We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location for hotel”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel previously about 4 years ago and the hotel now feels like it needs a little decorating as the hotels are starting to look worn! I paid for bed & breakfast at this hotel with an extra cost of £30.00 for the breakfast to find in the morning this was just continental and if I wanted anything hot like eggs/omelettes/bacon & sausage etc I would have to pay another £30 for the privilege!!!! I personally think this should be pointed out when booking the breakfast option.

The stay in the hotel was good as the bed was comfortable and very clean and the hotel is in a great location so overall we had a good stay at the hotel.

Just think they need to definitely advise their guests that the breakfast is only "continental".

Room Tip: We booked a queen deluxe room which was plenty big enough for the two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    796
    396
    172
    110
See reviews for
168
950
77
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here for a weekend with our mutt. We were very impressed with a large room that had great quality decor, and the friendly hotel staff. It was highly convenient having the car park so close, although car park prices were high but then this is a prime city centre location and some things are worth paying for. We did not eat at the restaurant but we had good cocktails in the very busy bar. Best for us was they allow dogs and even provide a basket with super comfy mattress and bowl - good work! We will definitely stay here again when we visit Brum and hope to visit the spa next time too - highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loumcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I have to say that all the staff at the Malmaison were really friendly and helpful. Having accidentally left a phone charger at a previous hotel, one was found by the hotel that suited my phone. Room was very comfortable and for a city centre was not noisy either. Food was excellent - the Mal burger is recommended, and they know how to poach an egg here too - a test many hotels fail nowadays! I'd certainly stay again if visiting Brum.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed here twice at £40 per night, through corporate discount.

Very modern hotel with excellent bed and decor. Brilliant location and amazing staff.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Food in the restaurant is a little pretentious but good all the same.

It's either this or Raddison if you want a classy hotel to stay, Hyatt is a bit dated now!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sexualchocolate1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Booked two "double double" rooms got one double and one camp bed!!!

Shocking service, food hit and miss, room cleanliness not that great......!

Service in the bar -over 30 mins just to get served.

In future will go elsewhere for our quarterly get-togethers!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

stayed at the Malmaison Birmngham for the first time on 26th November - normally stay at the Hyatt but they were full.

I was a little worried after reading previous trip advisor comments but have to say I found our stay here very enjoyable and will be returning on our next night out. The decor is the original decor and could do with a lttle touching up/replacing but I only found myself looking for this after reading reviews. The room was very large and the shampoo/conditioner in the bathroom was lovely. The bar has a really good atmosphere but is a little expensive (but we found they are all expensive!). The breakfast was great with a good selection for all. We booked our room (Saturday night) through Travel Republic and paid £104 with breakfast and would be happy to pay this again.

If you are looking for a nights accomodation in a trendy hotel in the centre of Birmingham then this is the one for you.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the fron of the hotel (the view - if any - is slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis161718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Here with work;

Free wifi
Nice rooms
Bed not that great
Excellent breakfast
Good range of whiskey
Much better than some of the other hotels round it, here for birmingham city centre

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davyboy_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
918 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,972 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
1,535 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#30 of 117 in Birmingham
987 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#17 of 117 in Birmingham
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Property: Malmaison Birmingham
Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing