We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”
Review of Chaophraya

Chaophraya
Ranked #77 of 2,220 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$65
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Positioned on Spiceal Street at the heart of the Bullring, Chaophraya Birmingham is one of the city's most popular eateries - day or night. Set over two floors with an extensive alfresco terrace and spectacular Thai interior, Chaophraya offers a wonderful array of authentic dishes prepared for all to see in the open kitchen.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It looks like a great place inside and out. However a table that was only big enough for two was given to a group of 4 of us. When the food came out, we were so cramped there was barely enough room to have the plates and drinks on the table. The waitress then knocked my drink which ended up in my food that tasted horrible before the beer was added. I was then charged for what was a complimentary beer. I tried to argue this but the lady was saying it wasn't complimentary and that the confusions was because her English wasn't that good. Will not be retuning to this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HSMotay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaophrayaBirmingham, Manager at Chaophraya, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Sawasdee Krub(Hello), HSmotay

We are really sorry to hear about this, due to the date of the problem, we cannot assess this situation properly as we haven't heard of the problem.
Our staff have changed in the past year, if you have any problem in the future, please tell us at the time so we can fix any issues and make you happy before you leave.

Khop Khun Krub(Thank you),
Chaophraya Birmingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    352
    137
    66
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal in Birmingham”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Liked the fact I could book online. Was a lovely warm evening so sat outside on the upstairs balcony which was very pleasant. Food excellent, very tasty. Enjoyed the non-alcoholic cocktails very much, very refreshing. Would recommend but would warn it is quite pricey.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekahcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaophrayaBirmingham, Supervisor/Reception at Chaophraya, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Sawasdee Krub(Hello), Rebekahcat.

Thank you for your review.
We're glad you enjoyed your meal on our balcony, the weather is just perfect to relax, especially with the nice view above everyone.
We hope to see you soon.

Khop Khun Krub(Thank you),
Chaophraya Birmingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding Thai Experience”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Like a previous reviewer there's not much to say - just outstanding food served by superb friendly staff in a great restaurant environment. Our first time there but definitely not the last!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaophrayaBirmingham, Supervisor/Reception at Chaophraya, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Sawasdee Krub(Hello), AlanJM

Thank you for your time to write us this kind 5* review,
we hope to have given you an experience of our Thai
cuisine and hospitality.
We hope to see you again soon.

Khop Khun Krub(Thank you),
Chaophraya Birmingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Food not quite as good as the interior”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This restaurant looks amazing from the outside and even better once inside - it really is impressive, very much a destination restaurant to impress a date or a business contact. Service was also very good, from waiters who appear to be Thai themselves. Given the surroundings, you have high expectations of the food, and both of us thought it didn't quite live up to five star standards, although still good. I had duck curry - a first for me - which was flavoursome, but the duck meat itself was rather fatty and did not seem good quality. I would say that I have had better Thai meals in the past. Still, I wouldn't say no to eating here again if in Brum.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaophrayaBirmingham, Supervisor/Reception at Chaophraya, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Sawasdee Krub(Hello), sfuhere

Thank you for your time to write this 4* review.
We'd like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the restaurant and our hospitality.
We are sorry about your meal, maybe next time we can impress you enough to give us a 5* rating.

Khop Khun Krub(Thank you),
Chaophraya Birmingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant service and lovely food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This will be short and sweet.. Eat here. Service was excellent, food was superb.. you have facilities, drinks and a relaxed atmosphere. Just do it..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacquimass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaophrayaBirmingham, Supervisor/Reception at Chaophraya, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Sawasdee Krub(Hello), jacquimass

Thank your for your time to write this 5* review.
We hope to have given you an experience of Thai cuisine and hospitality,
and we will carry on doing so.
We hope to see you again soon.

Khop Khun Krub(Thank you),
Chaophraya Birmingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaophraya also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Chaophraya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing