We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

I booked the best suite in the hotel at an advance purchase rate and it was worth every penny...a bargain even!

it was the penny black suite with its own steam room, massage room, cinema room, 3bathrooms, lounge..I could go on...words do not do it justice, I have never stayed in such a luxurious room, simply amazing.

The cinema screen didnt work and we called reception and a maintenace guy was sent up to have a look. He waa very nice and friendly and managed to fix it. We requested a late checkout with the night receptionist and he agreed but never said anything about a fee. Upon checkout we were told we would be charged. I agreed to pay as I didnt mind, but my partner explained that we were not informed and thought it was complimentary, and the young man promptly took it off my bill without even us requesting it.

Location couldnt be any better, slap bang in the heart of the city centre everythig within walking distance.

I cannot fault this hotel, I am still bowled over by the room. I saw pictures and a description on the internet before booking, but my expectations were more than exceeded. Great hotel, deffo recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiffylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    771
    382
    169
    104
See reviews for
155
916
75
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Malmaison makes other hotels seem disappointing - the rooms are huge, the beds v comfy, and staff are v helpful. Toiletries are proper bottles and the soap is the nicest i have ever used. There are a great selection of breakfast options but the continental selection is excellent. Not a cheap place to stay but definitely a treat

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport. Uk
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

After looking at a few reviews and being worried about the quality of the rooms we were pleased with the room. We went for an upgrade to the double deluxe with the £30 add on food package. Great meal. Great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Brilliant location for girly weekend of shopping in the day and sipping champagne at night. Luxuriously decorated and clean rooms; brilliant spa for the morning after to re-energise; great food in the restaurant; courteous, polite and friendly staff. Whilst you may pay abit more than budget hotels, when treating yourself to a girl’s weekend, it is worth paying abit more for some luxury and of course the ‘complimentary’ toiletries!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed in Malmaison Birmingham on a weekend break with my sister and it is perfect for that. Situated in the Mailbox, it has a massive amount of good bars and restaurants on its doorstep and is also near to the city centre.

The hotel itself is lovely, great decor, spacious rooms with lovely toiletries. The bar is large and lively and breakfast was fantastic!

If I had any complaints (and I am struggling to think of any!), I think the hotel just looked a little tired in some areas compared to when I first visited a few years ago.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed here for business and although you can get some great online rates depending on availability theres a world of difference in the standard of rooms available.
If you get an executive room you're sorted but the standard rooms can be quite small.
The bar is very chique - so are the prices - I cant comment on the food as the Mailbox Shopping Centre is right beside the hotel you have masses of options on the doorstep.
Be aware that the "Hotel" parking is in an adjecent NCP and the charge is £18 for 24 hours, the Hotel gives no discount for residents. Another issue can be finding the place, the Hotel website postcode isnt correct and my sat nav took me to a residential street, use The Mailbox as your reference and the door to the hotel is right beside the NCP carpark.
In summary - great location & good rooms with some designer touches and free WiFi - and if you get a good rate try it out - as long as you can find it.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Lovely hotel . We had an upgraded room. The room was clean and large. All staff we came in contact with were nice and friendly including the reception staff, bar staff and restaurant staff. We ate in the hotel and had a wonderful meal.. Whenever I am in Birmingham I will always stay at the Malmaison in the future.. Shame you dont get a discount in the adjacent carpark for anyone stopping at the hotel.. £18.00 it costs which i think is steep..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxx558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#37 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#11 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Property: Malmaison Birmingham
Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing