We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS! A gem on the outskirts of Birmingham city centre!”
Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FABULOUS! A gem on the outskirts of Birmingham city centre!”
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Stayed at The Eaton Hotel for 3 nights for a business trip. Was delighted to see they had ample parking spaces both at the front and back of the hotel.

Friendly staff, clean and comfortable room with an impressive shower!

Excellent restaurant serving delicious food. Was very impressed with the qualty of the food since I live in London and have been to some top restaurants. The Eaton have a very good chef and everything we ate was fantastic.

The retsaurant is in need of being refurbished and the hotel have plans to do this but to be honest the old fashioned decor, acutally created a cosy and welcoming atmosphere!

The rooms all have FREE boadband too which is great.

Will definately be staying here again whenever I am on business in Birmingham!

Thanks to The Eaton for making my stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    188
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
107
223
37
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This is the first independant hotel i'm raving about!

Lovely hotel situated on Hagley Road just outside Birmingham city centre.
Delightfully decorated, very clean, relaxed, comfortable, lovely food and ample parking.
The staff were polite and pleasant.

Thumbs up to the managment. Well done.
I'll look forward to staying here again.

Adam

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ISSAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night. The staff were friendly and the room was comfortable. Had no complaints, It served its purpose for my one night business trip. Would reccommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Living not far from Birmingham, a stay over at a Brum hotel is not top of my list, but needs must and I was invited to stay at the Eaton Hotel on Hagley Road and have to say I was pleasently surprised!
From the outside the hotel is like most of the hotels along hagley Road, plain and old, the ones on the left that is, the ones on the right are almost all closed down and boarded up as the high rise competitors in the city have taken their toll so how has the Eaton survived?
As you enter the Hotel you will notice imediateley that the hotel has gone through a massive refurb and is ultra modern, spotlessly clean and up there with anything the city has to offer at a snip of the price. Our room was £65 B & B.
The rooms are not massive, but comfortable for a city break, ultra modern with a wet room. 37" flat screen TV, tea and coffee, safe and a loveley clean and crisp bed, what more couild you ask?
The restaurant is set in more of aholiday mode than the rest of the hotel and wouldn't be out of place on the seafront in Eastbourne or Brighton.
Food was exquisit during our stay, staff were excellent and if I ever have to travel ten miles from home again I don't think I would want to stay anywhere else in town than the Eaton?
For those on business it has free WIFI and is just far enough out of town, beware of the speed traps that now litter the local roads.
If on a leisure trip to Birminghma, the Hotel is about 1 mile from the centre easily travelled by car or bus and the hotel has ample parking.
All in all a hidden gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0hnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2009

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Eaton Hotel whilst visiting Birmingham. I feel I have to add a comment with regard to my evening meal. The quality of the food was excellent, with an extensive choice of starters followed by a fillet steak to die for. There was plenty of fresh veg all served at the table by what seemed to be polite and well trained staff. I have eaten in many venues within the Birmingham area over the years but for quality food at reasonable prices I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Eaton.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecatWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Generally an excellent hotel. We paid £60 for bed and breakfast, and were very impressed with the quality. The positives: free parking, helpful reception staff, impecable room, very comfortable bed, fantastic shower, flatscreen TV, very clean, modern/contemporary decor - all purple and brown velvet and slate tiles. There was a wide choice at breakfast and the service was very efficient. The only negatives: the window overlooked a brick wall, there was no room information (and no menu despite the fact that they supposedly offer room service), no biccies with the tea and coffee.
HOWEVER, if you want to maintain the modern, contemporary feel of your stay, avoid the restaurant at all costs. It seems to have missed out on the refurb - the decor and artwork are very old fashioned, and the food is right out of 1970. They were actually serving crepe suzette at people's tables, which I've only ever seen in old movies! I think they were aiming for silver service, but having someone dishing up rice from a bowl onto your plate just felt like being back at school. The staff were generally quite rude and stressed and tended to grunt at you, and we booked at table for 8.30, but were left sitting in the bar until 9.15. Generally a very weird evening, and not at all the modern dining experience we were expecting. The restaurant is really the only reason I haven't awarded this hotel with the 5 stars it deserves.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potatochip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Pleasant stay, much better than most of the hotels on Hagley Rd. Rooms are fairly standard hotel fare, en-suite is nicely decorated. Good enough facilities in the room and a nice continental/cooked breakfast is included in the price. Only complaint is that the bed wasn't really up to much, I think it had seen better days.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank se2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,448 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing