We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Chaophraya

Chaophraya
Ranked #80 of 2,321 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$67
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Positioned on Spiceal Street at the heart of the Bullring, Chaophraya Birmingham is one of the city's most popular eateries - day or night. Set over two floors with an extensive alfresco terrace and spectacular Thai interior, Chaophraya offers a wonderful array of authentic dishes prepared for all to see in the open kitchen.
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went there last night without booking ahead and were lucky that they had just had a cancellation. Food was fantastic and the staff were efficient and friendly. Everywhere beautifully clean as well. Great meal washed down with a lovely bottle of Montepulciano. Will not be our last visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidPKelly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaophrayaBirmingham, Manager at Chaophraya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Sawasdee Krub (Hello), DavidPKelly2014

Thank you for your time to write this review.
The team would like to send a thank you to your kind comments regarding the food,
and service, and we hope to see you again soon.

Khop Khun Krub (Thank you),
Chaophraya Birmingham Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 757 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Food and service were excellent! Nice atmosphere in a nice setting in birmigham! This was our second visit, will definetly be going again! If you like Thai food, you'll like it here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juju39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaophrayaBirmingham, Manager at Chaophraya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Sawasdee Krub (Hello), Juju39

Thank you for your time to write this review.
Your kind comments have been passed on to the staff and kitchen
and we look forward to see you next time.

Khop Khun Krub (Thank you),
Chaophraya Birmingham Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We are very annoyed about the service that they are not accepting two gourmet society cards on a booking for four people. The 2 for 1 offer was the main reason for trying.
Other than that the food was of good standard but a little on the expensive side. Would only recommended if the price was a little more reasonable.

2  Thank Shan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaophrayaBirmingham, Manager at Chaophraya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Sawasdee Krub(Hello), Shan C

We are sorry you are annoyed at the service. Usually, when you want to use a gourmet card offer,
you must book atleast 24 hours in advance and state that you have two gourmet cards, and show both cards on arrival, by the policy, you must order atleast two courses for one party.

Khop Khun Krub(Thank you),
Chaophraya Birmingham Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best Thai we have ever had! We ordered satay chicken sticks and chicken spring rolls for entree and had the prawn red curry and masaman lamb curry with steamed rice for main. Such delicious food, we will definitely go back again before we leave!

1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaophrayaBirmingham, Manager at Chaophraya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Sawasdee Krub (Hello), Sarah B

Thank you for your time to write this review.
I'd just like to say your food choices were great, as the Massaman curry is one of my favourite's and also it is one of the chef's signature dishes.
Your kind comments have been passed on to the chefs and we look forward seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It looks like a great place inside and out. However a table that was only big enough for two was given to a group of 4 of us. When the food came out, we were so cramped there was barely enough room to have the plates and drinks on the table. The waitress then knocked my drink which ended up in my food that tasted horrible before the beer was added. I was then charged for what was a complimentary beer. I tried to argue this but the lady was saying it wasn't complimentary and that the confusions was because her English wasn't that good. Will not be retuning to this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HSMotay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaophrayaBirmingham, Manager at Chaophraya, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Sawasdee Krub(Hello), HSmotay

We are really sorry to hear about this, due to the date of the problem, we cannot assess this situation properly as we haven't heard of the problem.
Our staff have changed in the past year, if you have any problem in the future, please tell us at the time so we can fix any issues and make you happy before you leave.

Khop Khun Krub(Thank you),
Chaophraya Birmingham Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaophraya also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Chaophraya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing