd expect to be working on a hotel reception!
My room was dark, with a number of lights not working. It felt like living in a cave for the evening.
The room was clean and a nice temperature, with plenty of spare towels.
Breakfast was good (continental).
Free wi-fi a bonus.
It wasn't terrible, but I'd try another hotel before this one if I'm in the area again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Natsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2015

Dear Natsy83,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the clean room, enough supply of towels, good breakfast and complimentary WIFI connection. It is regrettable to hear that you experience was dampen because of the service you received at the front office. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations in this area. Your comments will help us improve our service and offer a great experience for our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich

Address: 1200 Chester Road | Junction 5, M6, Birmingham B35 7AF, England (Formerly Castle Bromwich Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £54 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, comfortable hotel offers guests great value just off the M6 and within easy reach of Birmingham city centre. The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, is situated just 25 minutes from the heart of the city and 8 miles from Birmingham International Airport. Other nearby venues include the NEC Arena and popular family destinations such as Cadbury World, Drayton Manor and Sealife Centre. The hotel features 110 guest rooms, all well-equipped to offer you a most comfortable stay. All rooms feature en-suite bathrooms, free Wi-Fi and digital TV among other amenities. Guests can relax in the hotel's 24 hour lounge bar, enjoying the laid-back atmosphere, a refreshing drink or tasty snack. A Express Start breakfast is served each morning in the Great Room. Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich has a well-appointed meeting room which can host up to 25 delegates. The hotel's skilled team will assist you in planning and hosting your next corporate occasion. Complimentary parking is provided in the hotel's on-site car park. The hotel's friendly team are available 24 hours a day at reception and look forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Bromwich Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing