We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Attention Needed To Basics”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

First visit to the Malmaison .
Check in slow and protracted . After paying £175 for one night without breakfast charged £50 deposit for extras. It was Saturday night just before Xmas and they were fully booked . Room dusty and the furniture showing signs of wear and tear .
Tea and coffee making facilities poor . Incomprehensible sachet of "real" coffee . Mini Bar fine f over priced . Access to the hotel awkward . Try finding your room as each room door numbers are difficult to read and it's far too dark . Bed comfortable and a quiet room so this was ok. Checkout long queue but enough staff to cope ( just ! ) Very disappointed and would rather stay at the Hyatt or the Premier Inn next time

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonPeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Good Afternoon,

Please can you send your contact details to dgm.birmingham@malmaison.com and we will contact you personally
Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,316)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,526 - 1,532 of 2,316 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

I must say VERY dissapointed about the whole experience.
On arrival caos at the shared carpark with a shopping mall. Then i arrived into the darkest hotel reception i have ever been in, no directions to find my room or lift, on arrival of the room floor...Again so dark !! dingy lighting and dark colours on the wall and room numbers so small it took ages to find my room, which was just ok apart from the red wine stains all over the carpet. Breakfast was served cold (even the toast) poached eggs were hard boiled & bacon raw. The fresh fruit & yoghurts was the higlight to a stay that i must say was not worth the money.. on service like this a premier inn or travel lodge would be far better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Good Afternoon,

Please can you send your contact details to dgm.birmingham@malmaison.com and we will contact you personally
Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I visited Mal Spa for a 60 minute hot stones massage. The staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival and the treatment was really very good - relaxing and well executed. The facilities at Mal are on par with the facilitites you would expect from a city centre spa, but it's pricing and location gives it the edge over other local spas

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Kathryn,
Thank you for your great review.
The Mal spa team love to hear you had a special and relaxing experience which they work towards providing to their valuable clients.
We are in an ideal location and have the facilities of the hotel, Bar and Brasserie to also enjoy.
Very much look to treating you to more great treatments
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked this hotel for the location, a short walk from New Street station and the center of Birmingham.

We arrived late morning to drop off a bag and there was a long queue at reception, service was slow.

The hotel is modern and the standard double room was of a good size with everything we needed. The windows were small so there was not a lot of natural light, but there was very good lighting in the room. A very comfortable bed, good air conditioning and peace and quiet ensured a good night's sleep.

Both the room and the bathroom were very well equipped with quality products.

Breakfast was served in the Brasserie and it was also very good with quality products that you do not find in traditional chain hotels.

We went to check out around 10.30 and again there were very long queues at reception with 12 people ahead of us.

A great hotel let down by very slow reception service so the first and last impressions were not that good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevew07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Steve,
Thank you for your post
I am please to read your bedroom and amenities made you stay a positive one! Breakfast is a great asset to Malmaison, as offers vast choice of superb quality and glad you experienced this.
Your feedback on the queue is being addressed to ensure efficient service.
Look forward to your future stays when visiting the city.
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

What a shame - we have stayed at hotels in the Malmaison chain for years and have noticed a definite slip in standards. The tone for this hotel is set on arrival when half the Reception has been flogged off to become a Starbucks franchise. The rooms are tired, toiletries have been donwngraded in quality and the toilet paper really say it all - thin and cheap. The Reception staff were superb, but the bar service was slow and rude. Despite our loyalty to the chain over the years it would be difficult to stay there again when there are so many similar, but better hotels close by in Birmingham

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Good Evening,
Thank you for taking the time to post s review. I would like to apologise for the experience you had during your stay as this is not the impression we wish our guest to have. Your feedback is very valuable as we try to continuously exceed expectations, with new additions and updated products in the hotel chain.
Glad the reception team demonstrated great service and this should seen throughout the hotel
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to highlight the positive service we do provide
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Lovely big room. The bedding is always great, just makes you want to lie in longer in the morning. It's also good that check out is midday.
Only bad thing was, the lengthy queue when wanting to check-out. Only 2 staff at the busiest time of day with a queue of over 10 people. Need to look at roster. Get the right people,in the right place, at the right time.
Another Malmaison ticked off the list & will look forward to next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshirekitten1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Good Morning,
Thank you for your review
Yes enjoy the room and relaxing for as long as you can, our aim is to make sure all our guests have a positive stay!
Reception queue is continuously being monitored to ensure our guests are assisted in an efficient time. It is a pleasure to hear from our valued ‘Mal’ Regulars and always excited for you to visit the next.
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Hen party weekend for my daughter.
A spacious room was incredibly comfortable, with plenty of tea and coffee.
Friendly, professional, knowledgable and helpful staff, who were attentive, but unobtrusive gave us a guided tour of spa, before commencing
Spa treatments which were excellent and enjoyed by us all.
Fantastic buffet lunch and breakfast.
All Hotel Staff very helpful and friendly.
we hope to have another stay and fun weekend very soon

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Margaret,
Thank you for your great review
So pleased to read of your fabulous weekend for you daughter and you all enjoyed your spa experience. Your buffet lunch did look very appetising and was perfect for you special occasion.
Look forward to seeing you all soon
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,579 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £83 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing