We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay so close to the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay so close to the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We booked this as we wanted somewhere to stay that would give us easy access into Birmingham the next morning. The free on site car park was a real bonus. Very easy to find the hotel without having to get tied up with all the city centre traffic. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. And a great breakfast. Exellent value for money. This was our second choice as the hotel we usually stay in, just a few doors down the road, was full for the night we needed, but we will certainly be using The Eaton for future stays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from teh main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chodzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Chodzi,

Thank you for your feeback recently left on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your breakfast. I will pass your comments onto the team and the kind words too about our team.
Yes, we offer FREE car parking to all our guests either staying overnight, attending a function or just coming in for a meal compared to other city hotels.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    177
    41
    16
    8
See reviews for
104
210
36
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north west england
Level Contributor
375 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Lots of car parking. Efficient check-in.

Room was bright, modern, well furnished and equipped (for example, a safe and free wi-fi). Found the bed a bit on the soft side for my preference.

Had dinner in the restaurant. There’s an “a la carte” menu – the hotel website makes much of them using free-range beef , pork and lamb but there’s no mention of these on the actual menu. It also seems overly long for such a comparatively small place – the sort of menu where you might conclude they buy in a goodly amount of ready prepared stuff from the catering wholesalers. However, there’s also a three course table d’hote menu at £20, including coffee, which I thought was fine for quality and pretty reasonable value for money - and that's what I ordered from.

Breakfast was good. A buffet for the “continental” stuff and orders are taken for coffee, toast and cooked items. I had the full cooked breakfast and was pleased to see that, unlike many places, they are using decent quality ingredients.

I paid £60 for a room and breakfast which I thought was excellent value for money.
I was attending a conference, as I do every year, and have stayed at a number of places along Hagley Road. I reckon this is the best so far.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Owner at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Harters,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. Unfortunately your comments and assumptions about the restaurant are made without an understanding of the Eaton Hotel and its background.

The restaurant is well known and highly regarded in the Birmingham area and we have a large number of outside non-resident guests who dine throughout the week and particularly at weekends in the A la Carte restaurant. We are known for a good menu selection, which you mention, good portion sizes and excellent quality ingredients prepared on site. Unlike many corporate chains, our dishes are prepared in our kitchens and not in catering wholesalers.

Our meat supplier is Roger Brown who is locally based and provides superb quality free range and organic British meat. He supplies various restaurants in the area including Michelin restaurants. Our beef is matured for a minimum of 28 days and details about our meat are stated on the menu and the website.

I am upset that you did not ask about our clientele, menus and food preparation during your stay, and before posting any review, as we are very proud of our restaurant and more than happy to provide information to guests in relation to our catering.

The Eaton Hotel is quite unique in Birmingham and many of our regular residents stay precisely because of the restaurant - even those with budgets that would allow them to stay in hotels that are significantly more expensive.

Yours sincerely,

Nicholas Kalavanas
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

I was prompted to stay here by a colleague who's a regular and I was delighted to have done so. I will be swapping my usual Broad Street haunts for the Eaton in future.
When the free car park and free wifi that actually works is taken into account it's cheaper than the big chains but offers a far nicer and more personal experience.
Food and service was faultless and it's apparent that people come here just to dine. Plenty of menu choices in the evening and a full english cooked to order in the morning - much better than a heatlamp buffet.
My room was large, clean and comfy with all the expect amenities; spot on.
I would definitely recommend and will be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittaniamademedoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Brittaniamademe,

Thank you for your feedback left on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The free car park, free wifi and you found the food and service was faultless. We offer all our guests good value for money and I will share your nice comments with the team.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I had read the other reviews of this hotel and was really looking forward to staying there after spending a day and a night travelling. We arrived in the evening after a few days heavy snow in the area and were shocked that no attempt had been made to clear the snow in the hotel carpark. My husband had to request a shovel from reception and roll up his sleeves and clear a way for us to park in the carpark at the back of the hotel as the small carpark at the front was full. He also cleared a parking space for an older man who was also having trouble driving through the thick snow. When we showed our shock to the man on reception at having guests clear the snow themselves he shrugged his shoulders and said we should have parked at the front.
After a very non-friendly check in, we made our way up the stairs through the run down, grubby, paint chipped walled corridors (see photos) and, exhausted, took in the surroudings of our room. It was ok, and only ok, again with grubby scuffed walls. The bathroom was nice but with very little toiletries provided: one tiny shampoo and one tiny shower gel, which was unfortunate as due to the heavy snow we had not had a chance to stop to pick up toiletry supplies on the way assuming the hotel room would be laden down with supplies. We usually have so many toiletries we end up bringing a few home to the children, not this time though. Instead of facing the man on reception again to request more we decided to ration out our teeny tiny bottles and hope for the best. On the plus, we were located in a room at the back of the hotel and therefore our room was quiet for the night.
Breakfast the next morning was the usual hotel fare: a buffet of fresh fruit, some pastries (avoid the croissants - not the usual light buttery ones, very stodgy), yogurts, jams, juices, Weetabix etc.. all very nicely laid out. The best part of our stay was the friendly warm lady who served our hot breakfast, I had scrambled eggs on toast and my husband had the full breakfast, both of which were fine and cooked to order.
This hotel was good value for money but sometimes its better to pay a bit more for a better quality of stay. We would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalwayGirl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
27th March 2013

Dear GalwayGirl1972,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.

I'm disappointed that you weren't satisfied with your stay but we are pleased you were happy with your cooked breakfasts.

The snow was out of our control as it fell heavily overnight and in the earlier part of the day. We did have maintenance clearing the snow at later stage. You must appreciate that it is diffcuilt to keep on top of this continuously during bad weather.

We're in the current process of refurbishing the corridors and bedrooms as I speak. Apologies that you didn't feel there was enough toiletries in the room. Reception are happy to provide more when required. However, our toiletries are more than adequate for a guests stay and can be supplemented by the hotel when requested.

I feel that we provide a good service and product at a weekend price of £70 for a double room that includes English and buffet breakfast, unlimited wireless internet and car parking.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Operations Manager
Simon Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We booked 5 rooms last weekend for a family wedding at the Botanical Gardens, just down the road from the hotel and couldn't have chosen a better spot. Our requested early check-in was met. Rooms were spotless, modern, comfortable, with excellent bathroom facilities and really quiet. Breakfast the next day was delicious and the staff were very friendly and helpful. As a bonus, it was excellent value for money too. Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golfing_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
28th March 2013

Dear Golfing_girl,

Thank you for leaving feedback on Tripadvisor.I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, which I will share with the team. We aim to exceed guest expectations at every possible opportunity.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

A very good value hotel, comfortable and clean, excellent breakfast. Our only minor quibble was a lack of local information such as a good city tourist map, guides etc. available at reception. Otherwise fully recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
28th March 2013

Dear rgent,

Thank you for your feeback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay overall; and will share this with the team;however, I am disappointed with your comment about local information,we do have city maps at reception, and our team are more than happy to provide you with this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Modern smart decor and clean modern furnishings. Lovely comfy bed, very quiet. Tv, coffee facilities etc all up to scratch. Had a lovely time for short break visiting friends. Only thing to improve would be staff friendliness. Breakfast had good choice and tasted great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberts1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
28th March 2013

Dear Roberts1648,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here overall whilst visiting friends which I will share with the team. I am disappointed regarding staff friendliness, all our staff have been trained and have worked in the customer service industry for many years and always exceed guests expectations and friendliness.Please be assured that your comment will be the subject of our weekly departmental meeting to ensure any future disappointment avoided.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,320 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing