We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but work required on hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

One of the best locations for staying in Birmingham, a very good bar (great cocktails), but the hotel needs some work on the interior, looks a bit tired. Good rooms and very clean, but with more hotels opening all the time in the city centre you can get better value for your money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Dom,
Thank you for your review
The hotel is in an ideal location of Birmingham and glad you enjoyed some of the best cocktails offered in the city. We are always looking to improve the hotel maintenance and interior, so this is a key focus to ensure our guests keep coming back.
Hope you see you soon, staying over or just for that great cocktail
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,316)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,496 - 1,502 of 2,316 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is the second time I have actually stayed here and certainly enjoyed it.
The room was quite cheap at £69 excluding breakfast. Although starting to look slightly battle worn now as some of the furniture has taken a beating. But nicely decorated and roomy.
Breakfast the following morning was £32 for the two of us and I would question paying that again. Plenty of eateries nearby that I would venture out to the next time. However, quality was very good.
Parking cost us £16.50 overnight, so not that good really. But it is central Birmingham.
One annoying thing was the bar. Asked for a Gin & Tonic and a pint of Premium Lager to be told they do not sell pints anymore. They just do scooners (two thirds of a pint). OK, but it was £3.90 for the scooner! G & T was a further £5.95 I believe. Oh well.
Anyhow, a pleasant stay regardless.

Room Tip: Step out for breakfast as surrounded by eateries.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngloLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Good Evening,
Thank you for your post
Another great stay is always delightful to read. Positive to hear your room and breakfast were enjoyed and quality was recognised.
This is the feedback we love as it is highlights the true views of our valued guests.
Be a pleasure to welcome you back for another pleasant stay!
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the malmaison in a suite. The room and housekeeping in general were very good . The room needs a little attention but they are minor niggles e.g. Loose Tap, missing lock on toilet door. There is some cost cutting as no bubble bath etc anymore, but that's not a big issue.
The reason we won't return is the service and cleanliness in the restaurant and public toilets. Although the restaurant wasn't busy we waited for drinks, however the food was good. No draft beer available though! Breakfast however was very different and this is why we will now be choosing a new location for our precious trips away. We were shown to a table by the kitchen and continental breakfast area. It was cosy with everyone on top of each other. It seems that all guests were going to be seated here as the rest of the restaurant had been made up for dinner. The continental breakfast was poor, yoghurt not topped up, peanut butter in jar no knife or spoon etc. and looked a mess.
We did arrive for breakfast at 9.30 am but even so it could have looked better. Our waitress came back and said "do you want a cooked breakfast,"no smile given. We then had to listen to the staff chit chatting in the kitchen area and then loud music came on. To top this off my husband found a long hair in his breakfast. The manager/ person in charge handled this well and said we would be refunded and my husband confirmed on the way out that reception had been told, he was told yes that this was the case, however when we went to check out, reception knew nothing about it! Reception had to then handle the issue which they did do well. The public toilets were possibly some of the most revolting I've seen in a while, my husband said the gents were awful too. Overall we seemed like an inconvenience at breakfast and rather than ensure there was milk on the tables or butter with toast, the staff wanted to have a chit chat with each other. We're both disappointed as we have stayed here many times since our honeymoon and it's been great. I hope they sort out the staff management, but we'll now be staying elsewhere for our precious romantic getaways.

Room Tip: Book room only and eat somewhere else.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Angela,
Thanks you for taking the time to write a review
We appreciate your feedback to enable us to address the issues and work on providing the amazing service our valued guest visit us for.
I am sorry to read of your experience at breakfast, this has been investigated with the Management team and all relevant training and procedures have been highlight in the daily meeting with the staff. This will ensure it remains an isolated incident and avoid any further disappointment to our guests.
I do hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you again and you will notice a marked improvement throughout.
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed at the Birmingham Mal New Years Eve and had a fantastic stay, we ate from the 5 course set menu and the food was sensational. The bar had a great atmosphere and we chose to spoil ourselves with one of the 7th floor suites which was stunning. Breakfast was a little busy in the morning but the food again was great with a good selection.

Room Tip: Go for the Spagetti Junction suite it has amazing decor and huge bathroom
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Olly,
Happy New Year
Thank you for your post and great to hear we were apart of your New Year celebrations - it was an memorable evening. Everyone was down in the morning enjoying that well deserved and yummy ‘Mal’ breakfast.
Hope to see you again in 2014
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have stayed at The Malmaison Hotel several times now, and would not consider booking into any other Hotel when I am in the Birmingham area. It is conveniently situated in The Mailbox, with some great shops, restaurants and bars nearby.
The rooms are extremely comfortable and the beds great. With an excellent and varied menu both from The Bar and The Restaurant, very friendly and helpful staff, why look any further. Book into the Malmaison now!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Linda,
Thank you for your time to write 'one of he best' posts
It is a great pleasure to read your comments and that each part of the Malmaison experience here at Birmingham is enjoyed and appreciated on your every visit!
Enthusiasm to book again is what we love to hear
See you very soon
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Fantastic for both work trips midweek or a weekend getaway - I initially stayed for the former and went back for the latter!.Dedicated, knowledgeable and helpful staff, great rooms, and value for money too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Mark,
I appreciate your time to leave a positive review and we very much look forward to providing you with another memorable stay soon
Many Thanks .
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Decided to book in to the Mal Birmingham with my family (aged 4,6 and 8) after another lovely business overnighter a few months ago. What a great place to stay with a family. Really central and so accommodating for people with young families. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were friendly and really helpful. The food was delicious and our suite was great even with 3 children's beds in there as well. We're planning a return trip as Birmingham is much underrated for a weekend mini break without without the kids!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Kathryn,
Thank you for your review
Glad you and family had pleasant stay with us. The hotel offers services and rooms to suit all occasions and it is great to read you make the most of all your opportunities to visit.
See you soon for that well deserve break away
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,579 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £83 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing