We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing establishment”
Review of Bacchus Bar

Bacchus Bar
Ranked #130 of 2,249 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: You will find Bacchus Bar in Birmingham within a short stroll of Birmingham New Street Station, Navigation Street and Lower Temple Street - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.Bacchus Bar is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing establishment”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This restaurant in incredible.
The decor is unusual and beautiful, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is scrumptious. I will definitely be visiting this establishment again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    224
    66
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of my favourite bars”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Absolutely love this place.
The decor is amazing and the staff very polite and friendly.
Finally had a meal there for the first time last weekend and the food was prompt, very reasonably priced and delicious.
Try to get around to here whenever I'm in Birmingham - well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceFace_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pre concert dinner”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

What a hidden gem. Beautiful unusual surroundings and we used voucher cloud to get 20% off of our bill. I totally recommend the lamb cutlets. Absolutely wonderful. Lovely staff too. Drinks expensive but you pay for the surroundings and I think that it's worth it. Will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank clairereds
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Friday lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an exellent restaurant/bar and the food was delicious (as was the wine). I had the pulled pork burger with chips which was very flavour some. Wouldn't hesitate to go back although would recommend you book a table as it does get quite busy.

When booking request a table in the restaurant as opposed to the bar as it is a lot lighter.

Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLK3PUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of my favourite bars”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is without a doubt one of my favourite bars in Birmingham, cosy atmosphere, always welcoming and lovely staff and good prices too!

The bar food is incredible and good for a snack - I haven't tried the actual restaurant however.

Beware though it can get extremely busy and if it is that busy it might be best to avoid - no where to sit or move and it takes away from the charm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Confusedbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacchus Bar also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Bacchus Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing