We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”
Review of Restaurant VMF - CLOSED

Restaurant VMF
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In October 2010, Aston Villa Football Club launched a new training restaurant concept, Restaurant VMF. Our restaurant offers a totally unique dining experience - award-winning food, with spectacular views of the Villa Park pitch. Set in the luxurious surroundings of the Directors Suite, relax in Restaurant VMF and sample our delicious menu, offering locally-sourced dishes which have been cooked and served by our VMF apprentices. In fact, some of the produce used travels from our very own allotment plot, just half a mile away from Villa Park. The allotment is another way the club works with the local community, with young people at the heart of this project. In conjunction with Roots and Renewal, young people grow the produce on an allotment which is now larger than a football pitch! Not only that, our own Aston Villa bees produce honey on the allotment site which is also used in our recipes within Restaurant VMF. In January 2015 Restaurant VMF was proud to be awarded a 2 star rating by the Sustainable Restaurant Association.
hereford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Best priced top quality resturant in Birmingham. Staff as good as ever, food out of this world . Always a warm welcome, excellent setting even if dont like football give this place a try.
If they got it this right on the pitch they would be in the champions league.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mel_lan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole E, Manager at Restaurant VMF, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review featured on Trip Advisor. We're delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience at Restaurant VMF and very much hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    38
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Anniversary to remember”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We decided to have an anniversary to remember and we have it. It was superb i must admit the whole tour was delightful, our tour guild was so informative. She was so enthusiastic, it showed how much she loved her job, she was polite and sincere, and didn't rush me. Which was nice because i'm disabled and slower than others. I highly recommend this tour to anyone. My sister in law came from wales to join us for the day. and she was absolutely delighted, she has been on a few tour's with other groups at other grounds. But she said this was the best so well done you.And to round our day off a superb meal and a complimentary glass of champagne, couldn't ask for more WELL DONE EVERYONE

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susieq162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole E, Manager at Restaurant VMF, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review featured on Trip Advisor. We're delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience at Restaurant VMF and very much hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent VMF”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I just adore this place. Been a good 15 times now, taken many of my friends and family and I know once they have been, they keep going back also. I have even told a few who didn't know whether to try it out or not, that if they didn't enjoy it, I'd pay their bill. I've not had a bill yet.

VMF is a wonderful concept in a very relaxed atmosphere and they serve top class food without it being 'stuffy' or intimidating. Well worth a try, trust me, as a frequent flyer, you'll love it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JPFear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole E, Manager at Restaurant VMF, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thanks you so much for your very kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Restaurant VMF and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Nicole Evans
Venue Sales Manager
Aston Villa Football Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“French Evening”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

An absolutely fantastic french meal. We have attended other speciality nights but this tops the others! The meal consisted of a beautiful seafood dish in pastry; cauliflower based soup; beef bourguignon; apple/plum tart followed by coffee and truffles. Superb price at £24.95. Roll on the next one....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole E, Manager at Restaurant VMF, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review featured on Trip Advisor. We're delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience at Restaurant VMF and very much hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Try this!”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

VMF is Aston Villa's training restaurant based at Villa Park, which employs local youngsters as apprentices and sources all the food from local suppliers. However, if you forget about the worthiness of the project, and the idea of going to a restaurant at a football ground, then VMF stands on its own two feet as a result of the fantastic food, stunning location and amazing value. Parking is easy and plentiful at Villa Park, a couple of miles outside the city centre, and the restaurant is located in one of the beautifully set out hospitality areas that overlooks the pitch.
A 3 course meal costs less than £25 - I don't think there is better value in all of the city - but the food is as tasty and as well presented as you'd expect to find somewhere costing 4 times as much. The menu has a nice range of options and some great wines to go with the food, and the atmosphere in the restaurant is great, as you can see how hard the apprentices are working and trying to make everything perfect for the guests.
If you're a Villa fan then this is a must try, as it's amazing to see the stadium at night outside of a matchday. If you follow another team or don't like football then go just for the food and the experience - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulandJane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole E, Manager at Restaurant VMF, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review featured on Trip Advisor. We're delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience at Restaurant VMF and very much hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant VMF also viewed

Sheldon, Birmingham
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing