We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent time, made staying away from home a pleasure, should be ranked number 1 out of 137 hotels in Birmingham!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent time, made staying away from home a pleasure, should be ranked number 1 out of 137 hotels in Birmingham!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

I have just got home from a six night stay at this hotel, they truly did make staying away on business a more pleasurable experience. Could not find fault, from the time I arrived till the time I left. Rooms were large, comfortable, everything you needed was in the room, luxury bathroom. I ate in the restaurant and the food was outstanding combined with excellent value for money.
A huge thank you to To all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theghostbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    172
    41
    14
    6
See reviews for
97
206
36
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now when visiting my daughter at Birmingham University. It is only a 10 minute drive away from the campus and student digs area [you need to get to know the route though] and has the advantge of free and secure car parking. On the occassions we want to go into Birmingham we usually get the bus into town [stop just outside] and a taxi back.

Whilst it is not a luxury hotel, it is perfecly adequate and extremely good value for money. The rooms are standard hotel rooms with good quality bathrooms. I have always asked for and been given a quiet room at the back of the hotel and even though a light sleeper have had a good nights sleep.

I have only eaten an evening meal once at the hotel and althought the menu is pretty standard, perahps a little dated, the quality was very good. The breakfasts are fine, with the usual hotel fare.

what makes this hotel though is the extremelly friendly and helpful staff - far more than the usual corporate personnel. So we continue to stay at the Eaton because of its location, friendly staff and feel and because it is a place where you can get a good nights sleep at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaby186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed hear on 11/01/2013 it was our second time hear and just as good as the first time service was good room was very clean tv and Wifi brilliant!!!. We had a meal at night food was exellent, was was helpfull and gave a high standard of service the guy that sat at out out table i think had very good people skills, the weighter was also good at his job!! breakgest was alos very good lots to choose from would stay hear again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle under Lyme
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Just a one night stay in this lovely hotel, but would not hesitate to return.. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The food was excellent with a huge choice for dinner and breakfast. I booked a twin room, which was huge and modern with two enormous beds which were very comfortable. All in all a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting the German market. Hotel was very clean and the staff very polite. We had a room right at the top and it was very quiet. Breakfast was beautiful and plenty of fresh fruit available. It is a fair way out of town but there are plenty of buses outside although we decided to get a taxi. The plus side for us was the free parking. Trying to get a central hotel and parking is far too much hassle! We would definately recommend and gladly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westhaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalunya
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

What a pleasant change to find a well-managed, independent hotel with good food in a major city! However, please note that you will need a car or to use public transport to reach the centre of Birmingham from this hotel. But also note that there is ample free parking at the hotel, which is a great plus.
The rear bedrooms are comfortable, well-equipped and of satisfactory size. But as always their quietness depends very much on the noise levels from adjoining rooms. During our 5 night stay, telephone and television sound from the rooms on either side were at times a little intrusive.
The hotel has a really excellent restaurant. The menu is varied, comprehensive and excellently prepared from fresh ingredients, and the service is impeccable and friendly. So don't rush to go into Birmingham or elsewhere to eat, except on a Sunday evening when the hotel restaurant is closed.
Shop around the web and contact the hotel direct to find the best room rates which pleasingly include a good buffet breakfast.
The owner has a hands-on role in managing the hotel and I heartily recommend it for either a business or leisure stay within three miles of Birmingham city centre.

Room Tip: Rear rooms should be quieter since the hotels faces a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritter-Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We have used this hotel a few times. We have enjoyed attending functions as well as staying over. I believe it is a family run business and it offers very good value. It is situated in a smart suburb of Birmingham (a couple of miles from centre) on the busy Hagley Road. It has quite a large frontage but is easy to miss when negotiating heavy traffic. It has the appearance of a smart, long established building but has received some extensive refurbishment such that the downstairs reception, dining and function rooms have a 'classic' feel whilst the bedrooms we have used have had a recent, modern make-over and are very smart. On January 16th., 2013, we were caught out in extreme weather conditions and stayed overnight employing it as a refuge. Many of the guests, who had booked the hotel, had cancelled because of the weather and I suspect most of the staff had been allowed home for similar reasons. Nevertheless, we were made welcome and received excellent restaurant and bar service from Dave Bennett who appeared to be working single-handedly in these areas. We had a warm, comfortable night and the usual extensive choice of breakfast fayre (including 'full English') before leaving the next day. Although we only live 20 miles away, we have resolved to stay more often when we are on business or pleasure in Birmingham as the convenience, service and value are very attractive. Also, there is ample parking (front and rear).

Room Tip: I suspect that all the rooms are of a similar standard. We have always been allocated a rear room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddyRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing