We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

The Rose Villa Tavern
Ranked #195 of 2,666 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A beautiful grande 2 listed building in the heart of Birmingham's Jewellery Quarter. Join us for lunch or dinner from our American Diner Style menu and partake in a tipple or two from our hand crafted cocktail menu. We're also proud to serve cask ales and always happy to spend time talking about them with you to find your perfect drink! Our upstairs room is free to hire and can hold over 100 people. See you soon!
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

This very traditional pub in the Jewellery quarter seemed ideal for a pub lunch, the service was good but things have changed from three years ago, we chose meat loaf which did not match the menu description, very bland and the crunchy green beans were raw and stringy, mash was ok, but overall rather expensive at just under £10.

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank colin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at The Rose Villa Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Hi colin o
Thank you for giving us a try and for the helpful comments.
We’re sorry to hear that we didn’t meet up to you expectations on this occasion.
It’s a shame this wasn’t mentioned at the time as our friendly staff would have been more than happy to whip you up something new or suggest an alternative.
We hope this hasn’t put you off visiting us again and hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 226 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

A group of friends arranged to meet here after work on a Wednesday to take advantage of the 2 burgers for £10. I'm not a great fan of burgers at the best of times, but everyone was having the special deal so I joined in...
Delicious burger, yummy bun, crispy chips all washed down with lashings of Titanic stout mmmm mmmm mmmmmmm!

Lovely little pub with amazing original titles and stained glass, thoroughly delightful staff and service. Would definitely come back to this cool, hip and happening place!

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 60wattsmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at The Rose Villa Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Hi 60wattsmax
Thank you for checking us out and for the lovely comments.
Glad to hear we’ve swayed you on the burger front!
Hope you’ll be back for more soon.
Kind Regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

This place is definitely a destination if you like a good drink, a friendly barman and classic English city pub surroundings! We arrived and propped up the bar, hair of the dog, the barman was great and really knew his beers and spirits. We ended up on bourbon and he did a great job of recommending a whisky flavoured vodka, pretty incredible taste - must have been to get me drinking vodka!
Warm welcome, great atmosphere, we were there on a Saturday afternoon. Well priced drinks and the food smelt great, unfortunately we didn't sample anything. Check out the original red phone box in the corner!

If you're a whisky lover I highly recommend popping down the road to Hard to Find whisky too!!

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rainingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at The Rose Villa Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Hi Rainingmonkey,
Thanks for popping down and for the great review- brilliant to hear you had a great time with us and liked the drinks selection!
Please do come back and try out the food menu- we think you’ll love it!
Kind Regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We visited for a drink and to have a meal, tried to order a Tia Maria and Coke - not available. Baileys? Not available. Frangelico - no. Barman made no effort to engage with us, we almost felt we were wasting his time by asking for a drink. A group of men were propped up at the bar, one was extremely drunk and falling about bumping into customers and spilling their drinks - it was only 6.15pm. Barman was spectacularly indifferent. Found a table to read the menu, but both the table and the menu were so sticky it turned my stomach. Serious cleaning needed. Ladies loo also left a lot to be desired. Decided against ordering any food and left.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Service
1  Thank poorbuthappy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at The Rose Villa Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Hi poorbuthappy10,

Thank you for checking us out and for the helpful feedback. Very sorry to hear that the service wasn’t up to scratch on this occasion and that you were put off ordering food.
Rest assured your comments have been taken on board and we do hope you are able to give us another try soon.
Kind Regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

Popped into this amazing building with my boyfriend Enrico as we were in the area looking at Jewellery. Only planned on staying here for one drink but after meeting the shaggy haired gent behind the bar, it was quite hard to leave! As well as being a bit dishy he was extremely friendly, attentive and could shake a cocktail too ;) We stayed for food, I opted for a chorizo salad and my boyfriend had the burger. The young Indian girl that served us was super nice! The food was to die for! We also had a round of drinks served by the Polish guy with the Goatie. They were grand! No complaints at all and we will definitely be coming back if we are in the area! Good job guys, keep up the good work!

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Gaybae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at The Rose Villa Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Hi Gaybae
Thanks for checking us out and for the great feedback. Awesome to hear you had such a good time with us and you enjoyed our service!
Really hope you’ll be back again soon to try out more of what we have to offer.
Kind Regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose Villa Tavern also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Rose Villa Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing