We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat your carrots before you stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #21 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eat your carrots before you stay”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I must say VERY dissapointed about the whole experience.
On arrival caos at the shared carpark with a shopping mall. Then i arrived into the darkest hotel reception i have ever been in, no directions to find my room or lift, on arrival of the room floor...Again so dark !! dingy lighting and dark colours on the wall and room numbers so small it took ages to find my room, which was just ok apart from the red wine stains all over the carpet. Breakfast was served cold (even the toast) poached eggs were hard boiled & bacon raw. The fresh fruit & yoghurts was the higlight to a stay that i must say was not worth the money.. on service like this a premier inn or travel lodge would be far better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Good Afternoon,

Please can you send your contact details to dgm.birmingham@malmaison.com and we will contact you personally
Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    805
    402
    174
    112
See reviews for
171
970
77
556
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I visited Mal Spa for a 60 minute hot stones massage. The staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival and the treatment was really very good - relaxing and well executed. The facilities at Mal are on par with the facilitites you would expect from a city centre spa, but it's pricing and location gives it the edge over other local spas

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Kathryn,
Thank you for your great review.
The Mal spa team love to hear you had a special and relaxing experience which they work towards providing to their valuable clients.
We are in an ideal location and have the facilities of the hotel, Bar and Brasserie to also enjoy.
Very much look to treating you to more great treatments
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked this hotel for the location, a short walk from New Street station and the center of Birmingham.

We arrived late morning to drop off a bag and there was a long queue at reception, service was slow.

The hotel is modern and the standard double room was of a good size with everything we needed. The windows were small so there was not a lot of natural light, but there was very good lighting in the room. A very comfortable bed, good air conditioning and peace and quiet ensured a good night's sleep.

Both the room and the bathroom were very well equipped with quality products.

Breakfast was served in the Brasserie and it was also very good with quality products that you do not find in traditional chain hotels.

We went to check out around 10.30 and again there were very long queues at reception with 12 people ahead of us.

A great hotel let down by very slow reception service so the first and last impressions were not that good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevew07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Steve,
Thank you for your post
I am please to read your bedroom and amenities made you stay a positive one! Breakfast is a great asset to Malmaison, as offers vast choice of superb quality and glad you experienced this.
Your feedback on the queue is being addressed to ensure efficient service.
Look forward to your future stays when visiting the city.
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 746 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

What a shame - we have stayed at hotels in the Malmaison chain for years and have noticed a definite slip in standards. The tone for this hotel is set on arrival when half the Reception has been flogged off to become a Starbucks franchise. The rooms are tired, toiletries have been donwngraded in quality and the toilet paper really say it all - thin and cheap. The Reception staff were superb, but the bar service was slow and rude. Despite our loyalty to the chain over the years it would be difficult to stay there again when there are so many similar, but better hotels close by in Birmingham

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Good Evening,
Thank you for taking the time to post s review. I would like to apologise for the experience you had during your stay as this is not the impression we wish our guest to have. Your feedback is very valuable as we try to continuously exceed expectations, with new additions and updated products in the hotel chain.
Glad the reception team demonstrated great service and this should seen throughout the hotel
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to highlight the positive service we do provide
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Lovely big room. The bedding is always great, just makes you want to lie in longer in the morning. It's also good that check out is midday.
Only bad thing was, the lengthy queue when wanting to check-out. Only 2 staff at the busiest time of day with a queue of over 10 people. Need to look at roster. Get the right people,in the right place, at the right time.
Another Malmaison ticked off the list & will look forward to next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshirekitten1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Good Morning,
Thank you for your review
Yes enjoy the room and relaxing for as long as you can, our aim is to make sure all our guests have a positive stay!
Reception queue is continuously being monitored to ensure our guests are assisted in an efficient time. It is a pleasure to hear from our valued ‘Mal’ Regulars and always excited for you to visit the next.
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Hen party weekend for my daughter.
A spacious room was incredibly comfortable, with plenty of tea and coffee.
Friendly, professional, knowledgable and helpful staff, who were attentive, but unobtrusive gave us a guided tour of spa, before commencing
Spa treatments which were excellent and enjoyed by us all.
Fantastic buffet lunch and breakfast.
All Hotel Staff very helpful and friendly.
we hope to have another stay and fun weekend very soon

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Margaret,
Thank you for your great review
So pleased to read of your fabulous weekend for you daughter and you all enjoyed your spa experience. Your buffet lunch did look very appetising and was perfect for you special occasion.
Look forward to seeing you all soon
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

First impressions do count and mine weren't all that great. The reception area was too small for so many people and bags, there is a speaker in the ceiling which combined with the cleaner hoovering made it difficult to hear the receptionist. I was given a nice room, 533, quite large and airy for normal Malmaison rooms. The bed was only ok comfort wise, the pillows were a bit thin and the toilet paper was an absolute disgrace, no luxury whatsoever. The inside of the wardrobe was painted red and looked very cheap. There was no safe, but there was an iron, ironing board, hairdryer and tea/coffee facilities.
We had a late lunch in the bar and it was very nice. I declined breakfast when I learnt that it was £20, that seemed a ridiculous amount. One thing I would point out is that the door from the bar to the hotel looks like it desperately needs painting, I am being picky, but this is not a cheap hotel. After our night out we had a nightcap in the bar, which by then would only serve wine or beer, no spirits, which seems a very silly rule.
Overall not a hotel I would rush back to, that said all the staff I encountered were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Lisa,
Thank you for your post
We do appreciate your feedback to allow us to highlight the main areas we need to focus on and continuously improve our hotel facilities. It is important to us to keep on top of any maintenance issues. Positive to read the staff were friendly and hope we can welcome you back soon.
Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
3,035 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
1,557 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Property: Malmaison Birmingham
Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing