We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Losing its quietly elegant style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I've stayed at the Malmaison several times when visiting Birmingham because of its location, gym & spa facilities, decor and despite being very central it was a place to relax in peace and comfort.

It had been a while since my last visit and it was a saturday night but the racket and activity emanating from the hotel bar was incredibly loud and clashed with the ambience of the hotel. We had just come back from a lovely dinner nearby and wanted to have a drink in the bar before turning in but conversation was impossible with very high noise levels.

We did mention this to the hotel staff that evening but they were unable to do anything apart from offer to order any drinks with a service charge if we wanted to sit in the lobby...

The next day during checking out there was a long queue of disgruntled customers - many complaining of being overcharged. Luckily we had paid in advance so were able to check out and get away as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,073 - 2,079 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

Good price, good location very nice rooms with a modern style. Free wifi in the lobby. Several restaurant choices and shopping nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xecutiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Me and my partner stayed here the other night, it was fab! The staff were great and they upgraded our room when they heard it was out anniversary .. for free! The room was huge with two kingsize beds, big clean bathroom and the spa facilities were excellent. Everything was clean, full use of freeview, comfy beds with no noise coming from outside of the room or hotel!

Looking forward to staying here again!!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cluroe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The hotel is great, and the Spa is fab! Had a Elemis facial here and loved it, the relaxation room is also the best!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is our third stay and can recommend it to others. Location is the key factor as you're in the city centre but part of the select area in the Mail Box complex so you have the added benefits of the surrounding restaurants, nightlife and well lit and patrolled walk ways around the canal basin.
The Mal rooms are clean (even if some of the furnishings are beginning to look a little tired), spacious, excellent air con, great power shower and satellite TV. I noticed that although the Mal sets it self high standards they don' t always deliver on time. It was the little things that niggled, like presenting the meal voucher to the brassie staff but it not being processed by them for final billing so that when you come to check out you have to query the bill to have it adjusted correctly. Not a great way to end your stay but still only a minor inconvenience.
Meals are of a high standard and the Mal breakfast is fantastic.
All in all a great place to explore the 'nicer' side of the City especially if you like romantic walks against a background of a lively entertainment.
Top tip - the car park adjacent to the Mal is privately owned NCP so over night charges of £18 are extortionate, literally across the road is the gated Council car park that is open 24/7 and charges £9.50

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LordLucan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was my first stay with this chain, as ofen a city I'm staying in will have a city inn / mint hotel, so is always my first option. I can honestly say I was blown away by Malmaison in Birmingham, if the others are half as good as this one, then I can see them becoming my favourite place to stay.

This is a close match to my favourite hotels (Kimpton), they've got the style spot on. Service amazing from reception through to breakfast. Rooms an excellent size with most things you would need, plus you can't hear a thing in them, so you'll have a good nights sleep and it's in a vibrant area. Plus the chidlren in our party loved it too.

I can't wait for my next stay and even though I've only been back a few hours I've been thinking of a good reason to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dribbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Loved this hotel for all the conveniences, Great location, Safe, many restaurants, (know that most are chain could not tell by looking at them! service was awesome........) Very easy to get a cab, wonderful shopping about 5 mins. walk! Easy check out, no wait...Save 10 minutes to get coffee or tea prior to your ride to the airport right next door to the restaurant. What a quick awesome breakfast selection!

Room Tip: My pic is a deluxe Jr. 2 people 4 pieces of luggage, tight but great for UK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swinslowvocalvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,206 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
1,620 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £76 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing