We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as other Malmaisons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Standard Malmaison offering but with below average service compared to Leeds and Manchester. As others have noted the check in service is slow and overall the place is starting to look a little tired. Most of the shops in the Mailbox are currently closed so if you are looking for a shopping weekend I would look elsewhere. Only worth staying if you can get a good deal sub £100.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Good Evening,
Thank you for your post
Apologies for the service you received, this is not at all the standard we provided and disappointed your experienced this during your visit. We do on a continuous basis look at the condition of the hotel so be assured your points have been highlighted.
Mailbox is having a redesign and will reopen in 2015, very exciting!
Hope you choose to visit in the future and we can provide you the great stay you deserve
Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,550 - 1,556 of 2,344 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I recently organsied a business lunch for small number of clients. Priority was to find a private dining area in good quality hotel and Malmaison ticked a lot of boxes being centrally located both in terms of the UK and Birmingham. leading up to the event, I received good and relatively quick responses to any queries that we had from Sharon Rai and on the day itself, we received outstading service from the staff both in the lounge and bar area and especially during the meal itself. Well done to al concerned and would have no hesitation in recomending the hotel for a similar type of event.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Simon22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Simon,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so pleased to read your event was a success and Malmaison Birmingham provided all the right products and services to ensure it was smooth process during booking and on the day.
You have Sharon’s contact details to make any future bookings
Regards Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is in fact my very first review such is the need to share our recent experience in the hope things may improve at this hotel. The big plus for this hotel.......the location. Great for shopping, bars, restaurants and the Christmas Market.
Now the negatives...Firstly, check in and check out take forever. Clearly not enough staff/desks to handle the sheer volume of guests at peak times. I queued for 15-20 mins on departure, the queue was nearly out the front door!
I was asked at check in to make an additional payment of £50 per night for "extra's". I refused and said I wasn't paying as I wouldn't be using the mini bar.
The room was clean and as you would expect. Bed too hard, pillows lovely.
The biggest complaint I have by a mile is...........Breakfast! On a weekend break you expect a calm leisurely experince with good food, great staff and a professionally ran restaurant, free from dirty & overloaded clearing trollies, clearing trays, piles of dirty plates, left over food and blue dishwasher baskets. If this is what you also expect DON'T BOOK IN FOR BREAKFAST AT THIS HOTEL. The food is not bad, clearly they have some decent guys in the kitchen. The restaurant is something else and completely lets the side down. I'm not sure why this hotel thinks it's a good idea to stack "dirties" up in the restuarnt for all to see, the huge trays are so laidened with dirty crockery and left over food, the staff can hardly pick them up. Isn't the norm to clear one table and walk back into the kitchen with the dirty crockery? Why oh why do I want to stare at a load of washing up throughout my entire breakfast experience. Service is chaotic, stressful and at weekend peak times this restaurant simply cannot cope. My husband & I booked in for breakfast on Sat & Sun and our experience was the same on both days, even though we sat in a different part of the restaurant each day. There will not be a third visit, its too stressful and I don't appreciate being surrounded by washing up. I get enough of that at home!
We never made it in to the bar of an evening, we did not have the stamina to fight our way throught the volume of customers.
Do you see a theme here? Simply put, public areas too small to cope with number of guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muskette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Good Evening,

Please can you send your contact details to dgm.birmingham@malmaison.com and we will contact you personally
Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stay here every December for a weekend of Xmas shopping and taking in the christmas market along with the festive ambiance of the city.
Sadly we may not return as this year was a huge disappointment.
The rooms are nice but the beds are a bit hard and nothing much has changed in the rooms.
Check in takes too long and checking out takes even longer....which I find hard to understand, as we have already paid in full on arrival !
The main problem at Malmaison for us .....Breakfast !
Breakfast should be a relaxed affair in comfortable surroundings.
My experience here is quite to the contrary ....the restaurant was in fact chaos ! We were ushered through between numerous tables which were covered in dirty plates and breakfast remnants to a table at the back of the restaurant facing the back of house area and kitchen entrance. Our view from there was a constant stream of dirty dishes piled high on trollies and staff whizzing back and forth like headless chickens. We asked to be moved and were taken to another table......this time opposite the central restaurant clearing station ....again we had a lovely view of piles of dirty plates and such !
The food .........well on the Saturday...I was served black pudding so overcooked that it shattered when I tried to put a fork into it and lukewarm bacon .
On the Sunday...the cold buffet section was a complete mess with hardly any selection.
When the waiter brought our tea and toast ......wait for this........he had clearly taken toast from another table and plonked 2 halves of brown and 1 half of white toast down on our table...they were stone cold and soggy. The sugar bowl was empty and we had 2 pepper pot but no salt...I had to try 3 tables before I found a salt pot with anything in.
All in all it was a very dreadful dining experience and with breakfast being charged at £15.00 per person I think it is a disgrace.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karateski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Good Evening,

Please can you send your contact details to dgm.birmingham@malmaison.com and we will contact you personally
Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

First visit to the Malmaison .
Check in slow and protracted . After paying £175 for one night without breakfast charged £50 deposit for extras. It was Saturday night just before Xmas and they were fully booked . Room dusty and the furniture showing signs of wear and tear .
Tea and coffee making facilities poor . Incomprehensible sachet of "real" coffee . Mini Bar fine f over priced . Access to the hotel awkward . Try finding your room as each room door numbers are difficult to read and it's far too dark . Bed comfortable and a quiet room so this was ok. Checkout long queue but enough staff to cope ( just ! ) Very disappointed and would rather stay at the Hyatt or the Premier Inn next time

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonPeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Good Afternoon,

Please can you send your contact details to dgm.birmingham@malmaison.com and we will contact you personally
Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I must say VERY dissapointed about the whole experience.
On arrival caos at the shared carpark with a shopping mall. Then i arrived into the darkest hotel reception i have ever been in, no directions to find my room or lift, on arrival of the room floor...Again so dark !! dingy lighting and dark colours on the wall and room numbers so small it took ages to find my room, which was just ok apart from the red wine stains all over the carpet. Breakfast was served cold (even the toast) poached eggs were hard boiled & bacon raw. The fresh fruit & yoghurts was the higlight to a stay that i must say was not worth the money.. on service like this a premier inn or travel lodge would be far better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Good Afternoon,

Please can you send your contact details to dgm.birmingham@malmaison.com and we will contact you personally
Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I visited Mal Spa for a 60 minute hot stones massage. The staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival and the treatment was really very good - relaxing and well executed. The facilities at Mal are on par with the facilitites you would expect from a city centre spa, but it's pricing and location gives it the edge over other local spas

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Kathryn,
Thank you for your great review.
The Mal spa team love to hear you had a special and relaxing experience which they work towards providing to their valuable clients.
We are in an ideal location and have the facilities of the hotel, Bar and Brasserie to also enjoy.
Very much look to treating you to more great treatments
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,145 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,594 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#37 of 118 in Birmingham
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £86 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing