We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience all round”
Review of Restaurant VMF - CLOSED

Restaurant VMF
Price range: US$28 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In October 2010, Aston Villa Football Club launched a new training restaurant concept, Restaurant VMF. Our restaurant offers a totally unique dining experience - award-winning food, with spectacular views of the Villa Park pitch. Set in the luxurious surroundings of the Directors Suite, relax in Restaurant VMF and sample our delicious menu, offering locally-sourced dishes which have been cooked and served by our VMF apprentices. In fact, some of the produce used travels from our very own allotment plot, just half a mile away from Villa Park. The allotment is another way the club works with the local community, with young people at the heart of this project. In conjunction with Roots and Renewal, young people grow the produce on an allotment which is now larger than a football pitch! Not only that, our own Aston Villa bees produce honey on the allotment site which is also used in our recipes within Restaurant VMF. In January 2015 Restaurant VMF was proud to be awarded a 2 star rating by the Sustainable Restaurant Association.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience all round”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The service was attentive but not at all intrusive and our waiter, Abdul, came round to me a couple of times when I kept changing my mind about dessert (the lemon tart is delicious). He was also knowledgeable about the wines. The food was excellent, as always, and the amuse bouche and pre dessert were a welcome surprise. A great evening out and very good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyBooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    38
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

A really great night out with friends. Set menu @ 19.95 represents great value. Had fish cakes followed by sea bass Indian style. Delicious dessert of carrot cheesecake & doughnut. With drinks & coffee still only £50 per couple.
Definitely will go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrisleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
1 review
“Faultless”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Have just paid a visit to VMF restaurant for a birthday celebration and what a pleasant experience it was. The food was first class standard, could not fault it, the service was good from the students who were polite and professional - certainly great value, couldn't even finish eating my dessert which is a first after the first two courses I was full. Will definitely be paying another visit! Very impressed indeed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You would definitely surprise some one if you took them here!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Restaurant VMF is a fine dining, training restaurant, using locally sourced food at very reasonable prices.

First thoughts from the outside, not very impressive. You have to walk through the Villa Park gates at the Trinity road entrance. At the Trinity reception take the lift to the 2nd floor. (that's where the disappointment ends).

When you step off the lift & into the corridor, it's like walking into a top class restaurant.

The corridor has dark wooden floors, large windows which allow plenty of light, spot lights on the ceiling. The walls are White but not clinical, more of a clean, modern, classy look. This decor follows through to the restaurant. Where you will be greeted by the waiting staff.

On Saturday 15th June, 5 of us made reservations for dinner at 7pm.

We were treated very well & asked whether we would like cocktails before dinner. These Martini cocktails were gorgeous at £7.50 each.

After drinks, we proceeded to our table. Fantastic view over the football pitch. The tables were set beautifully with pure White table cloths & linen napkins to match

Good choice of food, everyone enjoyed their meals see photos. Excellent value for money @ £20 for a 3 course a la carte meal.

You would definitely suprise someone if you took them here. Some where different & at the same time helping the young local community. Fantastic idea!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoMurphy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really great experience”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Spent our anniversary dinner here and we were not disappointed. Having read reviews on this site decided to give it a go.

Booking and welcome we're excellent, very friendly.

Food was top class, great value.

Service was attentive but not claustrophobic. The waiters were young and really made every effort to help.

Only critique is the tvs in the corner of the room which we presumed would be for match days, maybe they could turn these off?

A thoroughly great experience and terrific value. Would wholeheartedly recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bok187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant VMF also viewed

Sheldon, Birmingham
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing