We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay, avoid the restaurant!”
Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay, avoid the restaurant!”
Reviewed 12 August 2009

A very comfy stay - clean room, big bed. The shower was nice and powerful although it was a shame not to have a bath. Staff were friendly and I can recommend the breakfast. At the very last minute we cancelled the second night of our stay (not because of the hotel) and they were very helpful - refunding our room. The only downside was the restaurant - food was very heavy and had a distinctly 70s theme. Lots of deep-fried breadcrumbs and cream! Although in the interests of fairness, my partner enjoyed dinner more than I did, perhaps it depends on your tastes.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snottor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    178
    43
    16
    8
See reviews for
106
212
37
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Just a great independant hotel. Superb double room with great decor and facilities. Comfy King bed and great shower. Just stayed one night arriving late but very freindly welcome and helpful. Hagley Road is not pretty but the hotel has a superb rear patio which fools you nicely. Breakfast was superb quality and hot (in fact the plate was almost glowing). All the service was freindly and close enough to City (10 mins drive) + free parking

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherubSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2009

What a lovely, modern, clean hotel! Driving down Hagley Road we were fearing the worst but as soon as we pulled into the car park we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. We had a family room which was very spacious even when the sofa bed was made up for our 3 year old. Contemporary furnishings and a fantastic bathroom. The breakfast service in the restaurant was very quick and efficient. We didn't have to wait long at all for our full english breakfast despite the fact that the restaurant was busy with guests from the previous night's wedding.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezholharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

hotel was spotless, room large clean with excellant facilaties, great shower fast internet crisp white bedding and very comfy bed. greeted by lovely lady at reception who was friendly and chatty, went down to restaurant for evening meal which was excellant, no complaints at all staff friendly helpful and fast. food to die for although didn t do my diet any good, but well worth the cheat. would definately recommend this hotel to friends and family, and would stay there again when in birmingham. We always check trip advisor before booking hotel and again we have learned to appreciate the usefulnes of reading reviews.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This past weekend I had occasion to attend an exhibition in Hagley Road, Birmingham and my wife, being a ‘Brummy’ decided to accompany me, having not visited her home town for about 40 years.

I made use of Tripadvisor and booked us into the Eaton Hotel and thereby once more appreciated the usefulness of this wonderful site because the Eaton is a rare gem indeed.

Externally it gives the impression of several of the large houses that are a feature of this road having been knocked together; but inside it has been totally modernised. Our bedroom was large, modern, with a superb quality large screen TV and a desk that featured so many connections for laptops, etc. that I’m sure some of them are for gadgets that haven’t yet been invented.

The shower room was totally modern, of course, and was initially most impressive. I say ‘initially’ because one’s enthusiasm waned slightly once one discovered upon shaving or applying make-up that the only place in Stygian gloom in this otherwise bright shower room was one’s face! (A black mark there to the designer I’m afraid)

I suppose we had thought of going out to dine in the evenings but when we saw the options in Hagley Road we decided to eat in the hotel. What a wise decision that turned out to be. The food was excellent, being good food as we remembered it, as opposed to the curious amalgam of cookery and flower arranging that currently typifies so many restaurants. If the dish came with a sauce it was there in abundance and not just a collection of dots round the plate. And the vegetables – often a testing point – all tasted of being completely freshly cooked. So we enthusiastically ate there the second night also. The only curious point about this otherwise excellent restaurant is that they play what is probably the most inappropriate background music of any restaurant in the country. (Hopefully somebody at the hotel will read this and invest in a some more appropriate CDs!)

This curious attitude to restaurant amplification continued at morning breakfast when most irritatingly the management poured the BBC World Service into the restaurant! Whilst at a pinch this could be acceptable during the week when the clientele might possibly be single business men, this certainly was not the case at weekends when it was parties of 2 or 4. So this non-stop interview chatter was a total conversation killer.

But shaving a dark face and an irresistible urge to pull the wires out of the back of the restaurant amplifier were not enough to deter me from wholeheartedly giving a maximum rating to this hotel. For what it set out to do it did it superbly and could hardly be bettered.

And I must conclude by saying that the various folk we encountered at Reception over our stay could not have been more helpful.

A truly measurable experience – and given that it poured with rain non-stop whilst we were there meant that our spectacles could hardly have been less rose-tinted!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Spent two nights at the Eaton hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor - we weren't disappointed.
The purpose of our visit was the one day international at Edgbaston - the ground was only 5 min taxi ride away.
The room was very clean and modern (refurbished last year) - well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, wireless, hairdryer, trouserpress and built in ironing board, lovely flat screen tv.
We only ate once in the restaurant (it was closed on the bank holiday). To be honest the restaurant could do with a make-over but the taste of the food certainly took my mind off the decor - it was superb !
Would definitely stay again at the Eaton hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz_and_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Myself and six friends stayed at the Eaton for 2 nights where we were attending a Golden Wedding Party, everything about this hotel was perfect the bedrooms were excellent the food excellent the staff very polite could not find fault with anything, and the party that was laid on by hotel was perfect, food was excellent and plenty of it ,would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnjudeBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing