We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value with fantastic staff”
Review of The Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eaton Hotel
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel is only a couple of miles out of the town centre. It has parking and a great welcome when you go in. The rooms are very clean with all the facilities you need .the breakfast is exception but the breakfast staff where the best I've seen in years.
I will go back whenever I'm in Birmingham . Top marks staff.

Room Tip: Any room. They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed at the Eaton Hotel bed and breakfast 2 nights for a weekend family celebration in Birmingham. Reception was courteous, friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were modern, clean and beyond our expectations and the shower was great. Breakfast, a full English was served in a lovely dining room by friendly, happy and helpful staff. Perfect place to stay for a weekend in Brum. We will definitely stay there again because besides all the above the cost was reasonable and was terrific value. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

It is important to note that this hotel does not proport to be 5* and it doesn't have the facilities that one would expect of that type of establishment. However what the eaton does do, it does well! We stayed 2 nights. The hotel is very conveniently located for junction 3 of the M5 and is not far from Bournville and the associated tourist sites. The car park is a reasonable size and FREE a huge plus point for Birmingham. The front of house staff were very friendly and the hotel has obviously been recently refurbished and looks clean and fresh with some nice pieces of art. .Our room on the second floor faced the rear over-looking pretty st Augustines church and the car park. the room was a good size with very comfortable bedding. There are adequate tea/coffee making facilities and a large television the wardrobes are quite generous and contain trouser presses and safes. There are no mini-bars though (please note this). The en-suite contained a newly appointed suite of shower toilet and wash-stand. the shower was extremely effective. 2 small minus points. no1. There is no moisturiser provided, only shampoo and bodywash. no.2 the light is not well positioned above the mirror/shaving point, so me end up having shadow across half their face when shaving....If I was being very pickie, the extractor fan is quite loud in the bathroom, but not a big problem. In general the room was extremely quiet and there was not a great deal of sound transference. We dined out in the evenings, but had breakfast in the restaurant. it is a lovely, light airy and elegant room. There is a good selection available on the buffet. Pastries, fruit, yoghurts, cereals, meat cheese etc. In addition to this, you can elect to have full or continental breakfasts served which utilized high quality ingredients. There were also several egg options. Coffee and tea or chocolate waitress served. Refills were proffered and the staff in all points of the hotel were friendly courteous and helpful. We secured a very good price for these two nights and were very pleasantly surprised with the quality, We would definately stay at the Eaton again if in Birmingham, and would recommend their services to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

stayed here for one nite at the weekend with my friend to attend the xmas market.

this hotel is lovely !!!!!!!

It cost us £6 each way for a taxi into town

We had a twin room on the side of the hotel and were amazed to get two double beds ! The shower was excellent, there was everything in the room you could need - hairdryer, iron, toiletries etc. The room was very clean.

We had an evening meal which quite simply was superb. we had chicken a la crème and it was a very large portion with lovely tastes. It was silver service and we were treated very well by a mature waiter and waitress.

Breakfast was excellent. We were warned the hotel was full so there might be a wait at 9am so we went down early. Lovely plated breakfast and all you could need on the cold buffet including thick sliced ham and fresh fruit.

We would love to go back here again and again and again !!!

Having stayed at the plough and harrow down the road this is not comparision - far far better

Definitely the place to go if you are staying in Birmingham and visited the markets

well done to the eaton !!!

Room Tip: get a side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westie6692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay. Fast, friendly and efficient check-in and out. Quiet room requested at time of booking and duly granted. Good sized room, big TV, well equipped and large, comfy bed. Although full, hotel was lovely and quiet at night. Breakfast absolutely fine. Went down just before 9 and restaurant was fairly quiet. Would definitely suggest saving money by staying here rather than Broad Street. Only a £5 taxi to Brindleyplace. Honestly can't fault the place.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MidlandsDave_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and location.. nice room.. great shower
BUT they stop serving breakfast at 9.30.. which is earlier than most hotels and meant I didnt get breakfast.. guys you should consider extending to 10.30 on par with most establishments

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank sandip k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We visited last December and loved this hotel. Great location very close to town, lovely clean and fresh decor, nice reception staff, great value.

Returned again this weekend bringing friends this time. There was an issue with our booking on arrival (which was website booking company's fault rather than hotel) but reception staff handled this calmly and all was luckily resolved. Rooms great, as we remembered, with gorgeous clean bathrooms and big power showers. There was a party on so we were warned by reception about possible noise from music until about midnight, but we were fine with that as had evening plans anyway. So, all good......until breakfast.

I cannot emphasise enough how terrible this was. On arrival at half 9, all the pastries and nice bread was gone. I asked if there was any more coming and was told by waitress that chef wouldn't be able to do anymore as there was a 'queue in the kitchen'. We all found this a little bizarre as half the breakfast tables were empty so clearly was not 'rush hour' for them. We sat down and waited half an hour before anyone even acknowledged us, and that only happened because we pointed out to another waitress that nobody had served us. When the lady eventually came, she was possibly the most abrupt, strange and highly strung women Ive ever come across. We asked for tea, and were told it didn't matter what we ordered, it was 'all going to take ages anyway'. Customers were clearly just an irritation to her. We ordered food amidst her muttering of this 'queue in the kitchen' (which had become a running joke on our table by this point) and then waited. And waited. Our tea arrived another half an hour later (after prompting), along with toast, which then was cold by the time our breakfasts eventually arrived. Needless to say she made no attempt at an apology for any of this. All in all it took us almost 1.5hours to have breakfast. We were therefore long overdue checking out as we had to dash back to our rooms to pack, get ready etc. Reception then had cheek to ring us to find out why we had not yet checked out!

I am still reluctant to give this hotel any less than 4 stars as I still think it is a great place and very good value. I also firmly believe that this morning was a blip probably caused by some sort of problem in the kitchen, and I am sure normal service will resume tmrw. But if the hotel management are reading this, you must, without question, get rid of that awful lady waitress who served everyone today. There is simply no excuse for such an appalling attitude towards customers.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank canarycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
953 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,146 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eaton Hotel

Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £74 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing