We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Hints of past glory; value for money!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"Hints of past glory; value for money!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

The Eaton Hotel was easy to find as we approached the city by car; parking was close by and free of charge. Enthusiastic and friendly staff allocated us a spacious room at the rear of the hotel where it was very quiet. An Italian gentleman at the reception desk was very pleasant and helpful. With a unique architectural style and stylish decor this place is a relic of Birmingham's glorious past. The beautiful breakfast room could grace a much more expensive establishment.
We caught the bus at the door into the city and spent an afternoon exploring the fascinating array of attractions on offer.The Bullring Shopping Centre is amazing and the Barber Institute, a small world class art gallery in the grounds of Birmingham Uni, shouldn't be missed. We ate at the Barajee Indian Restaurant, close to the hotel with it's lovely decor, delicious food and views over the canal and city beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid the traffic noise from Hagley Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mermaid277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    172
    41
    14
    6
See reviews for
97
206
36
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I have stayed at the Eaton Hotel on many occasions, both prior to it being refurbished and also since the extensive overhaul that the hotel has undergone.
It is a medium sized family run hotel and all the rooms are comfortable, modern, spacious, well equipped and most of all, spotless.
The staff are brilliant and very helpful and the food in the restaurant, both breakfast and dinner is superb. I have stayed in the family rooms with my kids and also in the double rooms on other visits and I have never been let down. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dghiglieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My wife and I and 14 month old baby stayed 2 nights. The room was comfortable and quiet. We ate at the restaurant and were impressed with the 3 courses we had and the friendly service. Breakfast was also very good. Nice place and good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed at the hotel as a base for a wedding at another location in Birmingham.
They let us get changed for the wedding in our room on arrival mid morning as the room had not been used the night before.
Great nights sleep and a wonderful cooked breakfast. Will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larson200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Only a short stay for a friends wedding that was in the adjoiing function suite. An easy checkin sent us a to a spacious, clean and modern room. Free wireless, good bathroom and shower and comfy bed.

Breakfast was hectic, but most poeple arrived just before it closed as it was a late night.. When it arrived the food was very good and everything as it should be.
Very good value for money when you consider, it's only slightly more than a travel lodge etc.

Safe choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Tr8vel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here as part of a family trip to see the Test Cricket. I was really happy with my choice of this hotel.

1) The reception team re extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. When we arrived in the morning, Moonie the receptionist made a special effort to help by giving us all our room keys and paperwork, even thought the rooms were not ready, so we could drop our bags and leave for the cricket. She said she didn't want us to have to wait when we got back in the evening, so nice! Natalie was on reception after that and was also very friendly and helpful, recommending their restaurant when we decided not to go into town due to the riots that were happening in the center that night.

2) The local area is very attractive. Restaurants nearby and lots of large Victorian villas. Taxis to the town center for about £7.

3) The restaurant is great, quite old fashioned with silver service etc but excellent food and very professional staff who can do Steak Diane etc at tableside. The woman in charge is very good.

4) Breakfast is also very good. Small buffet with nice fruits, cereals, meats, etc and cooked breakfast like full English, kippers etc is brought to the table. Quick service as well. The blond girl is very nice but I didn't get her name.

5) Rooms are extremely clean, bathrooms can't be more than a few months old really! Flat screen tvs, comp wifi, everything you could need is there (apart from fridges).

6) Housekeeping is very efficient, you don't really see them, but everything is done, and their boss must be a clean freak because I didn't see a spot anywhere.

7) Public ares are very modern, the restaurant is a bit more old fashioned but still nice, and there is a lovey terrace outside with both smoking and non-smoking seating areas.

Overall a great hotel, I thought it was worth a good deal more than the £70 bb we paid.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahjanelowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I have stayed only once at the Eaton but have hosted lots of business meetings here and I've always been impressed with the service and facilities.
This is a modern and clean, almost home from home type establishment. Not too large or too corporate to be ignored, rather small and cosy with all the mod cons.
Rooms are well equipped with modern furniture and fittings, lovely white linen and flat screen TV etc. Bathroom excellent - power shower, spotlessly clean.
I particularly liked breakfast which was made to order and included items such as smoked haddock with poached eggs - quite rare to see this in the smaller hotels.
All in all they are doing a fantastic job - well priced rooms and just a 10 minute £8 taxi from B'ham New St station.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeystar861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing