We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Birmingham
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,549)
Filter reviews
2,549 results
Traveller rating
890
886
449
194
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
890
886
449
194
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharvey nicholsmailbox car parkmini barmail boxhotel bargood sizehot breakfaststandard roomafternoon teaclub roombars and restaurantscity centresaturday nightnew street stationlovely roomstayed for one nightfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,984 - 1,989 of 2,549 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I like this hotel because of its proximity to the train station. I stayed here while attending a trade fair at the NEC, so a short walk was important. The staff - from check-in, to restaurant and bar - were all very nice, and helped make for a pleasant stay. The room, however was in apalling need of attention. The hotel promotes heavily to couples in their 20s and 30s - as a romantic getaway. It seems these promotions work, and the rooms are used for cavorting of all sorts. The bed looked so comfortable - great sheets, pillows and bedding. At the end of a long day I flopped into it, only to find it hard and lumpy. This mattress was not hard by design, it was hard and lumpy from being overused and old. Then, there was what would have been a comfy velvet chair in the corner of the room, but it had this nasty stain on it, that looked exactly like what you think it could be. Gross! Change the chair! The phone next to the bed had what looked like dry puke in the grooves under the handset, and there were red wine stains on the wall next to the bed. This room needed a lot of attention, for sure. I'd like to hope that not every room was like this. The bathroom was immaculately clean, however, and that might be one reason I am forgiving of all this. I stayed in an interior room on the 2nd floor - the window had a view of the Mailbox shopping center below. The breakfast was very good, with ample choices on the buffet. The buffet was an addition 12 GBP - and not included in my room rate. Am I going to stay here again? Because of the location, I am going to give this place a second chance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corsagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Outstanding value boutique hotels at just £99 for a large quality high spec stylish rooms. Malmasion has so much too offer around the uk although the bar here in Biminham is no where near as stylish as Liverpool or Glasgow but as ever it's location, locatio,location! The Bimingham Mailbox with it's quality car park below and city centre location allows the full enjoyment of Birminghams treats, check out the Champagne bar in the cube, über cool!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Cucciolo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My partner & I stayed at the Birmingham Malmaison as a valentines treat. Neither of us had stayed at Malmaison before. We'd booked a standard double at an excellent rate so we weren't expecting a huge amount of glamour, but we were very impressed! The location was a key factor for why we chose the hotel as it is in walking distance of The Bullring, The NIA, New St station, Broad Street & Brindley Place so it is perfect for shoppers, party goers and people looking for great food & drink venues!

On arrival there was a queue to check in, however it went quite quickly and we were happy enjoying the gorgeous decor in the reception area. The whole hotel - lifts included - has a very sensual and exciting vibe with low lighting in all the public areas and bedrooms.

Our room was on the 4th floor and was very stylish. The lighting and soft furnishings were lovely, much much more stylish than expected. Although as lovely as the 'mood lighting' was, it was problematic in terms of seeing what you were doing - e.g: putting make up on. The bathroom was really lovely, great shower, and the lights in the bathroom were much brighter, so girls when getting ready this would be the best place as the windows in the bedroom are very small so there is little natural light.

We didn't dine in the hotel but did return for cocktails in the 'MalBar' after. The 'MalBar' was lovely, very very busy & a bit difficult to find a seat but it was a really nice setting and served a large array of drinks including alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails.

The quality of sleep was good - no noise problems, the only issue was that the double was actually only 2 singles pushed together so that was a bit uncomfortable in the middle.

One drawback is that they don't have their own carpark so you're forced to park in the Mailbox which costs £18 for every 24 hours.

Overall, a wonderful stay! We were highly impressed and would certainly return again :). I would say that the standard rooms are perfect for the price you pay, you get the same degree of style as the rest of the hotel but for much much cheaper!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are more than enough for a great Malmaison experience! Comfy and stylish! No noise problems in a road side 4th floor room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharCharCharChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed in a standard double room for 1 night with a group of friends, the bed was comfy and huge - much bigger than i expected. There was a minibar with dairy milk chocolate and small drinks in it which was nice considering normally you get cheap chocolate.

Thought the bathroom was quite spacious with a bath/shower etc.

The decor was decent but could probably do with an update now.

The best bit was the breakfast, continental breakfast was lovely - so many types of cereals, breads, fruits and juices. There was also hot food available to be ordered. The sausage sandwiches were made to perfection.

Lovely stay, however parking seems expensive which may put others off considering other hotels offer discounts on parking in nearby car parks. Saying that thought, the Malmaison is a 10 minute walk from New Street Station.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicoleshari93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say.... I would definitely stay again. The rooms were amazing and very clean an maintained. I didn't have to much interaction with the staff as I went out into the mailbox for food an drinks. The location of the hotel is perfect for a day an night out in Birmingham!! Prime location! Expensive but worth it! Treat yourself

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keiko29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews