We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Saleem's - CLOSED

Saleem's
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Thought we would try an authentic balti from the balti triangle area as comes highly recommended, my king prawn balti was reasonable in taste but very small portion and pricey for size, 3 out of 5 of our group were shocked and described it as tasteless stew, 2 of our curries looked watered down ,tasted bland all small portions and 1 only had 5 small pieces of chicken , unexpected disappointment as when asked where to go on ladypool road , saleems was recommended, we did arrive early about 6.15 pm , looking at other reviews wandering if we were unlucky with one off bad food but will not return to find out , will stick with our locals many superior in stirchley .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisalatifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    1
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Friendly Service”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had planned to eat lunch at Saleem's on our way home from a weekend break in Birmingham as we'd never had a true Balti, but the weather and an all you can eat Premier Inn breakfast changed our plans. Not wishing to miss out, we popped in to pick up a takeaway to eat later and found Saleem's a very friendly place. Whilst waiting for our order we were offered a cup of tea and were entertained by Saleem's knowledge of asian cooking, which he shared enthusiastically, even letting us see the tandoor oven as I have a small home one. The food? Delicious!!! We had the meat Balti, the Chicken and Chick Pea Balti and a Prawn Balti - each one had a unique flavour and you could taste the different layers and complexity as Saleem had described. Veg Samosas awesome and super Naans. Will be making the trip north again and will definitely visit Saleem's for a delicious balti again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the very first and one of the best”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Saleem's is one of the very first Birmingham Balti restaurants dating back to the 1970's and run by the same family to this day. It is probably The most traditional of all those in the triangle and has kept to the core principals of Balti, great food at a great price in simple, clean, understated surroundings. Don't be fooled by the neon signs and fancy interiors of others nearby, this is the real thing and I highly recommend you give it a try. Where else could you get a hearty three course meal served with a smile for £10?!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brums Best Balti?”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We are currently working our way through all of the restaurants in the Balti Triangle, marking each against our unique criteria to add some spice to the venture! Saleem's has been a favourite for many years and is currently just edging out Diwan. 13 of the balti houses have been visited so far, so happily for my taste-buds there is plenty of time for them to be overtaken. My only word of caution is that they are now slightly more pricey than some of their competitors and that is a risky strategy with fierce competition and cash strapped customers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in a Friendly Atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stopped in here on our first night in Birmingham for our very first Balti. It was delicious! Friendly atmosphere. Had a nice talk with the owner about different regions of Pakistan.

If I could offer a constructive criticism, it would be to make it easier for someone who has never had a balti to order one. There seem to be a bezillion different configurations, like on a Chinese menu. When I said we were there for our first balti and we liked everything from spicy food to mutton, the owner could have answered with, "Then I suggest you try X or Y" instead of making us figure out what to ask for. It's very hard to know what to ask for when you only have a vague idea of what it is. In the end, I had mutton and okra. For me, that turns out to have been a good choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JedJ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saleem's also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Smethwick, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing