We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I travel a lot and stay in hotels across the country - I always feel at home when I stay at the Mal in Birmingham - the staff are great, the bar is always busy and the food is to die for. In the past I have stayed elsewhere in Birmingham but for the last 2 trips I booked in to the Mal - I'm glad I did as it is by far the best nights stay for me when I am away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your great post.
Our passion is to make our guests feel at home and relaxed, yet make them feel that extra bit special and excited for their next visit. Pleased you experienced this!
Hope to see you soon enjoying the ambiance of our Bar and Brasserie
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,676 - 1,682 of 2,489 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

I booked 3 rooms for my family on New Year's Eve. We had a great time. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the rooms well presented. The bar had a great atmosphere with very knowledgeable bar staff. In the morning we made use of the Starbucks in the foyer rather than the fairly high priced hotel breakfast. A very successful stay and one that will be repeated.

Room Tip: Use the Town Hall car park opposite the hotel which is £10 per 24hrs which is cheaper than the Mailb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADBNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Good Evening,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review.
Glad we were apart of your New Years Eve celebrations and look forward to seeing you in 2014.
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Booked for a romantic night away with my partner - had a "suite" - really let down when we reached the room décor was peeling, carpet threadbare and bathroom more in line with a naff Travelodge than £200+ night suite. The bed was fine but "lounge" area was bigger than "bedroom" and include a 6 person dinning table - so that "bedroom" felt cramped and frankly was no better than staying in the Travelodge which the bathroom fitted.

Get's "poor" as the hotel is in a great location in the centre of Birmingham and near ICC etc. and has bars and restaurants all round but for a third of the price of their basic rooms you can stay in frankly any other cheaper alternative and get at least as good a night...

I'd suggest you save your money and look anywhere else...

Room Tip: Avoid the suites they're not worth the money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Adrian,
Thank you for your post
I am disappointed to read your comments as we wish all our valued guests an enjoyable stay with us. Sorry the suite was not what you expected, we have our maintenance and housekeeping continually working on the standard so this will be addressed immediately.
We provide a variety of room types to cater for all requirements of our guests, so hopefully we can welcome you back in the future in a more suitable and maintained room.
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Malmaison for 2 nights with check-out on Christmas day. Nice and central location - tucked away behind the main shopping streets, but any native Brummie should be able to point you in the right direction.The hotel is smart enough to pass as a four star establishment, but admittedly its decor is looking a bit worn in areas. Our room was spacious, comfortable and neat, although without much of a view or great deal of natural light. Staff were friendly enough and check-in and check-out went swiftly and without any problems. The 12 pm check out time meant we could sleep in a little longer. Perfectly acceptable accommodation if you’re not trying to kid yourself that it’s an authentic boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinYin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Good Evening,
Thank you taking the time to post a review
Pleased to read your stay with us was a positive one and appreciate you feedback on the décor- it is definitely a focus on ours in the coming months.
Glad you enjoyed the bedroom for as long as possible, and your experience efficient service.
See you soon
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I booked Malmaison as a Christmas present for my husband as it was our first Christmas as a married couple and I am so pleased I did. Other than being informed I had to pay a £100 deposit for any "extras" we may use at check in rather than in advance, the whole experience was wonderful. Even when our toilet wouldn't flush, they moved us to another room without any questions and offered to help us with our luggage.
The room was spotless and comfortable with ambient lighting and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was again spotless and stocked with some lovely soaps etc. Bed was comfortable and the air con was useful when the room got over warm in the evening (windows don't open).
We stayed from Christmas eve until boxing day and Christmas lunch was fantastic! We were made to feel welcome and the staff were polite and friendly. We also had drinks and bar snacks in the bar on Christmas night and had a great chat with the bar staff about cocktail recommendations.
Breakfast was wonderful with a great selection of fruit, pastries and cereals on the buffet and the hot food was fresh and tasty. Again, the restaurant was spotless and the staff were really helpful and accommodating.
Checkout was quick and the deposit was refunded straight back onto my debit card.
All in all, Malmaison helped make our first "Married" Christmas one to remember and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Jo,
Happy New Year
Thank you taking the time to post a review
Pleased to read of your experience and that we managed to do all we can to ensure it was a stay to remember. The team are really inspired by your feedback and pleased they exceeded your expectations.
Glad we could share the Christmas celebration with you both and hope we can make another stay so special of your married life.
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed on the Sunday stopover deal, £25 for room and £75 you need to spend in bar and restaurant. Good deal if you watch the spends but very easy to go over. The steak is £30 and that doesn't include any sides or sauce - your credit soon goes! Hotel great location. Always great quality rooms, beds and warm. Short walk into town and train station. Bar ok. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Vicky,
Thank you for your post
This is a great ‘Mal’ offer as you can eat, drink and sleep at a reasonable price, however appreciate your feedback. Glad our rooms provide you a nice and enjoyable stay.
Look forward to seeing you soon
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Where do I start.....
Check- in very slow...
Room very dark with tired looking furniture ( we had been upgraded from basic!). Very little natural light & air conditioning kept the room at sub zero temperature ( despite turning it off numerous times)
Bathroom just ok, not illuminated well at all ( great if you like doing your makeup in candle light)
Hotel corridors shabby & carpets needed hoovering... Lifts were a disgrace.
Dinner was nothing special... Cauliflower soup starter served in a cup & saucer was less than elegant & the champagne sorbet was crushed ice.... Service was slower than snail pace & our 9pm reservation concluded with dessert being served at midnight!
We moved to the bar with the hope of enhancing our evening.... Even more disappointment.... Cold with zero ambiance, uncomfortable furniture and again, poor service
One of the lowest points on this colourful evening was my visit to the ladies room where just outside the door by the shabby sofas a party reveller had vomited & no one had cleaned up the mess!
Never again!!!!!!!!
Every year we go to Cielo.... Impeccable service, exquisite food & relaxing ambiance....& we chose Malmaison instead... We must be deluded!!!

Room Tip: Room Tip..... Stay at the Hyatt Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SS662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We wish to contact you personally to discuss your visit with us. Please can you send through your contact details to: dgm.birmingham@malmaison.com
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,004 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,338 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,583 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
#69 of 118 in Birmingham
217 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £75 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing