We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love you Saleem”
Review of Saleem's - CLOSED

Saleem's
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I love you Saleem”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My stars are based on my expectations. If it is better than expected 4 stars. You really have to blow me away to get 5. I have frequented to Saleems for 13 years. Every time it's like a home coming. It is not gastronomical. It is good home food.
You are solid through this years. A well deserved 3 stars although in my heart it's 5

Helpful?
Thank Kobus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    1
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Closing down - No!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Popped in recently for my normal chicken and dall curry takeaway only to be informed by Saleem that Saleems is closing down for good in the next few weeks. This is a disaster.
I have been visting since the mid 80's and its my favourite place in Birmingham - full stop.
I'm sure everyone who knows this place will be devastated too.
If there is no way to stop this then I suggest anyone who reads this review pass thge news on so that all fans of Saleems make sure they make a final visit (or 3).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brendan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Sunday breakfast to be had...”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Shan't something a little different for sundy breakfast? Then Saleems has got the best chickpea dahl with accompaniments, blend with a nice masala chi and your set up for the rest of the day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“the best keema pea curry you will ever eat”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I visit saleems to have the keema pea curry with a Nan bread. It's the best you will ever taste. So tasty, spicy, everything a keema pea should be. Also the starters are to die for. Pleasant basic environment but who needs all the fancy trimmings when you have the best keema pea in Birmingham. Also a vast assortment of sweets available. Please try this place I'm 100% you won't be disappointed

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank podeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Thought we would try an authentic balti from the balti triangle area as comes highly recommended, my king prawn balti was reasonable in taste but very small portion and pricey for size, 3 out of 5 of our group were shocked and described it as tasteless stew, 2 of our curries looked watered down ,tasted bland all small portions and 1 only had 5 small pieces of chicken , unexpected disappointment as when asked where to go on ladypool road , saleems was recommended, we did arrive early about 6.15 pm , looking at other reviews wandering if we were unlucky with one off bad food but will not return to find out , will stick with our locals many superior in stirchley .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisalatifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saleem's also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Smethwick, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing