We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last, a great curry house in bearwood!”
Review of Purnima

Purnima
Ranked #74 of 2,249 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At last, a great curry house in bearwood!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just visited recently opened Purnima's, very impressed! Nice decor and ambience, excellent service. The owner Roli took the time to chat with us, very pleasant, very friendly. The food was of a very high standard. Will definatly be returning. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    44
    11
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“recently refurbed”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

undergone a recent refurb. only been there once so far but I was impressed! Good food. Reasonably priced. Get Cobra on tap though chaps!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasteful decor & tasty food !!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The first thing that strikes you as u walk in to Punima is the clean, contemporary, classy decor. The staff too are very attentive & well mannered and welcoming. The food was hot, fresh, plentiful and very nice. We will definitely be visiting again. Xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezza31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great curry experience at the Purnima”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I visited the Purnima restaurant with a party of eighteen clients and colleagues, we had reserved the table and due to size of the party the owner suggested we had plated mixed starters and a choice of five different currys for the main course. The main courses included lamb bhuna, chicken tikka massala, chicken tikka jalfreze as well as a prawn bhuna which we could all serve to ourselves. All the food we were served was top class, perfectly presented and delicately spiced especially the lamb bhuna which was without doubt the best I have ever tasted. Service was very good and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were proffessional quick and efficient.All in all a very enjoyable experience. I have since used the restaurant take away service and the food was equally as good.If you like your indian food and value smart comfortable surroundings and beautifully cooked food give the Purnima a try ,you wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food and totally relaxing ambience.”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

28th November 2011

RESTAURANT REVIEW

PURNIMA, 622 Bearwood Road, Bearwood, Birmingham B66 4BW


By Dominga Devitt

Purnima is the newest addition to Bearwood’s excellent eateries, and although it has only been open for a few weeks, is rapidly gaining a reputation for delightful dining.

Admittedly, many customers initially came in out of curiosity to see how it measures up to Teknaf which was in this location for many years, but then they’ve fallen under the Purnima spell and have been drawn back again, and again!

And there is a indefinable air of enchantment as you come into Purnima, with an immediate impression of walking into a comfortable and tastefully decorated home. The lighting helps with this effect. The name Purnima is derived from the Sanskrit word for moonlight, and this is reflected in the lighting theme with strategically placed l.e.d. lights which radiate beams of soft white light, creating a sense of your own intimate space at your table. Around you is just the right amount of light to create your own little cocoon.

The decor is minimalist and effects are created more by the interplay of light and shadow than by artworks.

The overall ambience is comfortable, relaxing and quietly sophisticated, with soft furnishings in chocolate browns, beiges and soft greens, and warm rich woods in the bar, wine rack and waiter station area.

We sat down at our table with a huge sigh of relief after a really stressful day, and just soaked up the atmosphere for a few minutes whilst perusing the wine list. We were pleasantly surprised to find some unusual wines on offer. Our waiter explained that they had put a great deal of thought into the wine list and had liaised with the manager of Majestic Wines in Bearwood who had handpicked some really fine wines to complement the food. The whites included Bantry Bay Chenin Blanc at £10.95 per bottle, Five Foot Tracks Chardonnay (crispy, dry and hints of apple and lemon – yum!) at £11.95 per bottle and even a Mâcon-Lugny Louis Latour burgundy (£18.50), (described as a sophisticated wine with a well defined lemon bouquet and crisp fruity flavours – definitely one for us to try). To my delight the reds included an Argentinian Malbec at £13.50 and a classic Rioja Crianza at £17.95

To get our relaxing Friday night off to good start I chose a glass of the house red; a Tempranillo (£9.95 per bottle) which was flavoursome and velvety, with tastes of spice, cherry and blackcurrant, while my husband chose his usual Cobra!

We sat and sipped in blissful content as the cares of the day sloughed away. Listening to the music helped us to relax even more. We were hearing a most unusual blend of traditional Indian music with an element of western influence. Sparkling piano chords with the yearning poignance of the sitar, and rhythms of tabla and dhol were helping to chill us out.

Lots of old favourites featured on the menu, and some interesting new offerings such as Bengali tilapia fish – (great if you’re on a Slimming World eating plan) listed as pan fried fillets of an exotic white fish, smeared with a coriander and mint paste, caramelised onions and turmeric, served with steamed rice and green salad.

Our popadoms arrived and were light and crisp with no hint of oil, and the accompanying raita, tamarind sauce and chopped onions were just perfect. For starters I chose duck tikka and husband chose salmon tikka. My sliced duck breast was tender and slightly pink which is exactly how I like it served, and came with salad. The salmon tikka was moist and delicate and again cooked to perfection. (We have ordered this in other restaurants and been disappointed at being presented with dry, overcooked chunks of fish).
For my main course I chose tandoori king prawns with salad (£10.90) accompanied by bindi bhaji (£3.50) and panir tikka (£3.90 starter portion). The prawns were also beautifully cooked and just melted in the mouth. The bindi was delicious, with the taste of the okra and spices complementing my spicy prawns. The panir tikka was crispy outside and fluffy inside, just as I like it. Husband chose chicken tikka masala (£7.70) and a plain naan (£1.80. I tried some of his chicken and sauce and found it quite a revelation. Every mouthful was to be savoured. The chicken was moist and tender and the sauce was silky and creamy without being cloying, and redolent with coconut and subtle spices – definitely a dish to lift the spirits. The accompanying naan was fluffy and light. There just wasn’t anything about this meal to fault.

After the meal, we talked to owners – Roly and Julz, both Brummies with Bangaldeshi family origins who have spent their lives in the restaurant business and share a passion and a vision for the best dining experience. Chef Julz has developed his own style of cuisine which he describes as innovative approaches to authentic and traditional food.

He presents rich and flavoursome dishes, cooked with mustard oil or rapeseed oil. He comments “We have gone back to our roots for dishes such as Bengal tilapia, which is a firm favourite in Bangladesh. We roast and grind all of our spices which makes our dishes intensely fragrant, to add to the pleasure of the food.”

“In our cooking, you can really taste the different fragrances and flavours.

We put a lot of emphasis on aromatics to make sure you can smell as well as taste the cardamom, the cinnamon and the bayleaves. We have also created something new in terms of fusion dishes such as our sizzling Tawa stir fry with spring onion and a hint of tamarind and chilli.”

In creating the Purnima experience, Roly and Julz have set out to get every aspect of the dining experience right – taste, smell, sound, light, environment. Roly also wants to keep his customers’ tastebuds on their toes (so to speak!) by making the chef’s recommendations section of the menu something which will change and be refreshed a couple of times a year, which will give the customers who come in regularly something new to try. He is confident that once the customers become familiar with Purnima and know they can trust the food always to be of the highest standard and quality, they will trust their recommendations as well.

From our own experience that evening, we felt he had indeed achieved a feast for all the senses. We will be back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank domingaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purnima also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Purnima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing