We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for a clean, friendly and modern hotel”
Review of The Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Eaton Hotel
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2009

The rooms at the Eaton were clean and of a good size (although a little warm). Compared to most options in Birmingham (top end Malmaison style - v expensive or dirty / shabby on the Hagley Road) the Eaton hotel was a shining example of a reasonably priced beautique hotel. Staff very friendly, decor was modern and well maintained. A great stop off or location for a city break.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyhappy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2009

From the moment I arrived, I was made to feel really welcome. The gentleman on the desk was lovely. The room was the perfect temperature and remained so all night. It was spotless and equipped with everything you could need for an overnight stop. The restaurant staff were efficient and hard-working providing a lovely breakfast experience. I would definitely use the Eaton again and recommend it without reservation to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie0145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed at the Eaton Hotel as it was only a short distance from Edgbaston Cricket Ground. The hotel is clean, rooms very good and the breakfast is recommended. Additionally every member of staff was very helpful and efficient, the hotel was full which is also a good sign. Very pleased we chose this hotel and wouldn't hestitate to use again on the next trip to Birmingham for business and leisure. A really good find.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigecathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

A very comfy stay - clean room, big bed. The shower was nice and powerful although it was a shame not to have a bath. Staff were friendly and I can recommend the breakfast. At the very last minute we cancelled the second night of our stay (not because of the hotel) and they were very helpful - refunding our room. The only downside was the restaurant - food was very heavy and had a distinctly 70s theme. Lots of deep-fried breadcrumbs and cream! Although in the interests of fairness, my partner enjoyed dinner more than I did, perhaps it depends on your tastes.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snottor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Just a great independant hotel. Superb double room with great decor and facilities. Comfy King bed and great shower. Just stayed one night arriving late but very freindly welcome and helpful. Hagley Road is not pretty but the hotel has a superb rear patio which fools you nicely. Breakfast was superb quality and hot (in fact the plate was almost glowing). All the service was freindly and close enough to City (10 mins drive) + free parking

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherubSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

What a lovely, modern, clean hotel! Driving down Hagley Road we were fearing the worst but as soon as we pulled into the car park we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. We had a family room which was very spacious even when the sofa bed was made up for our 3 year old. Contemporary furnishings and a fantastic bathroom. The breakfast service in the restaurant was very quick and efficient. We didn't have to wait long at all for our full english breakfast despite the fact that the restaurant was busy with guests from the previous night's wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezholharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

hotel was spotless, room large clean with excellant facilaties, great shower fast internet crisp white bedding and very comfy bed. greeted by lovely lady at reception who was friendly and chatty, went down to restaurant for evening meal which was excellant, no complaints at all staff friendly helpful and fast. food to die for although didn t do my diet any good, but well worth the cheat. would definately recommend this hotel to friends and family, and would stay there again when in birmingham. We always check trip advisor before booking hotel and again we have learned to appreciate the usefulnes of reading reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,146 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eaton Hotel

Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £74 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing