We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”
Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We arrived to a friendly welcome and had a large comfortable room. The restaurant was very good - our breakfast was freshly cooked to order and in the evening, the menu was excellent and the food delicious. My husband was unwell during our stay and the staff were extremely helpful which was much appreciated. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAmaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    183
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
106
217
37
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Staff genuinely warm and welcoming. Breakfast a must do. Down side was i was here on hottest weekend of the year. No air con only a fan, and due to noise of main road outside open windows meant no sleep. However windows did cut out road noise when closed Bed comfortable and shower fantastic. Room a little battered - tiles on floor of bathroom had broken grout. Overall good value for money and good location

Room Tip: Ask for room at rear of hotel to reduce road noise if you like open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We only stayed for one night, en route to Scotland. Very comfortable bedroom, power shower, freshly cooked English breakfast served on linen clad tables. A real gem of a place. Was only sorry that we were only staying one night! Will certainly book this hotel again if need accommodation in B'ham.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A pleasant Hotel, friendly Staff from the reception team to those at breakfast.The room was clean and a good size, with plenty of hot water and comfortable beds.
The breakfast was excellent, a good selection of fruits,pastries & cereals, and the large hot breakfast is freshly cooked, lots of toast and coffee by the pot..

A nice experience and I would thoroughly recommend the Eaton to anyone who wants a quality hotel and a very reasonable cost, with free parking.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear would probably be quietest, away from the main road, also beware this is a wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I'd read reviews on Tripadvisor before visiting and I had high expectations of the Eaton Hotel. It didn't disappoint. The reception area is decorated to a high standard and the staff are very friendly. There is free parking at the rear of the hotel, which is handy so close to the town centre.

The room was a decent size and had a little add on at the side for the dressing table and mirror which was nice. The bathroom was AMAZING. I'm stealing the design for my own house! The shower was huge and very powerful. The room had a 32" LCD TV, the biggest I've seen in any hotel room. The bed was very comfy and large, I only wish I could have stayed in it longer!

We stayed here to see a show in the town centre. Our taxi journey into town only cost us £6 and took 5 minutes, the hotel can ring a taxi for you.

The only downside I can possibly think of is that the maids are quite noisy in the corridors in the morning. Also they tried to service our room at 9am on the day we were checking out which was a bit of a nuisance and seemed a bit pointless as they'd have to come and clean the room again a few hours later. We did't try the breakfast as we preferred the sleep!

We will be staying here again in the not too distant future. In my opinion you cannot find a better hotel so close to the centre for so little (we paid £70 on a bank holiday weekend)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have stayed here many times and have allways recieved a great welcome, the rooms are a good size and spotless, breakfast is excelent (the long serving waitress is so good), beds are extremely comfortable, linens are great, and the staff really do go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. thoroughly reccomended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APJL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed at the Eaton Hotel for two nights and I couldn't fault it. The bedroom was large, comfortable and tastefully decorated though it could have done with a illuminated digital clock/radio to see the time.
The shower was powerful with plenty of hot water accompanied by nice quality toiletries.
The breakfast selection and quality was superb as was the service with nothing being too much trouble. The public rooms and bar were nicely furnished and decorated and the bar selection of drinks was wide with prices very reasonable.
All in all a nice experience and I would have no hesitation is recommending the Eaton to anyone who wants a quality hotel and a very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Read Trip Advisor, all these people cannot be wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stokegifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
911 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,390 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
861 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing