We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, comfortable and reasonably priced ”
Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well located, comfortable and reasonably priced ”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay. Fast, friendly and efficient check-in and out. Quiet room requested at time of booking and duly granted. Good sized room, big TV, well equipped and large, comfy bed. Although full, hotel was lovely and quiet at night. Breakfast absolutely fine. Went down just before 9 and restaurant was fairly quiet. Would definitely suggest saving money by staying here rather than Broad Street. Only a £5 taxi to Brindleyplace. Honestly can't fault the place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsDave_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    178
    43
    16
    8
See reviews for
106
212
37
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and location.. nice room.. great shower
BUT they stop serving breakfast at 9.30.. which is earlier than most hotels and meant I didnt get breakfast.. guys you should consider extending to 10.30 on par with most establishments

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sandip k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We visited last December and loved this hotel. Great location very close to town, lovely clean and fresh decor, nice reception staff, great value.

Returned again this weekend bringing friends this time. There was an issue with our booking on arrival (which was website booking company's fault rather than hotel) but reception staff handled this calmly and all was luckily resolved. Rooms great, as we remembered, with gorgeous clean bathrooms and big power showers. There was a party on so we were warned by reception about possible noise from music until about midnight, but we were fine with that as had evening plans anyway. So, all good......until breakfast.

I cannot emphasise enough how terrible this was. On arrival at half 9, all the pastries and nice bread was gone. I asked if there was any more coming and was told by waitress that chef wouldn't be able to do anymore as there was a 'queue in the kitchen'. We all found this a little bizarre as half the breakfast tables were empty so clearly was not 'rush hour' for them. We sat down and waited half an hour before anyone even acknowledged us, and that only happened because we pointed out to another waitress that nobody had served us. When the lady eventually came, she was possibly the most abrupt, strange and highly strung women Ive ever come across. We asked for tea, and were told it didn't matter what we ordered, it was 'all going to take ages anyway'. Customers were clearly just an irritation to her. We ordered food amidst her muttering of this 'queue in the kitchen' (which had become a running joke on our table by this point) and then waited. And waited. Our tea arrived another half an hour later (after prompting), along with toast, which then was cold by the time our breakfasts eventually arrived. Needless to say she made no attempt at an apology for any of this. All in all it took us almost 1.5hours to have breakfast. We were therefore long overdue checking out as we had to dash back to our rooms to pack, get ready etc. Reception then had cheek to ring us to find out why we had not yet checked out!

I am still reluctant to give this hotel any less than 4 stars as I still think it is a great place and very good value. I also firmly believe that this morning was a blip probably caused by some sort of problem in the kitchen, and I am sure normal service will resume tmrw. But if the hotel management are reading this, you must, without question, get rid of that awful lady waitress who served everyone today. There is simply no excuse for such an appalling attitude towards customers.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank canarycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time me and my partner have stayed at this hotel because we had a good experience last time. And this time was the same. Smooth easy friendly check-in. Comfortable, cosy, spacious room with a stylish, clean bathroom however the flushing system was not that great. Always grateful for the free parking and is perfect location for us. Offers free wifi, big flat screen tv with freeview and the bed was very comfortable. Definately would come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyld115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Eaton hotel for one night last week and were very impressed.

The room was comfortable, spotless and had all the amenties we required including a hair drier, tea making facilties and an iron with board.

Just outside the city centre the hotel also benfited from free parking and they quickly arranged taxis for us when we required them.

The breakfast was very good with an excellent selection of continental options (on a buffet) including ham, cheese, breads, yoghurts, cereals and many fruits. The full English breakfast was also delicious. The lady serving the breakfast was incredibly professional and friendly and made us feel very welcome.

The staff on the reception desk were also lovely throughout our stay and even printed us off directions ot our next destination which we really appreciated.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Ok it's a small cozy hotel but I cudnt understand all the hype in the reviews !!
This is a nice 3 story hotel with no concierge services, what no one tells is that each floor is split into mini levels so even tho u take the lift, u end up climbing up n down a few stairs which is very inconvenient if there is luggage
Location: far from city center but those w a car will enjoy the benefit of free parking
Rooms are spacious, good bathroom size - good amneties n free wifi
Additional heater in the room for convenience as main heating system does not work in October
Good breakfast - lovely people collecting orders
BUT
It seemed that the water heater was busted for the two days we stayed in - hence there was no hot water to shower with!!!!! No notification to the guests - no formal apology - nothing! I really found that very disappointing and lacking in customer service this is why am giving this hotel a 2
We also reported a problem with our sink drain - not fixed
Receptionists were not that friendly except the guy who checked us in

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

New Years Eve 2011, my boyfriend (now husband) proposed to me, and 2 months later we had booked the Eaton Hotel. From that moment, right up until Sunday 25th August 2013, Rob Martin was INCREDIBLE and thought of everything.

As we had booked this hotel for our chosen wedding venue, my family, fiance and I decide to have all out celebration meals at the Eaton Hotel. So all birthdays and wedding anniversaries were spent here.

On Saturday 24th August, I got married, and the Eaton held the reception and the evening bash, and I couldn't have wished for it to go any better. Everything was perfect- and they were more than happy to have all my quirky ideas (bathroom baskets) put into play. Not only was the service amazing, the food- considering feeding 100 people, then a further 60 on the evening... EVERYBODY loved the food. No one has had a bad word to say against the food, and the drinks prices were more than reasonable.

My husband and I received the bridal suite and it was stunning, but the rooms my family were in were just as lovely, and as we were staying for dinner the following day, we were allowed late checkout. They were so accommodating, nothing was too much.

Not just for a wedding venue, but for the food and rooms alone. Amazing hotel, amazing staff, an it just goes to show you don't need to stay in a big fancy chain hotel to get the service!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing