We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed in Malmaison Birmingham on a weekend break with my sister and it is perfect for that. Situated in the Mailbox, it has a massive amount of good bars and restaurants on its doorstep and is also near to the city centre.

The hotel itself is lovely, great decor, spacious rooms with lovely toiletries. The bar is large and lively and breakfast was fantastic!

If I had any complaints (and I am struggling to think of any!), I think the hotel just looked a little tired in some areas compared to when I first visited a few years ago.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonkeyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,080 - 2,086 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed here for business and although you can get some great online rates depending on availability theres a world of difference in the standard of rooms available.
If you get an executive room you're sorted but the standard rooms can be quite small.
The bar is very chique - so are the prices - I cant comment on the food as the Mailbox Shopping Centre is right beside the hotel you have masses of options on the doorstep.
Be aware that the "Hotel" parking is in an adjecent NCP and the charge is £18 for 24 hours, the Hotel gives no discount for residents. Another issue can be finding the place, the Hotel website postcode isnt correct and my sat nav took me to a residential street, use The Mailbox as your reference and the door to the hotel is right beside the NCP carpark.
In summary - great location & good rooms with some designer touches and free WiFi - and if you get a good rate try it out - as long as you can find it.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Lovely hotel . We had an upgraded room. The room was clean and large. All staff we came in contact with were nice and friendly including the reception staff, bar staff and restaurant staff. We ate in the hotel and had a wonderful meal.. Whenever I am in Birmingham I will always stay at the Malmaison in the future.. Shame you dont get a discount in the adjacent carpark for anyone stopping at the hotel.. £18.00 it costs which i think is steep..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxx558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Staff very helpful. Lovely to have choc covered strawberries and an anniversary card in room. Room, however, was disappointing. Grouting in shower needed attention and room looked tired. Breakfast was also disappointing. Eggs and coffee cold. When asked by staff about our staff, I used the word 'adequate' which I think sums this hotel up. For the price, I expected a great deal more. Wouldn't choose this hotel for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobyloo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Malmaison have really mastered the art of what makes a good hotel. The Birmingham Mal (and I have stayed at others) is a boring building inside the Mailbox shopping complex but the rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. Their breakfast is probably the best a hotel can offer - it has a great choice and the ingredients from orange juice to eggs benedict are top notch. Even the quality of toiletries, tea bags and biscuits in the rooms are very good. This is always my first choice when I come to Birmingham.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room (which are usually situated away from the lifts)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Hotel located in good area very close to station and city centre. When I checked bathroom in my room was unclean ( floor was dirty,bath with hair), so I had to swap for another one ( Loo was with some bits left there). But I did not had a time to swap again, so Duty Manager promise to clean room again, which was done by time I come back in evening, Next day I left in morning for my course and when I come back in evening door to my room was unlocked!!!
I ask DM to explain, but find him very defensive and unpolite, althrol late hi offered glass of wine for unplesant expiriense. Food in restaurant was good, but staff not organise.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is a hotel where you feel your stay is no hassle. The bar is good, the restaurant is good, and you are left to just stay with no hassles from anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touringlampie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
966 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,198 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
1,616 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £76 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing