We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by inconsiderate guests”
Review of The Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eaton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

First impressions are good. Clean, modern with a friendly greeting on arrival. Our room was very nice and at the back of the hotel away from the busy main road. Great until we tried to get some sleep. Guests leaving a birthday party shouting and banging car doors till late. The paper thin walls meant we heard conversations from the rooms next door and the television in the next room sounded like it was in our room. His film finally finished at 1.30am to be replaced by music from another room. Breakfast was very ordinary. If you didn't want cooked then the buffet choice was limited. A shame because the hotel promised much but failed to deliver

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bishop866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had originally booked into the Norfolk Hotel just down the road and had decided not to stay there due to the disgusting nature of the rooms.

We had friends who were booked to stay at the Eaton Hotel so thought we would see if we could get a room. Luckily they had availability, the staff we friendly and helpful, the rooms were lovely, clean and spacious, and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic.

Definitely worth the money we paid for the room and considering a Travel Lodge in the same area would have cost the same, this was exceptional value for money.

Would almost certainly stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

lovely hotel, so surprised at how professional the hotel looks...excellent staff and fantastic looking hotel! Not far from the city but nice and quiet! Excellent breakfast and lovely dining room...couldn't really fault it. Only comment would be that it would be nice to have Egyptian cotton bedding. My wife and I will definitely staff again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I were invited to a wedding at the Eaton and decided to stay as we had a long journey afterwards otherwise. The check in was quick and informative, we did ask if breakfast is available to be delivered to the room but it is not however if you wanted to you could take it back up to your room from the breakfast area but can't imagine anybody doing that. The room was lovely and clean, contemporary and comfortable with a nice flat screen TV and tea,coffee and hot chocolate facility. We were in a room facing the car park and it was very quiet which was nice. The cooked breakfast was superb and the choice of fruit and other yummy food stuffs was great as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I visited this Hotel again with my wife and family for a birthday meal in the restaurant on Sunday.

Yet again the food was great and although not presented in the manner of a Salvador Dali painting it was nonetheless very, very, good, with proper sized portions all freshly cooked and served at the table. The staff are friendly and always helpful, the house red wine was as ever palatable and reasonably priced.

We will be eating at this establishment again in the very near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A 2 night stay for my partner and I began on the Thursday evening. The hotel is located on the Hagley Road about 3 miles from junction 3 of the M5 so it was very easy to find. We received a warm welcome from reception staff and they had accomodated our request for a twin room which turned out to have 2 double beds in it which was much appreciated. The room was in the new part of the hotel and was really nice including a modern bathroom with powerful shower. We decided to have dinner in the hotel and this turned out to be very good and reasonably priced at £20 each (for residents) for 3 courses with coffee included. We had a bottle of the New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc which, at £27.50, was also reasonable. The food was of a high standard and we finished off our evening in the garden area which is a quiet little haven in the midst of the busy Hagley Road. All in all a very enjoyable evening. We slept well and breakfast the folllowing morning was equally as good with a buffet and food freshly cooked to order. My brother was arriving early as we were going to a wedding and, once again, reception staff were helpful accomodating his request to check in early (11am) as they had a room available. We stayed another night which was equally as good. Would recommend this hotel. We paid £85 for the Thursday night and £80 for the Friday night which we considered to be a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnwiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed here for one night to attend my cousins wedding nearby, it was one oftecrecomended hotel, i found it excellent value for money at £60 a night, the breakfast was excellent, the room was large and clean. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for good value accommodation near the City Centre

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank jimmackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,142 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eaton Hotel

Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £74 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing