We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, beer, place, music, people”

The Rose Villa Tavern
Ranked #204 of 2,514 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A beautiful grande 2 listed building in the heart of Birmingham's Jewellery Quarter. Join us for lunch or dinner from our American Diner Style menu and partake in a tipple or two from our hand crafted cocktail menu. We're also proud to serve cask ales and always happy to spend time talking about them with you to find your perfect drink! Our upstairs room is free to hire and can hold over 100 people. See you soon!
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I'm sitting here more drunk than when I stated. This is brownie point number 1. I was expecting more than a Weatherspoons, and am pleased to say it is much much more.
There it's a good selection of beers, with guest ales that are changed frequently, and incorporate a few local tempters.
The food was also great, having had a classic burger with Haloumi and fries. Probably the best pub burger I've ever had for £8.
Don't get me wrong, don't come here for Valentines, but if you want a great pub, with good beer, food, a decent soundtrack, quirky with a red phone box in the corner then this is the place to come.
The service was good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kakaybara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at The Rose Villa Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Hello kakaybara,

Apologies for the delay in saying thank you for your review.
You have covered most bases of what we do and I'm glad to see you enjoyed them so much.

Hope we'll see you again soon,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 352 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We were attending a conference in the New Bingley Hall and looking for somewhere to have lunch each day. The food was so good that we returned every day for three days. Really well executed creative food that was really tasty. My favourite was a lamb flatbread that was wrapped with a lovely minty sauce - looks like a pub from the outside - but executes the food more at quality bistro level - with reasonable price

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AndrewDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at The Rose Villa Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Hello AndrewDublin,

Apologies for the delay in replying to your review.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, 3 days in a row is really saying something!

I hope next time you are in Brum, you call in to see us again.

Kind regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The RVT as we now know it in our house, is how pubs should be done. Our last visit was twice on Saturday night, before and after having a meal in St Paul's Square. Good beers, and excellent cocktails, busy but not crowded, funky and dark later on. We have had brunch and burgers over the past couple of months here as well, and the food is just lip-smackingly good, with friendly service. Thank you RVT and all your sister (brother ?) establishments. You have pulled Birmingham's socks up for being a good place to drink, and inspired others to do the same. If this was our local we would never cook again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank minksandcrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at The Rose Villa Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Hello minksandcrispy

Thank you for such a glowing review of our venue. Most of what you say is what we endeavour to offer to our guests so it's great to hear it when we achieve it! We are very proud to be part of the Bitters n' Twisted family with our sister (we call them sister venues, not thought of them as brothers before!) venues to offer Brum a decent choice when it comes to a night out or a humble pint in your local - even if it's 5 miles away!
We hope to see you soon for more.

Thank you,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Rose Villa Tavern is a beautiful old pub with a wonderful tiled interior and some quirky decor. The food was generous, well executed and delicious. Real ales and cocktails were on offer - something to suit all tastes. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ERFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Public Relations Manager at The Rose Villa Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Hello ERFW,

Thank you for your review of The Rose Villa Tavern. We are very proud of what we do here, so thank you for taking the time to let Trip Advisor know how well your experience went.
We hope to see you soon,

Vicky, RVT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at The Rose Villa Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose Villa Tavern also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Rose Villa Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing