We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, Clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

A lovely hotel with very friendly staff. We had a late dinner on arrival and found the restaurant staff very attentive, friendly and helpful.We found the breakfast lady to be very abrupt and loud mannered though. On Saturday morning she seemed to be more friendly with the older couple at the table next to us which we assume was because we are a younger couple and the average age of the hotel guests did seem to be over 50's so I suppose we weren't their usual type of guests. When I listed the items that I wanted from the breakfast from the menu, she abruptly cut me and said 'so you want the full english?' With my fiancé we laughed thinking 'wow, do we need to apologise for not ordering the 'correct way'? I'm wheat and lactose intolerant and asked if they had any Soya milk which they didn't. The breakfast lady informed me to let them know in advance next time but it was a shame she didn't offer to get some in for Sunday morning. The downside for us was that breakfast ends at 10 am on a Sunday. Coming from London this seems rather early to end breakfast on a Sunday morning! Our mistake we thought breakfast ended at 11 am and arrived for breakfast at 10.10 on Sunday to be told they weren't serving breakfast anymore. The breakfast lady said we could help ourselves to the cereal and fruit but this wasn't appealing to me and being wheat intolerant I don't eat cereals anyway (and the buffet table looked like the kind of breakfast you get at a cheap travelodge) and she didn't even offer us any tea or coffee. We decided to leave and she told us that she had asked for some toast to be made for us, so I suppose she did try and it was our mistake for not looking into exactly what time breakfast ends. I think coming from London we probably have high expectations but all in all this was a lovely hotel, very clean. A special thank you to the receptionist. A lovely lady.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica_B1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    174
    41
    14
    8
See reviews for
100
207
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horgen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great customer service, with really friendly staff, spacious modern rooms. In room wifi with own personal code.

The bar, garden and dining areas were lovely.

Really good value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Took the family here for evening meal friendly staff and food was tasty and choice on menu was ample. Would definitely go back highly recommend the restaurant .Didn't stop so can't comme on rooms sorry .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank inverclyde12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times and have never been disappointed.

Rooms are modern and clean.

Free WIFI and pay sports channels.

The restaurant offers good food but if you want to venture out there a restaurants nearby

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Celebrated our daughter's wedding on 1st August. Everything we requested was done to the highest standard. Rob the banqueting manager provided exceptional service and support throughout.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Bedrooms were spotless, beds comfy and breakfast served the following morning by attentive staff.
Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annette4353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked this hotel as was visiting friends in the area. The room and bathroom were well proportioned and the bed was very comfortable, the room was very modern with new carpet. The breakfast was delicious and was served by attentive and friendly staff. We will book this hotel again when vising friends in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Booked into the Eaton Hotel in Hagley Road, Edgbaston on Saturday night. Reception staff were friendly and we were booked in very quickly. Had a long day so went to bar for a drink before going to room, again bar staff were great. Room was really big, think it was a family room, flat screen TV, free wifi, tea coffee etc. room was very comfortable. Also had a safe in the room. There was some road noise but this was gone when we closed the window. No complaints, a great stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamleaderScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing