We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

A very good value hotel, comfortable and clean, excellent breakfast. Our only minor quibble was a lack of local information such as a good city tourist map, guides etc. available at reception. Otherwise fully recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
28th March 2013

Dear rgent,

Thank you for your feeback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay overall; and will share this with the team;however, I am disappointed with your comment about local information,we do have city maps at reception, and our team are more than happy to provide you with this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    172
    41
    14
    6
See reviews for
97
206
36
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Modern smart decor and clean modern furnishings. Lovely comfy bed, very quiet. Tv, coffee facilities etc all up to scratch. Had a lovely time for short break visiting friends. Only thing to improve would be staff friendliness. Breakfast had good choice and tasted great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberts1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
28th March 2013

Dear Roberts1648,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here overall whilst visiting friends which I will share with the team. I am disappointed regarding staff friendliness, all our staff have been trained and have worked in the customer service industry for many years and always exceed guests expectations and friendliness.Please be assured that your comment will be the subject of our weekly departmental meeting to ensure any future disappointment avoided.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Needed a hotel at short notice to extend our stay in Birmingham and came across the excellent Tripadvisor reviews for the Eaton Hotel. The hotel certainly deserves the praise, spacious well appointed room, secure free wifi, on site parking and pleasant reception. We were somewhat taken aback by the restaurant, which far exceeded our expectations of a three star hotel. Well laid out and furnished, excellent menu and decent wine list – but please note; Monday to Thursday guests can enjoy a three course meal for £20 each, however this option is not available Friday to Sunday when the ‘a la carte’ menu is the only option – and three courses will set you back a lot more than £20!
Unfortunately reception had suggested that the £20 option was open to us (we were staying on a Saturday) and it was too late to seek out alternatives. The food was excellent, but we found the portions were simply too large (uncomfortably so).
The breakfast was simply excellent and the B&B rate represents good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RHMStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear RHMStirling,

Thank you for leaving feeback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had enjoyable stay with us.
I do apologies if you were told £20.00 for three course meal option was offered to you for Friday and Saturday as this is not correct, I will speak to reception team regarding this, so it can be rectified.

We are happy that you enjoyed the food here. I'm sorry if you feel the portions are too big, we get great positive feeback from our customers on how big the portions are and great quality, we serve over the last 30 years we have been running.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

If your looking for a good over night stay this is the place to go, only a 5 minute drive from broad steet and would be a nice walk into town on a good summers day. We stayed in this hotel for one night. We got a good deal on hotel.com which included breakfast, we were more than happy with this hotel.. It's very modern, friendly staff, the room was clean and tidy and more importantly the bed was comfortable. Free wifi also available and free parking. Breakfast was great and cooked to order - no buffet food. I would defiantly recommend a stay in this hotel and will return soon.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mansfield Notts C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Mansfield Notts C,

Thank you for your feed back on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are glad that you chose our hotel and that you were pleased with the location, comfortable bed, cooked Breakfast,complimentary wifi and free car parking.

I shall share your comments with the team.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at the Eaton Hotel for one night while visiting our daughter, and would recommend it, we will certainly stay here again. The staff were without exception friendly, pleasant and helpful. I had asked when booking for a room at the back away from the main road, and this was provided. Large car park, with CCTV. The room was very comfortable, the shower extremely efficient. There were some minor issues which if sorted would merit a 5 star review, and I wrote them on the feedback form when we left:
The bed was comfortable but the duvet was very lumpy, as if the duvet cover was too small. There was no bedside clock. No biscuits on the hospitality tray, and the 'glasses' provided were cheap & flimsy plastic cups, when I mentioned this at Reception we were immediately provided with glass tumblers, but I think these should be provided as standard. This isn't a cheap hotel and one expects these little touches.

We ate in the restaurant, the table d'hôte menu was substantial and we all enjoyed our meals. The a la carte menu looked wonderful but was substantially more expensive, the wine was I thought a bit overpriced, the cheapest, the house wine, was £16.95 a bottle. As my husband and daughter were drinking red wine and I wanted white, the waitress suggested a half bottle of Pinot Grigio at £10 but then returned to say it was out of stock. She suggested an alternative more expensive wine which I accepted, but I was surprised to see on the bill when we settled up next morning that I'd been charged £12.50 for it, rather than £10, a minor point but £10 was expensive enough for a half bottle of wine!

All in all a very pleasant and comfortable stay and we look forward to staying here again next time we visit Birmingham.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should ask for a room at the back, as the Hagley Road is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Anne1957,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased overall that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your request.I am disappointed with some of the issues that you experienced whilst you were here, We would of put it right, if known at the time.We do pride ourselves as a 3 star hotel offering good value for money.I feel the rate we sell @ £70.00 including full english breakfast plated and buffet,free car parking,free wifi and VAT for two persons is good price compared to other hotels in the area.
All our wines are from around the world and offer a great taste at a reasonable price, we do feel at £16.95 a bottle for house wine is a good price.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Having travelled through rain and darkness i finally arrive at the Eton Hotel. First worry over - there was plenty of parking and it seemed secure. Second worry over - a warm reception. third worry over - a great room that was obviously quiet. Fourth worry over - a good meal with two first class friendly waitresses. Back to my room and i slept like a log. Shower hot and powerful and i managed to avoid soaking the floor - just. Breakfast was again up to my demands . overall the hotel was fantastic value for money, but more important the service was friendly, the room clean and the food tasty. i would return on business or with family. Thank you

Room Tip: i am told the rooms are quieter at the back, but cannot comment as my room was at the back. The fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear AGH27,

Thank you for your feedback that you left on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a good journey. We like to pride ourselfs with our excellent customer service and offering good value for money.

Once again thank you for your comments and I shall pass onto the team.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future, business or with family.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stay on average in 3 hotels a week, varying from 3 to 5 stars. On arrival at this hotel on a busy main road in Birmingham, I was to be honest, dreading the stay. I have to say, I was however pleasantly surprised. Pleasant room, very quiet, nice beddding, with excellent shower. Breakfast was spot on and so was the dining room.

The staff were lovely. If you ever need a short stay for Birmingham, I highy reocmmend this hotel. Not pretentious, or posh, not pretending to be something it isn't just good value ! 115 the best room for quietness

Room Tip: 115 for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing